We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great African lodge experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We recently stayed at Mbalageti Lodge in the Serengeti, it was beyond all our expectations, run by a dedicated and efficient couple, we were warmly welcomed and initial problems paying by credit card (technical issue) were rapidly addressed. The food, staff and surroundings were exceptional. Fantastic views on to Serengeti from the dining area. Our room was possibly the largest and most tastefully decorated of any room we have stayed in, thanks again! Would love to stay again one day. Difficult to comment on value as we paid for a 5 week safari.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 458 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

a magical experience this hotel blends perfectly with the beautiful environment and is the utmost luxury while feeling like you are in the middle of the serengeti with rustic designs and masaai to protect you from wild animals as you walk to dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeryHungrygirlfeedme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the lodge, the rooms all have stunning views, staff are excellent as is the food, highly recommended. The facility is well located within the park which makes it easy to go on game drives

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

As someone who grew-up in South Africa but living in USA for the past 15 years, is it always a pleasure going back "home" to Africa. Even though I use to go back to RSA, have we decided to go on Safari in Tanzania. What an unbelievable experience we had.

We stayed in 5 different lodges. All beautiful in their own right, but MBALAGETI... Simply something out of this world. At our first location we thought "oh no, we started on a high note, things cannot get better!!!" Boy, was I mistaken!!

After a 5 hour safari on a real rugged road we finally made it to Mbalageti. The welcome from the staff was just amazing. A fresh fruit juice with a cold damp face-cloth to get the dust off the face was an experience on its own. They gave us a short briefing about the do's and don'ts and off we went to our room.

We stayed in one of the tented chalets on sunrise side. What a beautiful unit. My better half was a little scared because it said "tented chalet". Thank goodness for me, it was only partially tented. The bathroom had an old Victorian type bath for the wife, that she thoroughly enjoyed, believe you me. And the view from our balcony was just incredible. I should mention, that everything is far apart. My word, you do get your exercise going to and from your room. Not a bad thing at all (but if you are an elderly person get a room close to either Welcome Centre or the restaurant). A welcoming cold beer or wine at the bar after your trek from your room is worth the walk!!!!

The food we had was of high standard and quality. We had best of both worlds, set-menu as well as buffet. One night they had a BBQ, WOW WOW WOW!! Made me miss my home country and the "braai's" (Afrikaans for BBQ). The view from the Restaurant was just describable. The view of the plains with the mountains in the background is a must see for any nature lover.

The staff was just unbelievably helpful and friendly. Some of them their English is not of the best, but they will get someone to help when they do not understand the question or request. It was just amazing the friendliness of the staff. And the management is somewhat new. But one will never notice that it is the case. Zeena and Stephen is two of the most friendliest people you will ever meet. They love what they do and their love for Africa is conspicuously noting. We had the most amazing visits before and after dinner with them. Two thumbs up for them. You guys are running a tight ship.

It was quite sad for us to leave that amazing paradise. We recommend it to anyone and everyone. We WILL go back, and when we do, WE WILL ONLY STAY THERE AND AT NO OTHER PLACE. Well done management and staff. You guys made us look forward to get back from our Safari's.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyBird181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

It is very difficult to describe in words how amazing this lodge in the Serengeti is. The setting is gorgeous, the chalets and rooms impeccably decorated, and the service amazing. We had a large group including children and everyone was beyond impressed. We only spent two nights and wish we had spent more. A must see if you are visiting Tanzania.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LAfoodie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights. While it was overall enjoyable, there were numerous kinks that need to be worked out. For instance, we were leaving very early on game drives, and not only was breakfast not ready the coffee was not ready. There seemed to be a lot of communication issues between management and staff. Another example, we were told by bar staff that the tip box there was shared with ALL staff only to find out later that was not true.

Our cabin was fine...nice beds, beautiful bathroom with a great tub for soaking and all the amenities EXCEPT the front porch was on a slant and the chairs were not comfortable. We enjoy sitting outside and having a drink and looking over the photos, and this made that very uncomfortable.

The ride into the lodge is horrid...30 minutes of ruts, ruts, ruts. The saving grace was the last morning on our way out we saw two of the most beautiful lions who thought we were the papratizzi (which, of course we were) and posed and posed for us.

There are under new management so I think it will get better. It's likely not as bad as I'm describing it, but it was one of my least favorite lodges.

Room Tip: Try to get the cottage with the bathtub outside (I certainly wish I had had that one.)
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CocoBeans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The rooms are partially tents with raised wooden floors and the bathrooms are fully rocked. The shower was very good, the room was clean and spacious enough. The front porch was nice in the evenings or for a quick break before setting out on the 2/3 mile hike to the main lodge or the even further hike to the restaurant.

The wifi does not reach the rooms, but honestly, it's pretty good at the welcome center and it's amazing that there is even any this far out in the Serengeti. No cell phone signals reach out here. If you are texting with a cell, you'll have to wait until you reach the end of the 45 minute long driveway to get any signal. But that's not a bad thing, really. :)

The food was very good for the most part. I wish I had known if the fresh fruits and vegetables were prepared with sterilized water. Not knowing (and I didn't think to ask), I avoided them, which was sad, because they looked excellent. It was all good, but the grilled meat we had on our last night was the best meat we had there. Delicious!

There was a family of 29 there with 16 kids so we never got a chance to get in the pool when things were quiet. The view from the pool and the deck of the restaurant was excellent, though.

Be prepared to be expected to tip your escorts before and after daylight hours. We didn't realize that would be the case and had no cash on us for the first young man who kept us safe from the after dark wildlife. No one told us how much was expected so we treated it like a tip for a porter and gave $1USD for a trip to the restaurant and $2USD for a trip to our chalet since it was soooo far out.

I might stay in a slightly more centrally located place if I went back, but I can't say anything too bad about the drive out. It was like having a game drive start as soon as you left the main grounds of the camp.

This is close enough for a day trip to Lake Victoria and I'd recommend that if you want to see a fishing village and experience some local life. A short break in game drives that is well worth it. It does cost money, though, so ask your guide how much. It may well vary depending on

Room Tip: ask for near bar
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wazo1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
42.9 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#5 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
457 reviews
27.2 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
888 reviews
35.8 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#21 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
57.3 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#10 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
313 reviews
35.6 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#18 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
150 reviews
29.2 mi away
Serengeti Simba Lodge
Serengeti Simba Lodge
#34 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd

Address: Western Corridor of the Serengeti National Park | Western Corridor of the Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park 775, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $328 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore, Relax and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing