We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
UAE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Back to nature”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Not for those looking for any form of luxury! This camp takes you back to nature, 13 basic tents with outdoor bathrooms (private walled but no roof).

The staff and manager are very welcoming and friendly. The food was very good, especially a lunch under an acacia tree, which was prepared especially for us after an early morning game drive.

The location is great for safari in the Northern Serengeti, you start to see elephants, gazelle, zebra etc a short distance from the camp, but outside of the main conservation. We could her Hyena quite close to our tent at night, which reminded us where we were.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    20
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
59
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed the camp
The tents are amazing, so luxurious and comfortable, love the outdoor bathrooms.
Staff are so friendly and helpful, the Manager Frank cares so much about the camp and its guests and offers a real personal touch to the place.
Food and wine were great, great wildlife viewing opportunities from the bar, we had a few elephants walk by at sunset!

Room Tip: Any of them, all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and loved it. After a dusty day on safari, it was nice to come back to comfy beds with nice linen. The food was pretty good...considering how far you are from civilization. The 'security guards' (men with spears and bows and arrows) were in our tent in 10 seconds flat when we overreacted and screamed at a small creature in our bathroom. It made me feel very safe laying in bed listening to the hyenas near by. I would love to stay there again some time!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrottingchick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Recently spent two. iChat's here. Location is fantastic with elephants and Wilderbeast walking past our tents in the evenings. Staff were all so friendly and warm. The manager frank went out of his way to ensure we had a good stay. After 7 camps this was the first with Internet which was handy but not essential. The outdoor showers are fantastic.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I loved waking up to the natural sounds of the animals. Wildebeest sound similar to bullfrogs on a pond. The showers are inspirational, the food is excellent, and relaxing for an afternoon outside at this lodge is priceless. We loved our stay here. Lodges are solid, but a luxurious tented camp in a great location with all the comfort of home is the way to safari.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The tent me and my husband stayed in was heavenly. Huge and comfortable bed and a really nice bathroom "under the stars". View was incredible and to hear the wildbeest during the night was stunning!
Service was ok. I wanted an extra blanket and had to ask twice. Which is okay, I usually don't make a huge fuss about things like that. But when you pay a price like at Mapito the small things matter, I think. Service during meals was not perfect as well. In the morning there was never enough milk and you had to ask to please get someone to refill the bottle...
We dindn't like the food. It was oky but really nothing more. We were especially disappointed with the lunch box. 3 days the same food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Obilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in late January as part of our two-week trip to Tanzania, and this was by far our favorite stop. The camp is just outside the Serengeti gate but doesn't feel like it (there aren't any fences). We were lucky enough to have the camp to ourselves the first night, and the staff set up a beautiful lantern-lit private dinner for us under a tree. We both agree that sitting around the campfire with the staff (and with fellow guests on night 2) was one of the most enjoyable parts of our whole trip. I have never seen better customer service than the service at Mapito. All of the employees seem to truly love their jobs and care about getting to know their guests and ensuring a positive experience for them. The food here was outstanding too! Best food we had anywhere. We stayed in the Dik Dik tent which is on the end and therefore the most private, and in the middle of the night we could hear hyenas all around... it was just amazing. I wish that we could have stayed here longer, and staying at a large lodge at Ngorongoro after this was such a let-down after Mapito. If i could plan our trip all over again I would pick all tented camps and no lodges. Do yourself a favor and stay here - you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Dik Dik tent has a King sized bed and is on the end of the tent row for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhunter29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
2.9 mi away
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented Lodge
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented L...
#53 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
52 reviews
6.6 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#60 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
81 reviews
9.9 mi away
Serengeti Simba Lodge
Serengeti Simba Lodge
#32 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.9 mi away
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
#48 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
26 reviews
20.0 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#19 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
113 reviews
20.2 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#20 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti

Property: Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
Address: Near Ikoma Gate, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing