We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastico!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastico!!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We only stayed for a night. It was a wonderful experience. Their services were very personalised. Knowing that we were honeymooners, they took the effort to decorate our bed with flowers and leaves. They gave us a complimentary champagne after dinner and even baked us a cake for desserts,on top of the desserts they had prepared for us.

The ambience of the tent is out of this world, with outdoor showers and toilet. Be prepared to shower in the drizzle, which we did. There was hot water so it was not so bad after all.

We felt very safe as we had escorts to and fro the dining area. The whole stay was peaceful and secure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liuueunice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    20
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
59
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

we stayed for 3 nights at Mapito during our S'geti Safari and i have to say... fantastic! great location, spacious rooms and stunning bathrooms. the staff is very friendly and attentive, breakfast and diner almost the best i had in a national park.
but still, there are a few but's...
the beds are not really made for people taller than 1,80m, so be prepared! the lunchboxes are better than in other camps but still too much bread inside, the good thing is, when you ask in the evening and if you give some suggestions to the chef, he is trying to make his best and follow your suggestions.
the only real thing what I've missed, was the camp fire in the evening, but even if it would be there, the chairs around it were not looking comfortable (normal dining chairs) put some safari chairs around, make a nice big fire at 7 and people will sit around...

anyway, i would recommend Mapito to everyone a nice charming lodge with an "out of Africa" flair

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pakalinchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed the evening here while travelling through the Serengeti and honestly wish I could retire here. A very peaceful and very well kept property with outstanding service and food. You won't go wrong booking this location...

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottGoldbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Mapito camp during our Serengeti Safari in October 2012. Its smaller, friendlier a in a great wilderness location near the Mapito entrance. Close to nature, and not big enough to be a "mass" tourist destination. The tents are well appointed and have a luxurious open stone bathroom at the back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank graham017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a MUST while visiting the Serengeti!!! Such a beautiful tented camp, the nicest one we stayed at during our week long safari. I would definitely recommend this to anyone and stay there again next time! The tents are beautiful with a stunning outdoor shower and beautiful bedroom. It felt very luxurious. The campfire was a great addition, we spent the evening enjoying drinks around the fire. The food was good and the service excellent. There are very friendly staff who are there to escort the guests around camp after dark as the wildlife is very close to camp. They carry bow and arrows and are happy to demonstrate how to us them. During the night we could hear the zebras and hyenas which was very neat. Do make sure to stay here if visiting the Serengeti.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjgm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Amazing view, well decorated lobby and restaurant, beautiful room with cool bathroom!!!!
We did enjoy our stay there though its only one night, but I will recommend you guys spend days there, seating around the fire, chatting with friends from different part of the World. Its amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, which were the last two of our 6 day safari in August. We did a blend of tented camps and lodges. Of the two tented camps, this was the nicer of them.

We were greeted by the owner/manager and given a run through of the camp and it's services. The camp is nicely laid out with more than ample spacing between the tents so that you don't worry about noise. The tents are very well maintained, ours seemed quite new, the beds very comfortable, and the furnishings were nice. Hot water is provided by solar heating, and there was enough for a group of three to all shower without hurrying too much. For a semi-rustic environment, there were very few bugs to be concerned with, although you need to be diligent about zipping up the flaps.

Each tent has it's own private bathroom & shower that are open air, so don't be surprised. We found it enjoyable to shower under the stars after a long day of safari. After dinner time, they have a campfire for the guests to gather around, though we were too tired to join. We watched the camp staff entertain a young guest by doing some archery against a large acacia tree.

The main building houses where you will eat, as well as a lounge area. I encourage you to go upstairs balcony and enjoy the view at sunset. Meals are served buffet style and are pretty good quality and ample portions. The wine selection could be better, but overall we were pleased. If you are taking lots of photos and need to recharge your camera or even your mobile battery, bring your charger to the lodge during a meal and the staff will be more than happy to plug you in.

Some other reviews comment about the camp being outside of the park, which it is, but on the drive to the Ikoma gate and then to the camp, you can still see plenty of game as you drive by. During the evening, we could hear hyena outside the camp.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
6.6 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#66 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
35.7 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#26 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented Lodge
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented L...
#52 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#11 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
20.2 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#25 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
9.9 mi away
Serengeti Simba Lodge
Serengeti Simba Lodge
#31 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti

Property: Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
Address: Near Ikoma Gate, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing