We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
andBeyond Serengeti Under Canvas
Nearby Hotels
Ikoma Safari Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$206
$195
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$273
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Acacia Camps(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$390
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
$1,181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti(Serengeti National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lobo Wildlife Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ikoma Wildcamp(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Siringit Serengeti Camp(Serengeti National Park)
Kisura Sirengeti Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
190
28
9
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
28
9
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat migrationbateleur camplake manyara tree lodgebucket showerpersonal butlergame driveshot watertravel plannerseptic tankluxury campingmobile campfull baramazing animalsshare storiesclose encountercamping experiencewildebeest migration
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 229 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We wished we had stayed another night with &Beyond Under Canvas. We stayed only 2 nights there and it was our best experience on our entire safari trip. A big part of that was the excellent service we received. Msami picked us up at Kogatende airport and we enjoyed some coffee with amarula and welcome snacks before beginning the game drive. Msami was very knowledgeable and was also very good at finding animals (important!) He was very good at maneuvering the vehicle to the perfect spot for the best photo angle. The camp set-up they have is done very well. The dining tent and lounge tent are beautifully done and it was nice to have a drink and relax on the leather couches after a long game drive day. Every tent has their own private butler during their stay. James was very friendly and was always there when we needed him without being intrusive. We really enjoyed seeing his smiling face dropping off our coffee every morning. The chef was amazing! Not sure how they do it from that kitchen tent but every meal we had was delicious. They packed us amazing lunches everyday for our game drive as well. &Beyond really is the best of the lot and they deliver the entire safari experience to you on a silver platter. An unforgettable honeymoon! Can't wait to book another vacation with &Beyond!

Room Tip: Tent 10, closest to the main tent. so didn't need an escort to the main tent!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wests2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

WOW
just returned from a 15 day trip to Africa, starting at and Beyond. After 3 flights arrived at the air strip to coffee/tea soft drinks and biscuits served on a table, great start guys. 35 minutes later after our guide Godson asked if we wanted to go straight to it or return to camp to unpack, we decided to go straight to the camp to settle in and then go for an evening drive.
We were greeted by nearly all members of staff singing which was lovely its was our three teenagers first Safari. On arrival we were given cold face towels and cool drinks served to us as soon as we got out of the Land Rover, all bags including our ruck sacks were looked after so we didnt need to worry about carrying anything in the heat.
We spent 4 amazing nights here, had delicious food, clean tents, hot water and the best ever service, truly amazing. Godsen our guide has an amazing sense of humour and his knowledge is exceptional. Loved every second of this trip and so did the teenagers.
Only bummer was the flys, but these guys have lots of insect repellant at hand and in the cars so we managed to fend the little critters of.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived at Serengeti Under Canvas after 2 days in Arusha which included a day hike up Kilimanjaro. Because this was our first safari, we didn't know what to expect. Upon landing, we were met by the &Beyond staff offering a friendly greeting, refreshments, and a brief overview of our plans. 2 minutes from the airfield, our driver, an experienced guide began to point out all of the different wildlife including zebra's, crocs, wildebeest, hippos, giraffes, birds, jackals. That was with 10 minutes of landing. We couldn't believe what we were seeing.

After a short drive we were met by Ben (the manager) and his staff. They greeted us with cold freshly concocted drinks and warm washcloths to wipe our hands and face. That would soon become a ritual after all of our morning and afternoon Safaris. Ben provided a brief overview of our accommodations, introduced us to staff, and specifically our butler Daniel. Admittedly, I didn't know what to expect from a "butler". What we learned - He will set your wake-up time before Safari, he will bring coffee and tea to your tent before you even have breakfast, he will serve you lunch, dinner, help pick your wine, greet you at the end of each Safari and escort you to your tent after dinner. If the experience with the animals was great, our butler made the entire experience exceptional.

Food was excellent, always fresh ingredients for both breakfast lunch and dinner. Eggs cooked to your specification, chef always there at dinner, describing the evenings menu to each table.
After your evening safari you'll enjoy drink by the campfire before being escorted to your table for dinner.

Our last evening, while enjoying a dinner of local gourmet cuisine prepared by the chef, we could hear this fantastic African singing off in the distance. It began to get louder and louder until we realized it was the staff singing to us because it we were celebrating our 20 year wedding anniversary. They presented us a cake which we then shared with all the tables at the camp. Over the top, one of my best memories.

The Safari - The level of expertise of our guide Mohamed was unbelievable. He knew when a lion was on the hunt versus just resting, and were rewarded with watching a lioness try and take down a zebra at a watering hole. It was spectacular. We often had breakfast "in the bush" to allow for a longer safari. Breakfast "in the bush" was fresh eggs, fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea. all set on portable table with table cloth. Mohamed would serve the coffee and tea, offering sugar and milk if needed.

In summary, Ben, Daniel, Mohamed, and staff made this bucket list , anniversary celebration trip exceed anything we could have imagined.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were celebrating our anniversary travelling to Tanzania and had the most amazing experience in Serengeti under the canvas.This was our first experience in Africa and the staff in the camp made sure we were comfortable and answered all our questions and queries.Andrew our ranger received us at the airport and we were luck to see a huge herd pf elephants on our way back.We were welcomed by the entire staff at the camp.Our tent was really good.Our butler Moses was extremely careful in preparing our favorite dishes and we were plesantly suprised with the luxury and the ambience in the middle of the migration.We were the only guests in the camp the first night and were treated to the most tasteful elegant dinner under the stars with the roaring in the distance.As soon as we finished dinner we saw a whole pride of lions/lionesses in the camp about 5 meters away.It was a great welcome for us.The next few days we saw all the animals in the Serengeti.Andrews our ranger was extremely knowledgable and helped us understand that delicate balance,the ecosystem and even animal behaviour in the Serengeti during the migration.Once we returned after the safari the entire camp would treat us with excellent food.When it was time to bid farewell our butler made the most delicious anniversary/farewell cake for us which we shared with all the guests.We would highly recommend this place to everyone wishing to see the migration in the Serengeti for luxury,ambience and the game viewing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaurav_Chandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A big thumbs up to Serengeti Under Canvas. Glamping all the way. We were lucky enough to arrive on the same day as a splinter group of the wildebeest migration and had the delights of their braying outside the tent all day - very relaxing! Our ranger, Andrew, was sensational as were all the butlers that looked after our small group. The tents are comfortable, the loos flush, the bucket showers are great and the staff, the staff - well, they are just wonderful. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAASydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews