We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After being on Safari for almost a week we arrived at Dunia Camp for a 2 night stay. The manager of this camp, Peter couldn't do enough for us. The tents were clean and the beds were wonderful. There was never a problem with the showers. If I didn't know better I would have not known that it was a bush shower. There was always enough water. The staff was just wonderful, always asking if there was something they could do for us or help us with. The chief catered to my granddaughters every wish and even surprised me with a birthday party. The food was excellent. From the very first minute we arrived to the last good bye, we were treated so special. We were sent off to our next camp with a wonderful box lunch. Every one in the camp came out to wish us well We will never forget this wonderful place filled with very special people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 407 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was our favorite camp on a 12 day trip. The primary reasons for this were:

1) Patena, the resident Masai guide, was incredible. If you have a chance to fly in and use Dunia's Open vehicle and book Patena, you will have much better viewing. Patena is patient and knowledgable. He has incomparable spotting skills. Highly recommend! Resident guides always give you better game viewing than a general guide from Arusha who can't possibly be an expert on all parks and the favorite places of the resident animals.

2) We flew to the Central Sergenti and then used their open vehicle which was comfortable. The open vehicle allows for better viewing as there are no sides to get in the way of your viewing. And the air circulation keep us cooler. This is by far your best option rather than having a closed vehicle.

3) The camp had the best food of anyplace we stayed. Prosper, the chef, is very skilled. You will enjoy! If Prosper had a restaurant in our city, we would be regular customers.

4) Peter, the general manager, was the best manager of all the camps we visited. He had a hands on approach to be sure that all guests were being catered to and enjoying their stay. And every request was met with a smile. I can still picture his smiling face, eager to please.

We would come back here in a heartbeat! After 20+ years of safari holidays, this stands out was one of the most productive locations. In one morning drive we saw 2 lions, 3 cheetah, 2 leopards, and 15 hyena. I would like to reiterate that we believe he had much success due to the resident guide from Dunia. People who use a general driver from Arusha overland safari's don't have the same success because the guides are not familiar with the area.

PS - Bring citronella insect wipes to keep away the biting flies. Works like a charm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If being bitten, filthy, tired, cold, lugging bags and a bowl of fruit is your ideal holiday experience, Dunia Camp is the place for you. Otherwise STAY AWAY.

Beware the Dunia camp bush “showers”. They are no more than a trickle of water and were by far the worst I’ve experienced in 20 years of safari trips. The staff spent 36 hours not fixing the problem. Here’s a hint. A maximum 20 liters of water does not provide enough pressure to push water 30 ft up a hose pipe. Gravity works fine. Shorten the pipe and let it run DOWN into the shower. Also if you’re not at least 6 ft tall, you won’t be able to reach the on/off shower tap in most of the tents.

The camp is located inside the tsetse fly area. You will get bitten viciously and incessantly.
The beds are hard and the linens too thin to keep warm at night. Bring your own park bench. It will be more comfortable.

The food is poor compared to other camps. A long wait for: tough, burnt, tasteless meat off a grill; vegetable's left lingering and cooling on a buffet; and a small bowl of fruit plunked in the center of the table was the dinner offering one night.

The staff is generally disinterested in making visitors welcome.

It was so bad the company refunded one night of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank katie56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your detailed feedback. As discussed with your agent we are most sorry to hear of your less than positive experience at Dunia. As TripAdvisor shows this is very rare and for that we expressed our genuine apologies. As a result of your feelings and in good faith, we did give you one night refund by way of compensation which we understood you had accepted by taking it. We are equally sorry that despite accepting this refund you still felt the need to re-boot the discussion.

Dunia is a very popular camp that aspires to the highest standards and it was exactly because of that we offered you with the compensation. Importantly, Dunia received no other complaints of this nature during the time you stayed at the camp (or before or since) but we remain sorry that this was your opinion and that the compensation you accepted did not prove to be that for you.

Asilia Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our family had 3 out of the 8 camps on our 3 night stay in late June/July (their winter). It was an incredible experience. The manager Peter, the staff Saleh, Jimmy, Philipo, and others just were so attentive to all of our needs. We had an 8 year old with us and they did everything they could to accommodate her. The guests we enjoyed so much as well. Chande from Asilia was our guide during our 7 days of safari and he was amazing. We did two full days and had a box lunch on our safari, and another day where we came back for lunch. The place although a camp still felt elegant and clean. Sitting or talking to guest around the campfire was pleasant prior to dinner. The kitchen accommodated our family of 7 by setting up a table and arranging for us to eat at 7 pm (an hour earlier than the camp time) since we had an eight year old, and parents who go to bed earlier. The food was very good, lots of beverage options, charging station for your personal electronics, bugs and mosquitos were not a big problem. They have skin/clothing repellant in the room as well as bug spray. They did a nice job hand-washing items as well. I loved the noise of the animals at night - I just wanted to stay up, but I found the bed comfortable and myself too tired after the safaris. We decided to take our showers each night before dinner before it got dark and cold. We didn't shower in the morning. I was very satisfied with the temperature of the water and the amount. They explain how you can rinse off quickly, turn off the water, then lather up, then rinse. My husband took "shower #1" and didn't use all his water. So I finished his and when that is done the attendant outside asks "ready for shower #2? then I finished with my bucket. That was more than enough water. Keep things simple is a good motto when in Africa. Sunrise and sunset are at 6:30. Order your tea/coffee to arrive by 6:00 - 6:15 am and sit in your room and watch the sunrise. Bring very small handheld flashlights for your pocket so you can see in your tent at night to walk to the bathroom. They have a large flashlight in the room. There are lights in the room but I tried not to use them very much to conserve.They always escort you around to your room at night. Gosh I can't say enough. I could go on. We stayed at Plantation Lodge, Arusha Coffee Lodge, as well, but my most memorable experiences are here at Dunia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We enjoyed our experience here very much. It is camping, but our tent was quite comfortable. Service was warm and caring. They walked us to our tent after dark. Food was good. We had no problem with the water volume or pressure. You do have to call or "order" the bucket of hot water. For the time we were there, it was the ideal location for seeing the Migration. The herds were at nearby Lake Magadi, so we were close enough to drive over there several times to watch that unique spectacle. The only hard part was that the patio was so comfortable, with that wonderful view, and the cocktails included, it was very tempting to just take an afternoon to relax......but the Serengeti's out there, so let's go look for animals....And one great highlight for me....as an alternative to the "staged" performances in villages and some properties, one evening the staff threw on some local textiles, sang and danced for us. It appeared that they were just "letting go" for a few minutes and having a good time. To me it was the most authentic performance we could have seen, and I loved it. I would definitely stay here again, and add an extra day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quackmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Dunia camp for two nights, and loved the experience. Hot coffee and tea with a morning wake up "call", followed by a hot bucket shower (hardly any flow in the shower - my only real complaint) and an early game drive. Return for lunch and relax in the main tent for a while and then set out on another game drive (or go for the full day and have the staff pack you a lunch). In the evenings everyone gathers around the fire for drinks and to share animal sightings before a communal dinner, which gave the camp a very social atmosphere. After dinner return to your tent and fall asleep to the sounds of animals stirring at night (with a nice heated water bottle to warm the bed).

The staff was great, especially Peter. They knew we were on our honeymoon and set up a private dinner for us one of the nights, which was a great touch. Definitely the best place we stayed within the Serengeti.

Room Tip: We requested a tent towards away from the central tent, which I recommend.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krishna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had one the two best game safaris in our 12-day trip using Dunia camp as a base in central Serengeti - the other being at the crater. We saw cheetahs (including a mother cheetah catching gazelles alive three times in a row to train her 2 cubs only to have the hyena steal the prey), lions, hippos, buffalos, elephants (less than Tarangire though), and more birds! And a black rhino in the far distance at a lake.
Dunia is about an hour's drive to the seronera airstrip if u are just heading straight there, but if you want to add a game drive, then give yourself more time.
One evening, Ernest our indomitable guide small in build but sharp of eyes, wanted us to see 2 leopards in the tree - the remaining big 5 that had eluded us. It was already nearly 6 and we were an hour away from the camp and no vehicles are allowed on roads after 7pm. We finally caught sight of them, but my hubby took too long to find them and we didn't have time to snap a pix. we had to make a mad dash for the camp, and made it just past 7pm in 45 mins. we would have more time to admire the elusive cat (our only sight for the entire trip) if we stayed around that area but well, something you have to account for. Most the big cats are around the seronera area so factor that in if you are thinking of Dunia camp.
Having said that, the way back to Dunia was always full of things to see - a lioness sleeping in the tree, hyenas resting and sleeping along the road near camp, crocs in a nearby marsh, and beautiful jackals darting around in the grasses.
One thing to mention - the animals here are so used to vehicles that it's easy to get pix. They are shyer in the northern Serengeti region and dart away each time they hear the vehicle. but it is so crowded here - plenty of vehicles, some of which were oddly interested in the hyena tearing the live gazelle apart. we just moved on. but we saw two of the most amazing hunts - the elegant mother cheetah catches and the lioness' hunt right in front of our vehicle, alone on one side while 5 other vehicles were envying the action from the other end!
Back at the camp, Peter was the consummate host/manager. He remembered every request we wanted, and took such good care of us that we felt special (I'm sure every guest felt the same way!). I saw some negative comments in earlier reviews and was a bit surprised. perhaps the person was not told of the bucket showers and mobile tent experience. the bucket showers were sufficient, and they provide more if you needed (i did for hair-washing). some of the staff could not communicate well in English, but, hey, we were in tanzania! and most of the issues were resolved quickly.
And I loved curling up on the divan at the front part of our tent in the night - the breeze was delightfully fresh n cool, and enjoyed the vast landscape of sparkling stars! I had a migraine the first night, skipped the communal dinner and curled up on the divan listening my iPod and enjoying the stars, breeze and hyena cries, and my headache just evaporated. Loved that corner!
tips: Lots of tse tse flies to and fro camp. We would leave camp in a closed vehicle and only opened the top after safe distance, then returned after closing the top. but no such flies in all the camps - look out for blue and White flags hanging in the trees near camp, ask the guide/camp staff and you'll learn why no tse tse flies are in the camps!
our guide always called ahead to the camp to prepare our bucket showers so we could head straight for the showers to prepare for the sundowners.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kimmietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
31.6 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
450 reviews
1.0 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#3 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
254 reviews
19.1 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.3 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
511 reviews
3.8 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#23 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
178 reviews
36.4 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#13 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Moru Kopjes, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitched on a major wildebeest migration corridor in the Central Serengeti, Dunia Camp offers easy access to the scenic Moru Kopjes and superb sightings of the big cats, leopard and rhino that roam the forests on the fringes of the Seronera River. Dunia is a tranquil semi-permanent camp with just eight spacious tented suites, each with expansive views of the pristine wilderness and game-filled plains from a large private veranda. Attention to every detail is balanced by a graceful simplicity in harmony with the serene location. Enjoy an exclusive Serengeti safari with superb sightings of resident game and migration viewing twice a year, and round it all off with a sunrise hot-air balloon flight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing