We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MUST DO !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of andBeyond Serengeti Under Canvas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Serengeti Under Canvas
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“MUST DO !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Many years ago, I swore that I would never sleep in a tent again.

But then came Serengeti Under Canvas.

A Six Star Tent ?!?!

Many people are afraid of the wild animals, the insects etc...

Suck it up - it is worth every minute !!!

Very Safe; outstanding food; stakk, etc..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DYNAMICREGGAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    27
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
119
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We visited the Serengeti at the end of September. I think I was blown away by this establishment! This is 7 star treatment in the bush! The staff we absolutely amazing! On our arrival it was us in the camp as it was towards the end to the season. There are only 8 tents in this camp and were lucky enough to be the only 2 couples for our first 3 night there! The food, prepared by Joachim, one of the three chefs are extraordinary . We took long drives everyday and the lunches that was packed for us was of the same quality. We even had a lunch prepared by the chefs in the veld one day, complete with crystal to drink our wine from. Seeing it was a wedding anniversary trip, the camp manager organized a surprise party for us, complete with a specially baked cake! Our ranger, Cisty Massay, must be the best game ranger in the world. We saw a Crossing on our first day out in the veld! This is such an unforgettable sight! I loved every minute I spent and &Beyond Under Canvas and will go back there as soon as I can!

Room Tip: Ask for a tent closer to the main tents, if you struggle to walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schempers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a safari in Tanzania, staying in 4 of the camps and lodges run by &Beyond.
We started at Serengeti under Canvas and found it a very special experience: just 8 luxury tents, with no other human beings for miles around. The migration was passing through the area while we were there and we were fortunate to see two separate crossings by herds of wildebeest across the Mara River. Our guide, Medson, was very good in bringing us to the right spots at the right time. The staff were all excellent and we were short of nothing. At night we could hear the soft grunting of the grazing wildebeest all around the camp. Truly a unique experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

First the good things. The amazing friendly service from the camp manager, our butler, the guide all made this a really memorable 3 night safari. The location in the middle of the Serengeti, miles from anywhere was also really special. We enjoyed the feeling of space, the stars and talking other guests round the campfire. The only slightly disappointing thing was that the tents were not as luxurious as I had imagined. The tents were old and mildewed and the carpets stained. Our butler did a good job in ensuring we were comfortable and we slept really well. Its just at the prices charged I expected it to be perfect. We were also disappointed that the camp was not in the right place to see the Wildebeast - they crossed early into Kenya this year apparently. Also be aware that night drives, walking safaris and balloon rides are all not possible in the Northern Serengeti. We were looking forward to all these things so were a bit disappointed. Not the hotel's fault but ours for not doing our research better!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advice55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We booked a "moving tented safari" to try and ensure we would see the migration. What a disappointment! The migration had moved through already (since read this is common for August). The camp was at leat an hours drive from the Mara river. We were surrounded by burn g, black grass and smoke - with no animals in sight. Pity the "moving tent" had not moved.
Service was great, Ivan the manager really does a great job.
Tents however looked "tired" and carpets were dirty and smelt damp.
Rather go to singita lodges which are cleaner and better maintained.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank africantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Under canvas was pretty darn amazing, given that it was a mobile and not a permanent camp. That means that the entire camp will pack up and move( not while you are with them) to another site to follow the migration of the animals. A mobile camp is not the same as a permanent camp and should be judged accordingly. You are out in the wild, and the camp is resposible for bringing in water, food, power, sewage etc. And they do an amazing job of it. You will get a HOT shower everday and there is a flushing toilet in the tent. You can safely eat all of the food, even the fruits and veggies,and you will get your clothes washed everyday. You sleep on wonderful mattress and have power and lights avialable in your tents all night. You will have every need attented to and every comfort made possible. One of the things that impressed us the most was the attention to detail. If you mentioned you were cold, the table was instantly moved closer to the fire and hot water bottles showed up in your bed without asking. I mentioned it would be fun to roast marshmallows and they got them ready for us, without us asking for it.
Our guide was also pretty incredible. Karipoi was a Maasai. It was great to learn about the animals, but also to learn about his people and his culture. He had eagle eyes and could spot things in the bush that none of us would ever see unaided. He knew where to go to see all of the animals and even though the serengeti was more spread out than the Mara we got to see tons of animals.
All in all it was a fantastic experience and I would recommend the Serengeti Under Canvas to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Do you have any idea how many stars there are in the sky when there is absolutely no ambient light whatsoever? Have you watched lions mate 40-ft away? What about lions cubs cuddling with their mother under the cool shade of a tree?

Dining: The breakfast is the meal in which they excel. This is all done outdoors. Homemade granola, fresh squeezed juice, fresh cut fruit, hot delicious coffee, and eggs to order. Dinners both nights were done next to a roaring fire after cocktails. The chef grills near your table and will honor special requests.

Accommodations: You really are sleeping under canvas but the bed is soft and comfortable. A cool breeze and the chirp of birds will lull you to sleep. Your shower water is prepared by boiling water over a fire and then loading into a container over your head at the back of the tent. You will need to provide 30 minutes advance notice so your butler can prepare this for you. There is a toilet in the tent that sits on top of a hardwood floor and my suspicion is that it is over a septic tank. It does flush but there is no running water in the tent in itself. Water is provided in big brass tanks mounted above brass sinks to wash up. Charming and romantic? You bet.

Game drives: Are outstanding and include off road capabilities. Sammi was our guide. To say this guy could track is a bit of an understatement - I lost a rather expensive jacket in the Serengeti and he found it! At this location you can go off road, so the tracking is superior. We spent a full hour watching lions mate from 30 ft away. This was a definite high point of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyandDeanHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
9.2 mi away
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
#12 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.2 mi away
Serengeti Heritage Camp
Serengeti Heritage Camp
#42 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kananga Special Tented Camp
Kananga Special Tented Camp
#30 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
8.0 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
13.3 mi away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#4 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Serengeti Under Canvas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Serengeti Under Canvas

Property: andBeyond Serengeti Under Canvas
Address: Serengeti, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Serengeti Under Canvas 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Serengeti Under Canvas is a luxurious semi-permanent tented camp that moves around the Serengeti, bringing guests within range of the massive herds of the Great Migration. This is the ultimate in luxury camping, complete with a private butler service, chandeliers, silverware, crystal, ensuite flush toilets and comfortable beds with fluffy duvets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serengeti Under Canvas Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing