We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Serengeti Wilderness Camp
Nearby Hotels
Ikoma Safari Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Acacia Camps(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$390
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
$1,181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti(Serengeti National Park)
$2,195
$2,129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lobo Wildlife Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ikoma Wildcamp(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Siringit Serengeti Camp(Serengeti National Park)
Kisura Sirengeti Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
108
26
13
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
26
13
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild frontiersbucket showerdining tenttwo nightsbush showersthermos of hot waterreading lightsclose to naturesoupssleeping tentscompliments to the chefsharing storiesbox lunchessized bedbefore dinnermess tentunder canvas
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 148 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have stayed in a number of these kinds of tented camps in Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and SA, and i must say that given the price paid and the service received, this has been our favourite.

We stayed here 3 nights, and the whole stay was delightful. The camp staff were helpful and accommodating, and made sure you were safe, but not cut-off, from the wonderful environment. The food was absolutely outstanding when you consider the whole process happens in a very small kitchen tent a good 5 min walk away. Eggs and pancakes to order for breakfast, salad and soup for lunch and a 3 course meal in the evening, one dish of which, the beef stew, i would dearly love to eat again. Lunchboxes are a more quizzical affair, with a wide range of offerings requiring inspection and identification prior to ingestion. The lounge/bar tent was really relaxing in the afternoons, and the charging station was a big help for mobile phone and camera batteries. The campfire of an evening was fun to sit by with a drink, and at night, we could hear lots of animals howling, rustling and munching right next to our tent.

The tents were clean and well-appointed, with surprisingly comfy/supportive beds and pillows. The inner tent area is completely sealable to keep out the bugs, and the rear bathroom area is mostly sealed with only a few areas where some ants might turn up for a visit, but in our experience, didn't. Using the loo is a bit of a balancing act as its so high you need to use a step, but it all worked properly so i have no complaints! showers were hot but, as always with bucket style, not exactly plentiful. Hairwashing had to wait until our next stop!

All in all, a fantastic, high quality and good value option under canvas for those that fancy a bit of a change from a lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BecR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I cannot fault this place, the service is truly outstanding and considering you are in the middle of an unspoilt wilderness, they provide amazing food mostly made on site. Even desserts and bread are made in their kitchen.

The tents are very thoughtfully designed and the bucket shower is just as good as a regular shower, except that there are zebras outside, hyenas howling in the distance and elephants wandering through the camp.

We went through some other camps during our game drives and they just didn't look as nicely done and with as minimal an impact on the landscape.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went on an 8 day safari through Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Serengeti and Ngorongoro from 18-26 June, and this was my husband and my favourite accommodation by far. We were at first not sure what to expect from a mobile tented camp, expecting the facilities to be fairly basic and simple. But we were so wrong. The tents were spacious and had the full amenities. The hot water for showering had to be brought to our tent by the staff, but they were very prompt and did it fuss-free. The food for every meal (lunch buffet and 3-course dinner) was absolutely delicious. And the staff were friendly and hospitable! And it was such an experience just living in a camp just out in the wild, knowing that animals can just walk right by our camp. Serengeti Wilderness Camp is definitely highly recommended!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank FJH_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was one of my very favorite accommodations on our 9 day safari. It was exactly what I expected when I decided to go on safari, and exactly what a stay in the Serengeti should be like. We arrived later than usual but that meant we got to see the MOST amazing full moon rise over the Serengeti. Upon arrival, we were greeted and given refreshments. We then were shown our tents (escorted by the Masai warriors) to freshen up before dinner.

Our tents were roomy and very well appointed. The beds were clean as was the bathroom. We had lights but found for reading our headlamps were better. And although we were in the middle of the Serengeti, we had flush toilets. Joy!

Our dinner was another surprise - one of the best of the entire trip. Delicious soup followed by an incredible meal and dessert. I have no idea how they cook so wonderfully in the middle of the Serengeti, but it was truly one of the best meals during our stay. We also enjoyed speaking with other travelers. We were able to charge our batteries in the beverage tent (left the overnight with NO concern for them being stolen). My mom and I had an early wake up for a balloon ride but our companions stayed enjoying the fire and talking with other folks.

We were warned to take very short showers as we would get about 10 liters of hot water per person. I thought it would be very hard but the water was very refreshing and it was no problem. I actually think we could have taken a longer shower but we didn't want to run short.

The sounds of the Serengeti as my mom and I were going to sleep is something I will never forget. The lowing of the wildebeests interspersed with the occasional lion in the distance was amazing and not at all frightening.

My only regret was that we only had one night here. I would have liked 2 or 3 nights - to enjoy the sunset or sunrise.

The staff went out of their way to be accommodating. Truly a wonderful experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallyern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The service and atmosphere of this tented camp was wonderful. The manager was always asking if everything was fine and they did lots of little touches to make it a special stay. I loved the campfire at night after dinner, sitting on the plains of the Serengeti after a lovely fairly formal dinner.

Room Tip: The tented facilities had a nice distance between them (and there weren't that many ) so it really didn't matter.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews