We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveler rating
451
37
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
37
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfemale staffbucket showermoru kopjescentral serengetibush tvsinging and dancingopen vehicleother guestscommunal dinnerhot watertse tse fliesthe entire staffwonderful experiencethree nightstsetse fliesshare storiesour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 493 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We spent two nights in Dunia in February immediately after staying in sister camp Olakira. Both camps are excellent but the Dunia tents struck us as a little more stylish and spacious.
There were some minor glitches here. We didn't like the fact that there were no safes in the tents and we had to ask three times for a second water bottle for our tent. Overall though, the experience was very positive with excellent food and service. There is some breathtaking scenery in the Moru Kopjes near the camp and we finally caught up to the migration in this area. Be prepared for tse-tse flies as you enter and leave camp though they were not a problem in the camp itself. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All tents looked identical. We were in the furthest tent and enjoyed the seclusion.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheffip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We first-time visitors to Africa and Tanzania found Dunia Camp to be awesome. Manager Richard and his crew were really wonderful to us. I learned some Iro from Richard, some more Maasai words from William, and more Swahili from Saleh. Saleh and Richard even taught my husband some customized handshakes. Filippo was an excellent maitre d'. The first night at dinner, it was clear that Richard and Filippo had noted that I don't eat fish (which was on the menu for that evening) because I was given a delicious chicken entree instead. As with Olakira, Dunia's sister camp, we found the staff to be top-notch and kind and happy to teach us their languages and about our surroundings. The tent was amazing and we heard lions and hyenas vocalizing at night. We felt we were in a dream the whole time we were in Tanzania, and Dunia contributed to our sense of amazement. Also, as with Olakira, the only negative experiences we had were due to other guests who turned us off with their rudeness and insensitivity. Yet even these folks were handled with grace, a tribute to Richard and his staff. We highly recommend Dunia for travelers who appreciate what is done for them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Dunia held a reputation of excellence, sadly it appears that Dunia staff are now resting on their laurels and are no longer striving to provide the 'first class' accommodation and service. Our stay was marred by stained towels, stained/dirty curtains and sullen staff. At meal times we had to resort to going over to the bar area to fill our drinks glasses ourselves, whether wine or otherwise, due to the staff being inattentive. At best we would only rate this camp as 'average'. By contrast our stay at nearby Asanja camp was truly 'first class'.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sportbluehorse0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We spent 2 nights here thinking the migration would be in the South Serengeti but it turned out the action was near Dunia. The camp is in a woodsy area which explains why there are a lot of tse tse flies. It is annoying driving in and out of the camp as you get attacked. They have these traps but some of them still come into the camp and sometimes find their way into your tent. As a permanent camp, they are there all year round. Which was surprising considering I asked them specifically if there were tse tse flies and they said no. Tse tse flies sting and will land on you even with bug repellent.

The bucket showers are one per person. Someone stands outside your tent and asks when you would like shower #2. You can also request a shower in the morning. I took a pretty long shower here if you adjust the pressure. The toilet flushes every 5 - 10 minutes. Water for drinking and brushing your teeth is poured into a thermos. We had water in our basin which is also filled via bucket. We were in tent #1. Our friends had tent #2 and they only had water in a jug for washing your hands. They did not have water in their basin. The bed was very comfortable.

There are electric plugs in the main tent for charging your devices. Dinner is at 8 pm and everyone sits at the same table for dinner.

The snacks pre dinner were very good - onion rings, potato chips and popcorn. We had drinks included in our plan and the wines (red and white) were all very good.

Zebras were all around our tent. That was pretty cool.

Breakfast was good. Eggs are made to order. The dinner meals were average but of course you are in the middle of the jungle.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I really want to give Dunia camp 5 stars, but after arriving from its sister camp Olakira, I do feel that while Dunia was wonderful, it did suffer the tinest bit by comparison.

The tent was beautiful and very comfortable, and it's located in a area with a very nice view. We heard/saw zebras near our tents during the night, and actually saw the migration pass by from our breakfast table. Because of the lack of rain this year, the migration was further north, and Dunia was a great base for viewing the migration.

Food was very good and staff worked very hard. I do think there seemed to be fewer people on staff, perhaps because they did not anticipate the migration to be in this area? The biggest problem one must be aware of is that to get to the camp, you must drive through and area that's very heavy with tse tse flies. The camp itself does not have flies, but they follow the vehicles, so in the morning/early evening, there are quite a few flies in camp. We had our own guide and a vehicle that could be closed up, so were not too terribly affected. However, the folks who used the camp guides had to go out on game drives in an open vehicle, and got a lot of bites.

Richard was the only manager on staff at the time, and he was a great guy. Coincidentally, while we were in camp, there were a few snafus with various guests' arrangements (some wanted to leave early, our next stop made a mistake), and he handled them all with grace under pressure. He said he stayed up all night one day calling South Africa to try to make arrangements for some guests. It's not easy being a bush camp manager! I did miss getting to spend more time with him, as he did not take dinner with the guests the 2 nights we were in camp.

I echo what everyone else says about the lovely tents, beautiful surroundings, and wonderful staff. I would definitely recommend this camp IF you have your own guide/vehicle and/or can deal with driving through the tse tse fly area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews