We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in the middle of the Serengeti”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serengeti Wilderness Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed 2 nights at this fine tented camp that is remotely located in the central Serengeti - moves periodically to take advantage of animal migrations.

The tents are quite roomy with an excellent bed and decent furnishings. Funky toilet that's fine once you learn how to operate it. Hot water provided in a pitcher for washing at the basin, added to the shower resevoir when requested.

The meals were some of the finest we've had in Africa, which is even more impressive considering how far away we were from civilization. Beers were the least expensive of the 7 places we stayed durning this trip (go figure - way out here?).

So, if you have the opportunity to stay here, by all means do so. Mind you, it's a rustic setting, but very comfortable for the type of camp it is - it's very well done.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Serengeti Wilderness Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 145 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2011

We have been camping before, but we've never been camping like this! Our tent had a queen size bed, and it was very comfortable. The indoor toilet/shower area took a little getting used to, but we got the hang of it. You have to have a little sense of adventure to truly appreciate this place, but the staff will go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The food was great - especially considering you're in the middle of the Serengeti! - and my husband had them do some laundry for him which came back clean and wrinkle-free. The tents don't have electricity, but there is a charging station in the hospitality tent, so we were able to charge up our cameras each night. We stayed two nights, and it was the most memorable place we stayed on our safari.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stayed at this camp for two nights-it wa a fantastic place. We will go back. The camp is a tented camp with showers and camp toilet in each tent. It is located on a hillside in the middle of serengeti. Ypu sleep i comfortable beds in the tent but still have all the sounds of the animals around You. Its fantastic. The staff was just fantastic. The kitchen was outstanding in their skills to make tasty food. In the evening we sat round the fireplace - telling stories and listening to the sounds of Serengeti- an experince I will never forget. We stayed in much more luxery lodges, but this was the nicest place when You consider the friendly staff and the atmosphere at the Camp. As I said before-We will stay in this camp for a longer period next time we go to Serengeti.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Serengeti Wilderness Camp was our favourite stay of all our choices on our Tanzania Safari. This was our 6th and last accommodation on our Tanzania Safari.

http://www.tanzaniawildernesscamps.com/upload/2010SerengetiWilderness_FS_NC_lr.pdf

On our drive down from Lobo we saw the hippo pool , nile crocs , male lion drinking while 6 cubs looked on and our second leopard up a tree. About to move on when we see the leopard move up the tree to a higher branch where it looks like an antelope he has caught and killed is up there. After that it was time to head on to Serengeti Wilderness Camp.

the camp is made up of 10 or 12 tents and moves location 2 to 4 times a year depending on factors such as location of the migration. when we stayed they were doing a second three month stint just to the west ( i think ) of Seronera. Serengeti Wilderness Camp is 10/12 in the middle of the Serengeti 'wilderness' centred around a dining room tent and another tent with a bar , sofas etc for relaxation. when we arrived we were given a warm greeting and a drink and towel etc. we signed in and were shown our tent. the tents were big with beds , wardrobe etc at the front and the ensuite shower and toilet at the back.

we were asked if we would like a shower and we said yes . the system is very amusing with two of the men who run the camp ( there is a team of about 6 ) fetching water buckets from which they stand outside the tent and feed the water through a funnel which ends up coming out the shower in your tent . be quick you get about 2 mins per bucket ! all an experience ! the tent was great and we unpacked got changed and headed round for dinner

each night a campfire is laid on which we gathered round and had a beer. there was only one other tent occupied the 2 nights we were there and we got chatting to them round the campfire. the great thing about serengeti wilderness camp versus everywhere else we stayed was there was no driver segregation - he was free to eat with us and that was good to see. the food at serengeti wilderness camp was the best of everywhere we stayed on safari and considering it is a make shift tent is a real credit to the cook. brilliant food.

that night slept well. elephant and hyena passed close to the tents in the night i was told. In the morning an excellent fry up - bacon pancakes fried eggs etc. Dinner the 2nd night was equally good . That night the staff killed a snake ( my driver told us in the morning) and heard hyena and buffalo at night. The next morning we were off to Zanzibar from Seronera Airstrip so it was a 7am shower ! Breakfast then we left Serengeti Wilderness Camp leaving a good tip to be shared by the staff.

Serengeti Wilderness Camp - best place we stayed on safari 5/5 .

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robertadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

This was by far the best experience we had at a lodge/camp during our 9 day 8 night safari. This camp truly allowed us to experience the wild side of Serengeti while maintaining the necessary comfort. We heard lions, saw hyenas and zebras in our camp.

Staff: The staff was amazing! Upon arrival we were provided with a glass of cold passion fruit juice and a warm wet cloth that was very handy after a long dusty ride from Lake Manyara. During two of the three nights we were there, we returned back to camp when it was pouring rain. The staff did not hesitate when we requested hot water for the shower even though they had to fill the shower bag in the dark wet night. Many thanks to Joseph and Onyezweh (sp?)!

Food: They served the best soups and tastiest meals (even compared to the expensive 5 star lodges at the rim of the Ngorongoro crater). For lunch, we ate away from the site. The lunch provided by the camp was a good change from the typical box lunches provided by other lodges. One day we had quiche, samosa, cucumber/tomato salad in addition to the fruits, chocolate, boxed drinks normally supplied in the lunches offered by other lodges. Morning pancakes were the best! Bar drinks were very reasonably priced and was actually more competitive than some of the other lodges we stayed at.

Facilities: The camp consisted of a registration/lounge tent, dining tent, campfire area in the main part of the site. Sleeping tents were nearby but far enough away so that you could not hear any noise from the lounge/dining area. The sleeping tent was in excellent condition (no leaks whatsoever in the sleeping area) and is divided into two "rooms" ... the sleeping area and the bathroom. The sleeping area was large enough to house two twin size bed pushed together to make a queen bed, night tables on each side, a wardrobe, chest and plenty of room to walk around. The bathroom was ensuite but separated by a zipper divider and had a shower, field toilet with real toilet seat and sink. Hot water was brought upon request for the shower and each refill lasted at least 5 minutes when the nozzle was turned on full blast. Hot water in a thermos and cold water in a pitcher was brought every morning for the sink. Solar powered lights were "hardwired" at the tent and large beam flashlights were provided for guest usage when walking between facilities at night. The dining tent had a charging station for phones, laptops and camera batteries. Be sure to bring outlet adapters that fit the UK 3-pronged outlets.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Breathe2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I can't speak highly enough of this experience! I had no idea this was a luxury camp (and would not have known what to expect even had I known). We were greeted after our day-long drive in the Serengeti by the wonderful staff with orange juice and warm towels, and our luggage was brought directly into our tents. The tents are canvas, new, spacious, and the beds are great! Very comfortable, with a separate section for the bathroom. The food was excellent, in fact probably better than I have eaten just about anywhere, especially considering the primitive kitchen facilities. The staff was also tremendous, delivering hot tea and coffee in the morning, and inquiring when you would want to shower so that they could warm the water. Sleeping under canvas in the middle of the Serengeti was another experience I will never forget. I had thought it would be really frightening, but it was cooler than cool to hear the hyenas, wildebeest, lions and zebras throughout the night(s). I also really liked that the camp is very eco-friendly - everything is solar powered, and they pick up and move the camp every 3-6 months so as not to cause permanent damage to the ecosystem. All in all, this was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend this for anyone looking to be a little closer to wildlife, yet not give up on any other amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fairbanks_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
73
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
23.4 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#23 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
178 reviews
40.5 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#13 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
457 reviews
13.3 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
#42 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
37 reviews
57.7 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moyoni Lodge
Moyoni Lodge
#26 of 176 in Arusha
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Wilderness Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Wilderness Camp

Address: 26 km east of Serona, Turners Springs site, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a seasonal camp and located in the heart of the Serengeti National Park, with access to arguably some of the best game viewing in Africa. The style of camp is simple but with every comfort being taken care of. Seasonal camps have the benefit of being able to move to some of the best game viewing areas of the park and every three to six months we move to a new location. Serengeti Wilderness Camp comprises just ten spacious tents. We provide comfortable beds with quality linens, en suite eco-friendly flushing toilet and bush-shower off an intimate dressing room area. Lighting is by 12-volt (solar powered) with bedside lamps provided. The tents each have a shady verandah, where guests may relax and read quietly or perhaps watch birds and animals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serengeti Wilderness Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing