We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa
Nearby Hotels
Ikoma Safari Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lobo Wildlife Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ikoma Wildcamp(Serengeti National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Serengeti Savannah Camps(Serengeti National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Serengeti Acacia Camps(Serengeti National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti(Serengeti National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siringit Serengeti Camp(Serengeti National Park)
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveler rating
417
35
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
35
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfemale staffbucket showersinging and dancingmoru kopjescentral serengetibush tvopen vehiclecommunal dinnerother guestswonderful experiencemain tenthot waterthe entire staffassistant managertse tse fliestsetse fliesthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 457 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Here you are at the end of the bumpy road, having spent a long day on Safari, seeing lions, cheetah,hippos,giraffe,black faced monkeys, elephants, and swatting tstetse flies(hoping the guide is right and they really aren't the ones that cause sleeping sickness) and you think this is as good as it gets. But, you are wrong. As soon as you get out of the land rover,you are met by the manager and his staff with ice cold towels and cold drinks. They carry your luggage to your three room tent, collect clothing you want washed and escort you to the welcoming tent. Here seated on comfortable furniture you have another cold beverage,learn about safety rules(call staff on your walky-talky for emergencies or if you want to leave the tent after sunset, the hours of breakfast ,lunch, and dinner. The honor system bar, and the time of the evening get together camp fire. You think you have died and gone to heaven!!!!
The meals are superb by any standard,the staff could not be friendlier or more helpful, the room accommodations(complete with warming bags,to take the chill out of the sheets) are fantastic, the guests are fun,and the location could not be better

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bethesdashrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I hate saying anything bad about this camp as the staff were just fantastic. Richard and his team wanted to please and our stay started with them bringing us exactly the same drinks that we had ordered at Olakira while we were there. We had a tough afternoon as we got stuck for over 2 hours at the Naabi gate coming into the Serengeti due to a "banking" issue with our tour company. So, this nice touch was sincerely appreciated and put us in a better mood immediately.


This camp is about an hour south of the Seronera area which we found so crowded that we just wanted to leave so I would recommend staying out of that area. I think maybe there are a lot of lodges in that area.

We had elephants joining us for dinner one night and lots of animals talking in the night. If you do stay here make sure you visit the Simba kopje as we could have stayed all day and watched the Wildebeast and Zebras navigate the river and the elephants playing games with them. The hippos down the road are also quite a scene. The Mobu (sp?) kopjes were not as productive and I wished we hadn't wasted our last day going there and the Seronera area.

I had wanted to invite our guide the last night for dinner and because the camp was not full it was not a problem. That was a treat for us and hopefully for our guide as well.

Dunia is also a semi-permanent camp but unlike Olakira it does not move with the migration. The tents and bucket showers are the same as Olakira. The dining is a bit different here as they have separate tables if a couple wants to dine alone. In fact the first night we stayed there were 3 couples on their honeymoon and this was their last night so Richard and his team went all out and put tons of lights out in an area close to the dining tent but still secluded and gave each couple their own candle lit table. Very nice touch! The elephants showed up and interrupted but no one seemed to mind.

It may have just been our bad luck with timing but the tse tse flies here were just obnoxious. We all got bit - my Mom and I quite a few times. They can't bite through the safari material that makes up most people's pants and shirts but they got our hands, neck and ankles - even through thick cotton socks. In hindsight I would have preferred staying 4 nights at Olakira based on time of year and just traveled into the Simba area via Olakira.

Having said that we still thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we were only an hour from the Serengeti air strip for our flight back to Arusha.

Room Tip: They are all the same. If anyone in your group has mobility issues just ask for a tent close to the dining tent.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annie123081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Dunia towards the end of Feb. The first thing you notice when you arrive apart for the fact that it is one of the most beautiful locations on the Serengeti is that they go that little bit further than most to make Dunia that little bit special . The staff all wear uniforms and offer you (not only )on arrival but also following each and every game drive a cool welcoming drink and a cold towel along with a warm greeting by the staff. Richard the manager was a wonderful host and very quickly made us feel at home and made us realise that Dunia is as good as all the reviews you may have read.
The tents are glam camping personified , faultless, clean, spacious, private , well appointed , comfortable beds and even a fluffy hot water bottle for us each during turn down service to take off the nighttime chill. Saying that whilst we were there it was very warm during the day and pleasant at night but my wife still loved her hot water bottle. Plenty of water for showering and regardless of how may showers you want, the staff are ready and waiting to supply your bucket shower with as much hot water as you need regardless of time of day or night. The food at Dunia is wonderful, before dinner they put on the "bush TV" which to you and I is a roaring camp fire where everyone meets up before dinner over drinks and freshly prepared snacks. One night we had a barbecue , and at Dunia unlike other camps we visited, all the guests sit together in a sumptuous dining tent where the set up would not be out of place at a 5 star hotel. Its so interesting to sit with people from all around the world exchanging travellers tales. Its was my birthday whilst we were there so they made me a cake and the staff all sang to me a wonderful African version of happy birthday.

Breakfast is a delight , here you do sit just with your partner / group and besides a good choice of food, eggs, pancakes etc etc , the view is just magic. Watch the mist roll in then the sun rise , whilst all the Zebra run past. I could have sat there all morning. The game in the area is plentiful, lions, leopard, cheetah, hippo, rhino, elephants, we saw them all.

We could not fault Dunia, the service , location everything was just great. We stayed for 2 nights we regret not having stayed longer.

It was sad leaving and we really hope to go back one day, it was a memorable and wonderful experience. The staff are all wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. It's not the cheapest camp to stay at but here you get what you pay for and you won't feel short changed. If you haven't yet been then find a way to go, and if you are about to go, I'm jealous!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy8600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

When you think of the notion 'safari' you'll imagine a camp like Dunia. The location is far from the beaten path, quintessentially African, surrounded by unspoilt nature. You stay in old-style tents with luxury fittings and every comfort taken care of.

We loved meeting up with fellow travellers to swap tales round the campfire in the evening. We loved lying in our tent listening to lions and hyenas in the distance or finding a giraffe nibbling on a tree just outside in the morning.

We had no problem with tetse flies: we just kept our windows shut on the approach to camp. A huge rainstorm made access difficult for a while and the jeep almost got stuck in the mud, but this added to the excitement for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hoolit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Dunia Camp offers amazing game viewing. The area is known for its abundance of game, especially big cats and is in the path of the great migration of hundreds of thousand of wildebeest and zebras. Bucket showers and the Asilia's properties use flasks for water (which get refilled) instead of plastic water bottles. Richard and his staff were very attentive. Be aware of the tse tse flies.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank millie4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews