We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunia Camp
Nearby Hotels
Ikoma Safari Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$206
$195
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$273
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Acacia Camps(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$390
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lobo Wildlife Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ikoma Wildcamp(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti(Serengeti National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siringit Serengeti Camp(Serengeti National Park)
Kisura Sirengeti Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
415
35
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
35
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfemale staffbucket showersinging and dancingmoru kopjescentral serengetibush tvopen vehiclecommunal dinnerother guestswonderful experiencemain tenthot waterthe entire staffassistant managertse tse fliestsetse fliesthree nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 455 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

This camp is situated in the central Serengeti area, although slightly apart from the airstrip (approx 30-40mins) in a quiet wooded location. During our honeymoon trip in the beginning of March this proved to be our favourite tented camp, although the grass in the area was quite long so we didn't see quite as many of the harder to spot animals than we did in the south. If visiting around this time I would recommend taking in the other parks and crater to the south as part of the trip to maximise your chances of seeing most wildlife.

The staff at this camp were what really made it extra special. The camp host on our say was Richard who always wore a smile and went out of his way to ensure all guests had everything they needed. The chef also deserves special praise for his fantastic homemade bread and fabulous meals.

This is a non-permanent camp despite being based here for the last 4-5 years, so tents really are canvas (unlike some other camps), and the showers work on a bucket system, meaning you have to ask for hot water and use it sparingly! Really though it was all part of the charm, and the tent was very spacious and comfortable. Going to sleep listening to the sounds of the bush was incredible.

The staff went out of their way to make our honeymoon extra special, with sparking wine and a romantic meal for 2 under the stars. All dietary requests were also very easily accommodated. We would love to return some day.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KatCon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Fantastic food (really was) and service. Everybody from the manager down really wanted to make us welcome and couldn't do enough for us. The manager Richard even personally cleaned the mud from our shoes when we came back from a broken-down truck incident on a game drive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Syborg5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was our last of six accommodations and one of the top two. We especially enjoyed the evening social gathering at the campfire and single large dinner table. Our tent (on the ground,no platform) had two rooms plus a large bathroom (stall bucket shower, flushing toilet, cold running water in the sink). Shower water came on request at the temperature requested and a thermos of hot water for shaving was delivered with our wake up call and morning coffee. Angela, camp manager, was warm and welcoming and clearly experienced. Food was plentiful, and delicious. When asked about the local food, Angela arranged for a Tanzanian evening meal which was delicious and very much enjoyed by everyone we spoke to. Excellent staff. Clear explanations on safety in camp. We felt safe and well cared for and look forward to a return visit. Game included,leopards,lions,baboons,monkeys, hippos, elephants, giraffes, lots of birds, impalas, and many others (including some really cute bat eared foxes, jackals and hyenas.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expatBerkeley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Starting with a warm welcome and admirably simple explanation of the rules, we were happy.
This feels like a camp, and it is a camp, and has flushing loos! A bucket shower really works and no mosquitoe nets because the whole tent is bug proof. You can see the trees from your bed. A walkie-talkie summons shaving water.
This place is run with good sense, and willingness by a cheerful team. While breakfast tables are separate, the evening meal is communal, which we greatly enjoyed. Gathering about the fire with free drinks, swapping game sightings, one awaits the call to an excellent meal by candlelight. Wines are identified and good. Night sounds are near and punctuate the night. Loved every minute..

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyall E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was one of 2 Asilia properties that we stayed at in the Serengeti and was our favorite! As it is a moving camp, we were in the central Serengeti in a wooded area near the Moru Kopjes. Not only was camp fantastic and extremely remote, the accommodations, food, guide and staff were 2nd to none. We were immediately greeted very warmly by Angela, the camp manager and her staff. They were all fantastic, each and every one we met. They all made us feel like they really enjoyed us being there and sharing our life with them. The camp was slow at the time we were there and one night we were the only couple which was fantastic. Our guide Ernest was 10/10. He was knowledgable, friendly, and we really became friends over the few days that we were there. We got very lucky with the game viewing and it was nothing short of amazing.

I would HIGHLY recommend this place if you're heading to the central Serengeti and will be on my list next time we return.


Ryan

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilsen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews