We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed the evening here while travelling through the Serengeti and honestly wish I could retire here. A very peaceful and very well kept property with outstanding service and food. You won't go wrong booking this location...

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottGoldbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 125 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Mapito camp during our Serengeti Safari in October 2012. Its smaller, friendlier a in a great wilderness location near the Mapito entrance. Close to nature, and not big enough to be a "mass" tourist destination. The tents are well appointed and have a luxurious open stone bathroom at the back.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank graham017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a MUST while visiting the Serengeti!!! Such a beautiful tented camp, the nicest one we stayed at during our week long safari. I would definitely recommend this to anyone and stay there again next time! The tents are beautiful with a stunning outdoor shower and beautiful bedroom. It felt very luxurious. The campfire was a great addition, we spent the evening enjoying drinks around the fire. The food was good and the service excellent. There are very friendly staff who are there to escort the guests around camp after dark as the wildlife is very close to camp. They carry bow and arrows and are happy to demonstrate how to us them. During the night we could hear the zebras and hyenas which was very neat. Do make sure to stay here if visiting the Serengeti.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjgm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Amazing view, well decorated lobby and restaurant, beautiful room with cool bathroom!!!!
We did enjoy our stay there though its only one night, but I will recommend you guys spend days there, seating around the fire, chatting with friends from different part of the World. Its amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, which were the last two of our 6 day safari in August. We did a blend of tented camps and lodges. Of the two tented camps, this was the nicer of them.

We were greeted by the owner/manager and given a run through of the camp and it's services. The camp is nicely laid out with more than ample spacing between the tents so that you don't worry about noise. The tents are very well maintained, ours seemed quite new, the beds very comfortable, and the furnishings were nice. Hot water is provided by solar heating, and there was enough for a group of three to all shower without hurrying too much. For a semi-rustic environment, there were very few bugs to be concerned with, although you need to be diligent about zipping up the flaps.

Each tent has it's own private bathroom & shower that are open air, so don't be surprised. We found it enjoyable to shower under the stars after a long day of safari. After dinner time, they have a campfire for the guests to gather around, though we were too tired to join. We watched the camp staff entertain a young guest by doing some archery against a large acacia tree.

The main building houses where you will eat, as well as a lounge area. I encourage you to go upstairs balcony and enjoy the view at sunset. Meals are served buffet style and are pretty good quality and ample portions. The wine selection could be better, but overall we were pleased. If you are taking lots of photos and need to recharge your camera or even your mobile battery, bring your charger to the lodge during a meal and the staff will be more than happy to plug you in.

Some other reviews comment about the camp being outside of the park, which it is, but on the drive to the Ikoma gate and then to the camp, you can still see plenty of game as you drive by. During the evening, we could hear hyena outside the camp.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at Mapito for three nights, as the first stop on our honeymoon safari. We loved Mapito. All of the staff were friendly and diligent (especially Timothy), and we found the managers (Leon and Sylvia, if we remember correctly) to be genuine, friendly and very helpful.

As a relatively small camp, they can offer a more personalised level of hospitality – on our first night the staff arranged a surprise private dinner for us on the balcony of the main tent to celebrate our honeymoon, which was very sweet. A bottle of sparkling wine was also sneakily delivered to our tent during the dinner. We also loved having coffee/tea on the ‘veranda’ of our tent each morning.

We found the accommodations to be very comfortable. We loved the starlight bathroom, although we would have loved a little more water pressure. We found it best to shower in the later afternoon before the breeze got too cool. We also sprayed a large dose of the provided bug spray around the bathroom area before we planned to use it. No issues with bugs making it into the tent though.

We enjoyed the food, which tended to be old favourites done well. We had no problems with the amount of food, as others have indicated; however, we usually arrived for dinner at the beginning of service. Our only complaint would be the lunchboxes provided by Mapito. These tended to be unappealing. For example, breads, cakes etc. tended to be dry or dense, and there wasn’t much variety from day to day. At first we accepted this given the environment, but once we moved on from Mapito we realised that the lunch boxes were much better elsewhere.

We were often too exhausted from our day of game viewing to join others at the campfire, as we would have liked to. After dark, young men wielding spears or bows and arrows always escorted us to our tents. They were always friendly and often helped us learn new Swahili words.

Mapito is located slightly outside of the Park; however, we didn’t feel that this was much of a disadvantage. We often saw many animals on the way back to the camp, and these tended to be animals we didn’t see too much of deeper into the Park.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnyWhereButHere84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The luxurous Mapito Yented Camp was a wonderful bush experience. The tents had been renewed by the smell of it and the bed and bathroom were very well maintained. The bathroom had a moonlight experience since it had no cover, which added to the "out of africa" image.
The morning coffee at the tent, as a wake up call, gave the opportunity to gaze over the bushcountry, before going for breakfast.

A place to meet pure nature with a very friendly service

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
30.9 mi away
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
#35 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
46 reviews
9.9 mi away
Serengeti Simba Lodge
Serengeti Simba Lodge
#32 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
216 reviews
0 mi away
Robanda Safari Camp
Robanda Safari Camp
#82 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#19 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
169 reviews
28.4 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
467 reviews
0 mi away
Ikoma Tented Camp
Ikoma Tented Camp
#93 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti

Address: Near Ikoma Gate, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $337 - $704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing