We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome stay...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

If you are doing a safari in the Serengeti, hands down this is the property to stay. Excellent service from Richard and his team and facilities and location cannot be topped. My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and the experience alone of hearing the wildlife at night, including a zebra that wandered over outside our tent is something else...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reggiec10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    35
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
95
183
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Fantastic understated service, I was first nervous from staying in camps and Peter managed to calm me down with his welcoming and friendly approach. The team is very friendly, they are flexible and attentive, the food and service is outstanding, the wildlife around is just amazing. Thousands of wildebeest migrating just few meters from the camp, hyienas laughing at us, wildebeest snoring in the night:) Worth getting up at 5.30 am for the sunrise!!!
I wish we stayed longer than 2 nights, so many animals around.
Dinner is a sociable event with the other campers but you can request a bush dinner as well! Highly recommended!!! Thank you again for Peter and the TEAM!

Room Tip: Closer to wildlife if you chose one of the tents at the end of the camp, if you are nervous chose on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Words are hard to find to describe Dunia camp..

A unique setting among the trees at the foot of a hill in a peaceful corner of the Serengeti, with only 7 tents to give you the privacy that you want. Wake up and open your tent to see giraffes passing by first thing in the morning!!..

Peter & Richard along with the Dunia crew make you feel welcome and comfortable each and every moment. The food is top quality, the camp is ecofriendly, everything is clean and comfy. It is an oasis in the middle of the Serengeti!

Patena, our guide, was absolutely exceptional in spotting animals (demonstrating his eagle eyes by spotting a leopard in a tree at 800m distance!), describing everything from birds to cats to termites as if we were on National Geographic Channel. Being a Masai, Patena also explained the Masai culture which we greatly enjoyed learning about. He became a really special friend to us at the end of our stay.

As for animals, no need to describe... You've got it ALL in the vicinity of the camp. It is like a Zoo in the wilderness.

And at the end of a gamedrive day, you get back to the camp where the campfire is waiting for you with a glass of red wine, absolute tranquility, sounds of hyenas and lions roaring in the distance.. Magnificent..

Having visited some 50 countries, I can say that Dunia tops the list. It is such an experience that words can't describe..

Book your room and pack your gear!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlpOngor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

This is one of the best places we have ever stayed in. The staff is exceptionally attentive. They even prepared a special birthday cake for me. The food is excellent. The accommodations are super comfortable. The camp is far from the crowds and is constantly surrounded by all sorts of interesting animals. One could hardly imagine a better way to visit and appreciate Serengeti.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel2011Serengeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

Heaven on earth.....Peter, Richard along with Francis our guide and the rest of the gang - were kind and took very good care of me - EXCELLENT-...what at wonderful, peaceful treasure in the world. The intimate atmosphere gave me the feeling of days gone by....The tent was well situated with a good combination of roughing it and luxury. Perfect thanks to the entire staff for making dreams come true.......

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindasm1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

A quiet corner in an otherwise well travel park. At landing on the air strip, the crowd overwhelmed. At arriving Dunia, the solitude welcomed and embraced. Dunia’s location took us away to hinterland. At our game drives, we saw few passersby and many wildlife.

The tent was amazing. Roomy. Immaculate white linen. Pitcher in place of sink faucet. Hot buckle shower in place of indulging ever flow. No worry. There is plenty of water for a satisfying wash.

The people working at the lodge are wonderful, always welcoming, every need catered with a smile.

Meals: Lunch is served in the field in front of the tents, with open view to the park and wildlife strolling by in the distance. Dinner is banquet style, either at mass tent or in open field. A varying social mix and open attitude ensure lively conversation.

Location: Dunia is no longer a semi-mobile camp. A good forty-minute drive from Seronera Airstrip takes you away from the crowd. And with an experience guide, you can see plenty of amazing wildlife and landscape mostly in solitude.

Expectation: A refined atmosphere where conservation ranges easy to poignant. High commitment to service excellence. Great food. On African Night, a chance to sample Tanzania dishes. This is Architectural Digest treehouse you always wanted as a kid, with all the adult comfort you have learned to appreciate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lariat3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We have stayed at Dunia Camp for three nights in August 2011.
The Camp is a relatively small camp so you feel at home very quickly.
It is a beautiful area of the Serengeti to explore and observe wildlife.
The Staff lead by manager Peter and his assistent Richard are excellent, friendly and relaxed.They always made time to talk to everbody in the camp.
The tents are comfortable and well equipped.
Before dinner you can enjoy around the fireplace to share your stories of the day with other guest and the staff
In the moirning they serve tea or coffee in your tent. The overall quality of the food is very good.

Our guide Pantana showed us all the beautiful places in the area, nothing was too much for him and he told us a lot about the nature and the animals that live in that area.

We will never forget the evening game-drive he was dressed in his original Masai outfit(great!)
and wait for the sunset Anouschka and I with a glass of wine and Pantana had a nice soft drink.
We enjoyed 4 wonderful days in Dunia Camp that we will never forget.
Thank you and we hope to see you again !

Marijke and Anouschka from the Netherlands

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marijke709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
33.8 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
78.5 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
14.7 mi away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#4 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
45.2 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#15 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
15.5 mi away
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
#12 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Moru Kopjes, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitched on a major wildebeest migration corridor in the Central Serengeti, Dunia Camp offers easy access to the scenic Moru Kopjes and superb sightings of the big cats, leopard and rhino that roam the forests on the fringes of the Seronera River. Dunia is a tranquil semi-permanent camp with just eight spacious tented suites, each with expansive views of the pristine wilderness and game-filled plains from a large private veranda. Attention to every detail is balanced by a graceful simplicity in harmony with the serene location. Enjoy an exclusive Serengeti safari with superb sightings of resident game and migration viewing twice a year, and round it all off with a sunrise hot-air balloon flight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing