We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate Camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Dunia Camp offers amazing game viewing. The area is known for its abundance of game, especially big cats and is in the path of the great migration of hundreds of thousand of wildebeest and zebras. Bucket showers and the Asilia's properties use flasks for water (which get refilled) instead of plastic water bottles. Richard and his staff were very attentive. Be aware of the tse tse flies.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank millie4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 431 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay here just after Christmas - a real tent experience in the Serengeti in complete comfort. On our last night, we heard lions walking around our tent and the following day, there were footprints around the camp. It is difficult to get closer to nature.

The tent is extremely comfortable. I didnt found the shower an issue at all - once you order a shower, the service is very quick and before you know it they are loading up your water. The only think I didnt like is that even though there is a fully flushable toilet, there is no door to the bathroom. It didnt bother my husband at all but he is more relaxed about these things.

Food was excellent. I really enjoyed getting to know the other guests over dinner - one of the best things about these small luxury camps. Service excellent of course. The most difficult thing was getting here as it had been raining. The start of the adventure...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tagesthemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The service at Dunia was the best out of all the tented camps we stayed it. It felt like a four seasons. Richard, the manager is the best. We were quite amazed that after our 1st shower finished someone would immediately show up to fill for the second shower. If you don't take a shower in the morning, they bring you a flask filled with hot water. That was really nice! We didnt get a hot water morning flask at any other camp.

The dinner was THE BEST out of all the properties we stayed at. It was better than alot of the top restaurants that we've eaten in California. Breakfast lunch boxes were really good too. Wonderful job with our gluten free restrictions. They made use special breads and muffins at dinner, lunch, and breakfast.

The only problem with Dunia are the tsetse flies. Getting into/out of the camp is a nightmare, make sure you close all your windows. During the afternoon/lunch time the flies attack you but early morning and at night the flies are asleep. We requested lunch in our tent to escape the flies and the wait staff were wonderful for bringing lunch to our tent!

This was the only camp where we always heard lions roar and hyenas at night. Lots of cats around due to the kopje's.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Dunia tented camps (Richard, manager) of the Asilia group, as well as those in Oliver's Camp (Karisia, manager) and Ubuntu (Epimark, manager) are truly gems in the "middle of nowhere!" The staff at these camps are absolutely wonderful, attending to your every need. I have rarely seen such amazing, attentive service anywhere (and i travel alot!). Truly commendable and highly recommended. Further, the food at these camps is amazing. You simply cannot believe the 5 Star rated food they created out in the "bush". You willbe amazed. No doubt, I will go back and highly recommend these camps - and I should also mention, there are millions of wild animals all around to see, experience and photograph! a true gem of gems!

Room Tip: These tented camps are "in the wilderness", all tents are equivalent and great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrplDNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Dunia is located in the hills of Serengeti, fairly remote and small. The tents are all canvas, hot water is provide by either thermos bottles in the morning or in shower bags upon request. Dining is in the communal tent and the quality of the food is really remarkable given the remoteness of the site and the cooking conditions (I visited the kitchen which is served by a propane tank, wood burning hot water tanks, etc). The baker produces amazing breads, rolls, cakes, pastries out of these spartan conditions. The staff are warm, professional, very caring. When our water ice chest was accidentally stocked with two bottles of chilled unfiltered water not meant for drinking and we accidentally drank from them, they were so solicitous and concerned about my reaction that thereafter I was always greeted with sealed bottles of drinking water. One morning we woke up to the sight of 150 zebra right outside our tent. Our daughters were awakened one night by an animal moving outside their tent who then proceeded to knock over their drying rack in the bathroom portion. Very thrilling! Lions and hyenas could be heard every night. I found the bios of the staff very interesting, they try to hire from local communities and provide jobs in lieu of poaching. This was the most basic of all the places we stayed at and it was still pretty good in terms of food, service - they even ran an electrical cord to our tent for my CPAP machine! What luxury! I had to laugh because in the middle of this forested camp site - there was the mandated "fire escape route" notice tacked to a tree. I really enjoyed the other guests and the evening campfire where we gathered for appetizers and drinks.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyssf2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

lovely,intimate tented camp.staff was terrific and organized.they managed extremely well with our special food requirements........and the food was fab.the tents are lovely---the views from the tent amazing.we saw many,many animals on our way in and out ........and saw a giraffe from the tent doorway.got a lesson in how to fold napkins!!!!! like a bird in the morning.........and the chef wrote down his recipe for the tasty fish we had for dinner.Peter,the director was interesting to talk to........and i can't say enough good things about the staff

Room Tip: we were in tent 2--close to the dining area......but nothing is far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karyn1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was on Dunia for 3 nights, with my family ( total 6 ). It was amazing. We could hear hundreds of different animals, including hienas and lions ( not so close, but enough to be heard ). We felt secure all the time. Food was very good. The camp manager, Richard, was always present to be sure everything was perfect. As I had to use internet - and there were no internet to guests - he offered me to use his own computer on his office, what I did many times.

For the ones who would like to have the experience to be on a tent inside a park like Serengeti, Dunia is a wonderful option.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcos_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
18.3 mi away
Melia Serengeti Lodge
Melia Serengeti Lodge
#4 of 4 in Serengeti National Park
7 reviews
31.6 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#6 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
526 reviews
36.4 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
930 reviews
54 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#17 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
333 reviews
19.1 mi away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#5 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Moru Kopjes, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitched on a major wildebeest migration corridor in the Central Serengeti, Dunia Camp offers easy access to the scenic Moru Kopjes and superb sightings of the big cats, leopard and rhino that roam the forests on the fringes of the Seronera River. Dunia is a tranquil semi-permanent camp with just eight spacious tented suites, each with expansive views of the pristine wilderness and game-filled plains from a large private veranda. Attention to every detail is balanced by a graceful simplicity in harmony with the serene location. Enjoy an exclusive Serengeti safari with superb sightings of resident game and migration viewing twice a year, and round it all off with a sunrise hot-air balloon flight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing