We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience: out of Africa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Bretagne
Level Contributor
572 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience: out of Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We travelled in Tanzania and our last stop was Dunia Camp. The camp is basic, bucket showers and in the middle of nowhere in the bush. It has a great central location in the Serengeti, fantastic guide ( Thompson), wonderful manager ( Richard), warm and friendly athmosphere right out of a movie. We LOVED Dunia! The lion visit at nigth, roaring and leaving impressive footprints right outside the tent....and much more. The staff goes out of its way to be helpful and the cook team is amazing. A real jewel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineBindert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    35
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
96
183
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

We spent 2 nights here and had the best time!

Why???
- The service is the best. The team that work here are truly dedicated to make your stay incredible. From putting hot water bottles in our bed to ensure we did not get a chill in the night to waking us in the morning with a tray of tea - they have thought every detail.

- The safari guides are first class. We would recommend using them as they know the area inside out and have undergone some serious training and recruitment process. They also have great general knowledge and their english is faultless. We will never forget the evening safaris we did - we watched the sun go down whilst chatting to our guide and enjoying a bottle of beer (he was on soft drink!).

- The food was fantastic. We are massive food lovers so we a bit worried that the standard would not be that great in a camp. We were soooo wrong.....the food was great. They even have a patisserie chef!

We still can not get over the standard of this place considering it is in the middle of the Serengeti. You MUST come here if ever you come to the Serengeti.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

This tent camp located in the Serengeti and run by Asilia surpassed our expectations for luxury and TLC in Tanzania. The staff, led by camp manager, Peter, and assistant, Richard, was polite, friendly and interested in meeting our every need and wish.

Located at the base of hills with a gorgeous view of the Serengeti plains and the sounds of lions roaring and elephants trumpeting in the distance during the nights, it provided gorgeous sunrises each morning from every tent. The tents have screened verandas with a comfortable setee, table and chair. The bedrooms are large and the bathrooms with buckets showers and flush toilets have warm water delivered for hand washing. A hot water bottle was placed in each bed while we were at dinner.

The meals, prepared by Simba and his staff, were delicious with plenty of fruit and vegetables and meat cooked to perfection. We ate under a tent next door to a large and comfortable tent lounge and bar. The last night we were served a Welcome Cake that could compete with those of the finest pastry shops in America. Most drinks are included in the fees and our wine glasses were never empty. Appetizers and drinks are served around a campfire as the sun set.

I was truly sad when we left these incredible people and their oasis of beauty, comfort and friendship.

Our trip in Tanzania was with Asilia and their drivers and guides could not have been nicer, funnier or more knowledgeable. They managed to find all the rarer animals we hoped to see including cheetahs, leopards and the black rhino within the three parks we visited ---Tarangarie, Ngorongoro, and the Serengeti. They shared their passion for their country and its parks, people and animals with dignity and enthusiasm. I feel that they are my friends forever and hope to see them again. If you are considering a trip to Tanzania, be sure to check with Asilia and don't miss their Dunia Camp.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

We drove into the Serengeti and within 20min we saw 3 cheetahs, a lion following them, 6 hyenas and further on, closer to Dunia camp giraffes, more lions, loads of deers and arriving at camp we were welcomes with a cool drink and a cool towels to wipe our dusty hands and faces. A very warm welcome by the staff who brought us to our tents and offered refreshments and warm water for a shower. I was sceptical about bucket showers as I didn't know exactly what to expect but incredibly it is a normal shower just that the water gets warmed up on request and a bucket is lifted up outside your tent. 20 liters of hot water was plenty and worked very well. We had pre-dinner drinks around the camp fire before dinner and shared stories with other camp guests. Dinner was very very good. Its amazing what these guys can put together in the bush! After dinner we went back to the camp fire and enjoyed listening to the hyenas and lions calling nearby. The location of the camp is stunning, the sunrise wakes you up and the animal dencenty in the surounding area of the camp was incredible. The staff was outstanding and we felt most welcome and looked after. Some of my friends even had a game of soccer with the staff. We stayed two nights in total and had a wonderful time. Sad to leave we were for sure but I can most certainly recommend a stay at Dunia camp as a must do in the Serengeti.
We went in October which is out of season for Dunia as the Migration is already up north at that time and the area is fairly dry but this allowed us to see animals better and as we also drove up north appreciate the change of scenery so much more.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhinovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Dunia is one of the best places we have ever stayed. The tents are of a very high standard with comfortable beds (including matress toppers), high quality furnishings and even curtains! Each has a sitting area with a day bed at the front for relaxing.

What really sets this camp apart is the staff, led by Peter. We celebrated our wedding anniversary during our trip and arrived at our tent to find chilled sparkling wine! The staff also provided hot water for the bush shower every evening and tea and more hot water each morning. The food was also of a very high standard and plentiful.

During our visit we were lucky enough to have the migration around the camp and could hear the wildebeest at night. On our last night, 2 lions came into the camp and were discovered by staff early in the morning. After roaring so loud it shook the tent, they finally slunk off.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyflyer099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

The Dunia Camp is the most perfect place to stay in the Serengeti. In the middle of the action (which luckily included the Migration during our stay - 300,000 wildebeest on your doorstep - breathtaking).
Peter and his team run a slick operation (ask to see "backstage", you will be amazed), from wake up call tea at all hours of the morning to delicious food and some of the most fun showers in the world. The service cannot be faulted.
The tents are like no others (camping may never be the same again) with extremely comfortable beds (hot water bottles at bed time can never be a bad thing). The guides are knowledgeable and keen to share their experience. Bush TV is the best evening entertainment, there may only be one channel but the reception is excellent and the soundtrack amazing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

I found the camp to be one of the best places we stayed during our safari trip.We had a mix of lodges and tented accommodation over the duration of the trip.The rooms were large and nicely furnished, flush toilet and bucket shower, no running water for washing, you have a pitcher and a bucket of washing water under the sink.Showers were always promptly filled and you could also request a pitcher of hot water in the morning for shaving and washing.I would advise not keeping food of any sort in the tent as a few of us had some mice visiting during the night biting through bags to get to things.Our own fault for keeping food in there but it is worth remembering you are in the bush!.The staff as a whole were very good but maybe a little stand offish (in comparison to the Masai at Olduvai camp)
Food was very good especially if you consider the facilities.Recommend you do the kitchen tour and speak to the chef to see what they have to work with :)
Tsetse flys are abundant in the approach to the camp, we resorted to covering the jeep and closing the windows to cut down the attacks.I didn't have any problems with them while I was in the camp.
Overall this was the best tented camp we stayed in but this is also reflected in the price per night.
A great base to explore the Serengeti, we spent 4 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Octagon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
31.6 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
75.3 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
36.3 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#13 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
19.1 mi away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#5 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
14.6 mi away
Ndutu Kati Kati - South Serengeti Safari Camp
Ndutu Kati Kati - South Serenget...
#9 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Moru Kopjes, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitched on a major wildebeest migration corridor in the Central Serengeti, Dunia Camp offers easy access to the scenic Moru Kopjes and superb sightings of the big cats, leopard and rhino that roam the forests on the fringes of the Seronera River. Dunia is a tranquil semi-permanent camp with just eight spacious tented suites, each with expansive views of the pristine wilderness and game-filled plains from a large private veranda. Attention to every detail is balanced by a graceful simplicity in harmony with the serene location. Enjoy an exclusive Serengeti safari with superb sightings of resident game and migration viewing twice a year, and round it all off with a sunrise hot-air balloon flight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing