We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great safari setting and great staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great safari setting and great staff”
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Mark (Camp Manager) and all the staff were great. The camp has very nice tents with beautiful views out the front great for watching the sun come up. Brought fresh coffee to the tent for our wake-up call. While the tents don't have running water, the camp guys will bring you hot water in the morning and afternoon on your request. The food was outstanding with lots of fresh fruit, great meat dishes & vegetables – including fresh bread in the shape of a crocodile! Plenty of beer and wine available & we had happy hour each night before dinner by the campfire. One of the girls in our party was celebrating her 50th birthday, and the chef made her a cake to celebrate the big day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilltexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    14
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
87
167
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Had 3 nights here in Feb having spent the night at the neighbouring Lemala Camp. Lemala Camp is a little bit more expensive but you get what you pay for!

On our 2nd evening there was a storm, causing the septic tank to overflow and leak into our tent. When informed, the staff were quite relaxed about the whole issue and cleaned it up using our bath towels!!

When we complained the next day, they moved us to a different tent and gave us a bottle of champagne - a nice touch.

Location was good - in the Ndutu area, with plenty of animals seen (except the elusive leopard, which we finally saw near Seronera). We even saw some wild dogs, whch is apparently quite rare.

Food was excellent, although the dining tents were kept open to insects which meant an ongoing battle with moths flying into food and drinks.

All in all, a good experience which could have been better.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muka33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We spent 2 nights at this tented camp and thought it was fantastic! What an experience to hear the animals around you at night, very cool. The tents are definitely luxurious and extremely comfortable considering you are in the middle of the Serengeti! The camp is made out of around 8 room tents, then a sitting area tent, and an eating area tent. We arrived after our game drive and had a lovely bucket shower which definitely had more than enough water to freshen up. We were able to relax in our tent before heading off to check out the fire (bush tv) before dinner on both nights. The dinners were delicious – especially the soups! We had cream of carrot on the first night, and then cream of broccoli and cheese on the second night, yum! There’s really nothing bad I can say about this camp. When we were there at the end of November, it was really quiet so we almost had the whole camp to ourselves.

The game drives in the area were great – we saw lots of wildebeest as they were arriving in the central Serengeti for the migration (very impressive!), as well as a leopard, some cheetahs, and plenty of other animals.

All the staff was extremely friendly and helpful - we’ll definitely never forget this place!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms_tripinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

If I could give Olakira 10 stars, I would. We spent 2 nights here and I wish we could've stayed longer. The hospitality of Pascal, Elly, Future, Mark and the rest of the Olakira staff was amazing. The tents are huge with hot water showers and flush toilets. Waking up with a view of the sun rising over the serengeti was incredible. Zebra and buffalo came within feet of the tents. Every meal was like eating at a five star restaurant, in terms of both food quality and service. We spent my husband's 30th birthday at Olakira and everyone went out of their way to make it a birthday that won't be forgotten. Olakira combines wilderness and luxury in a truly and unique and exceptional camp

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank needingavactionnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We spent 2 nights of our 10 day Tanzanian safari at Olakira Camp, primarily because we wanted the "tented" experience. Actually we were a bit apprehensive about it. Let's face it, two women in a canvas tent in the middle of an area filled with wild animals is a bit scary, but we wanted this experience and we were so glad we did it. In fact, we were sorry we didn't stay here longer. I was surprised that the animal noises we heard during the night were comforting not alarming. We loved the staff--Pascal, the manager and Future, our tent supervisor were incredible. Their attention to detail and level of service was unmatched during our entire stay. On one chilly evening we returned to our room to find hot water bottles in each of our beds! I can't begin to tell you what an amazing experience that was. The bed stayed warm all night long! And not to mention how delicious the food was! Our 2 dinners there were the best dinners of the trip. We also liked the cozy tent for dining which put us close enough to the other travelers to spark exceptional conversations. We became immediate friends with one couple and when we found out they were also going on the next morning's sunrise balloon ride and champagne breakfast in the bush, we were thrilled. You cannot get more "in the thick of things" than Olakira Camp - on approaching the camp, there were animals everywhere but the feeling of being well taken care of was prominent and sincere. Our clothes were laundered, our shower water was hot and our cups of hot chocolate were delivered to our tent with our early morning wake up "call." Actually something happened upon our arrival here which made our visit extra special. My friend lost her brother 4 years ago to cancer and the day we arrived was his birthday. She was thinking about him alot that day and when we arrived at Olakira camp we were met at the jeep by the warm greeting of the manager, Pascal, the same name as my friend's brother!!!! Needless to say both of us started crying as it was such an unbelievable coincidence. We knew right then we would love Olakira and we did. (I wish we had photos of Pascal and Future - if anyone has any, I would love to get a copy.) Thanks to all of them for such a great two days!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spinal111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

We had wanted to spend 2 nights at Ndutu Lodge but they were fully booked on the first night so we decided to stay at Olakira instead. This is a mobile camp & at this time it was only about 20 minutes away from Ndutu Lodge. We arrived extremely hot & very dusty & were met at our 4WD with a waiter offering warm facecloths & a cool drink. This was a nice touch, this was offered at all other places we stayed but not until you arrived at reception. The Manager came to the vehicle to meet us also & escorted us to the reception tent which doubles as a lounge. It is immediately apparent that this is an upmarket property, not only by the exquisite service but also the standard of furniture, linens etc both in the Restaurant & in the accommodation tents.

The only criticism I have of Olakira is the shower water arrangement. 3 Buckets are suspended above the tent at the rear, each supplying the basin, toilet, & shower. From memory I think the toilet water supply was around 60 litres so this is more of a small tank. With the shower you tell them when you require a shower & they fill the bucket up with warm water. My wife had time to quickly get wet & lather up her hair & the water ran out! Panic stations – I quickly arranged for another bucket which was delivered after a short wait. Then a 3rd bucket for my shower & I was able to have a leisurely shower but stayed under it just to see how long it took to run out. There is no doubt that the first bucket could not have been full, they are 20 litre standard size plastic buckets. This wasn’t a big issue but was a bit of a hassle.

The tents are very comfortable & large with a large King Size bed which was supremely comfortable. There is an abundance of electric lighting in the tents. The bathroom comprises of a vanity with single basin & all the amenities you could wish for. The shower cubicle is large & there is a dressing area in the bathroom with a canvas wardrobe as well. There are canvas windows all around the tent that can be rolled up & you could have the tent almost completely open if desired.

We relaxed with a bottle of Merlot in the sitting area at the front of the tent and watched the sunset, then joined the other guests for a complementary drink around the campfire before a delicious Dinner. The food was excellent as was the thoughtful and considerate service.

Overall, Olakira is more amazing when you consider this is a mobile camp and is sometimes only in place for 6 weeks before packing up & moving to another location. This is an absolutely mammoth task to do this. How such high quality meals could be prepared where they did was truly amazing. If you choose Olakira you will enjoy it but it is not a cheap experience neither should it be considering the logistics involved. Unfortunately during our stay here there was not a single animal to be seen anywhere nearby but that is just the luck of the draw!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

My wife and I concluded our safari with three nights at Olakira. The location is ideal. We saw all kinds of wildlife within a short drive of the camp, including lions, wildebeest, leopards, giraffes (only about 50 yards from our tent), hyena, etc.

Service was fantastic. Coffee was served to us at our tent each morning at the time we requested. Our laundry was washed for us each day while we were out on game drives. Hot water was provided each morning and for showers upon request.

Our tent was amazing, although I preferred the floor plan of the tents at the sister property Suyan Camp (see my review for more details). Olakira's tents had its own advantages, such as running water at the sink (as opposed to a bucket), and the shower worked much better. We enjoyed relaxing and having drinks in our tent's living room (front part) each night after safari while we waited for dinner.

The food was very good. The main course at dinner was buffet-style, which varied each night. One of the nights was African-themed, which turned out to be our favorite.

Definitely the best part of Olakira, at least while we were there, was the proximity to wildlife. My biggest complaint, I guess, would be the ridiculous amount of flies at the camp during the day. But the flies are probably there because of the migration, so we gladly tolerated them. Fortunately we were able to keep them out of our tent, for the most part.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longhorn_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
97.9 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
501 reviews
52.7 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
428 reviews
45.9 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#27 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
172 reviews
27.4 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#7 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
245 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#9 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the Great Migration at Olakira Migration Camp. You will feel the earth vibrate during brave winter crossings of the mighty rivers in the north, or be moved beyond measure by the mass summer calving on the south's grassy plains. Olakira follows the massive herds of wildebeest to two spectacular locations in the north and south of the Serengeti National Park. Home from December to March is the southern Serengeti, where herds of wildebeest calve simultaneously and the plains throng with new life. As the dry days of winter arrive, Olakira relocates north to the confluence of the Mara and Bolongonja rivers for spectacular game viewing at the Mara River itself and around the Lamai Wedge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing