We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ikoma Wildcamp
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Ikoma Safari Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$206
$195
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$273
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Acacia Camps(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$390
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lobo Wildlife Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti(Serengeti National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siringit Serengeti Camp(Serengeti National Park)
Kisura Sirengeti Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Kisura Serengeti Mobile Camp(Serengeti National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Serengeti Safari Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
Priceline
View Deal
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
41
39
9
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
39
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswildlife campphone camerahighview hotelarmed guardsproper toiletcharging facilitiesclose to naturewatched the sunsetpermanent tentson stiltswild animalsnice staytwo nightsbow and arrowfood was greatmagical experienceon arrival
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 96 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our family, two adults and three children, aged 8, 11 and 13, stayed at this camp in february/march, and we all had a great time there. Really wildlife!!! We stayed in bungalows, and we all found it clean and neat. We really enjoyed our stay, and really wants to come back some day!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingerid1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A few days back I visited Ikoma Wildcamp during my safari in Serengeti national park.I also stayed in a hut but it was clean and inviting so I cannot agree with the comment below. Maybe they really changed staff and standard as they wrote. The huts are round, the big bed is in the middle of the room and on the backside there is a small washroom with shower and toilet, but there is only a curtain that depart it from the bedroom - so travel with people you know well. Besides the room i really enjoyed the restaurant, the view is amazing. It is only a short drive from the Serengeti Gate and in this area there are also many animals roaming around.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed only the first of two scheduled days at Ikoma, as it was simply too dirty and filled with bugs for us.

The hut had not been cleaned and the room had lots of ants, flys and spiders which meant we never got any sleep. We think the tents might have better quality, but would still suspect that they would be as dirty as the huts.

The bed was too short for me (182cm) and the covers can't have been cleaned for years.

The people at the camp was not nearly as friendly as what we experienced on all the other hotels on our one week safari trip.

The food was actually okay.

All in all we cannot recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Never take one of the huts, but stick to the tents.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zainab A, Owner at Ikoma Wildcamp, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for the review and please note that we have taken serious action on your feedback and we are actually renovating the camp to proper standard, and we have also changed the management for proper maintaining of the camp and staff to be more accommodating to our future clients.

We do take your feedback in a positive way and overall we do hope you enjoyed your trip to Tanzania.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Ikoma Wildcamp can most assuredly be recomended to other travellers! We had a wonderful experience living on the edge of the Serengeti National Park and cannot praise it enough. The tents in which visitors stay are equiped with their own showers and WCs which makes the experience of living in a tent just wild enough for most travellers. The dinner and breakfast were also good, especially the soups in the beginning of the dinner.
The experience of sitting outside your tent in the morning while watching a baboon family wander past is not one easily forgotten!
Also, we recomend all visitors get up very early in the morning to watch the sunrise over the savannah: an unforgettable experience!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Per Magne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I booked a 7 day safari with Zara Tanzania Adventure and stayed one night in Ikoma Wildcamp. See my other reviews of this trip for Highview Hotel, Ngorongoro Wildcamp and Serengeti Wildcamp.

Ikoma Wildcamp is situated right outside of the Serengeti nationalpark. You either sleep in a tent or in a small hut (“Boma”) also currently they build new tents in the style of Ngorongoro Wildcamp. I slept in a tent and enjoyed it, during night you hear the wildebeests and hyaenas. Especially I loved the dining – the view is just amazing! Make sure you take your binoculars with you for breakfast and dinner (at least when you walk up early so there is still enough light for you to watch the surroundings). Also the dining is kind of “build with the nature” it sits on top of a Kopje and they havn't shaped the top of it, instead the dining is up on stilts which have different size to fit the kopjes shape. You maybe figured it out: the dining is just the place to be when you stay there.
As in all accommodations: the staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I would recommend the tents facing the Savannah (on the back side of the dining; coming from the reception right side)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews