We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Olakira”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed at Olakira for 2 nights in December of 2008. All previous reviews mention the quality of this camp, it's high service level and it's attention to detail. The tents are very nicely decorated and comfortable, the loung/library is fabulous and the dining tent is great. The food however was a bit disappointing as the two dinners were just average and not at all memorable. This may have been the case as these were on a Tuesday and Wednesday which is right before the supply truck comes. The manager and camp staff make a real effort to make this a superior and upscale experience but we compared it to others and on a value/price level it falls short as it's 50-70% more expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchtreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 332 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for two nights as part of a private safari for our 10th anniversary. It is absolutely first class in every respect.

There are only 6 tents at a campsite in the bush (the location changes seasonally). You get the feeling of having the savannah almost to yourself. It's very comfortable and intimate. If you were on honeymoon, this would be the place to stay.

The service is terrific. All the staff learn your name, so the camp has a very exclusive, friendly feel (though without being the least bit stuffy). Very relaxing and unhurried. Management clearly put a lot of thought and attention to detail into planning the whole experience.

The food is astonishingly good; the standard of a good bistro in a large city.

Our guide also liked staying here; apparently the guides are treated very well.

Not a place to bring kids--there's nothing for them to do in the camp.

The only disadvantage is that it doesn't come cheap, but if you can afford it it is absolutely money well spent.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darwin2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

This was the first "proper" safari camp of our honeymoon. I have been travelling to Africa since 1998 and stay in a wide variety of accomodation, from seriously luxurious to a sleeping bag on a kopje under the stars. Olakira is with out a doubt the best place I have ever stayed! It's not the most luxurious but it's also not exactly basic either, it is the perfect traditional safari camp. The staff are the most wonderful and obliging I have come across, there's none of that awful "bwana" type fawning you get in other camps and the guys just love chatting to the guests as friends rather than clients; that's not to say they aren't attentive but it's more like staying with long term pals.

The food is sensational, even more impressive given the kitchen tent and the rather pesky elephant which had been raiding the larder and water tower on a regular basis (nothing to worry about, all in the fun of staying in a bush camp). I am still craving the amazing onion bhajis we had with our pre dinner drinks. One point worth noting is that unlike other camps, the price you pay at Olakira includes all drinks excluding the more expensive wines, why can't other camps do this, especially when other camps are considerably more expensive?!

The game in the area is fantastic, even though we missed the massed herds of the wilderbeest migration we saw a plethora of game including every cat you care to mention, even a wild cat.

The tents are large and very comfortable and include the largest double beds I've ever seen in the bush, the showers are traditional bush showers within the tent and the toilet is a modern chemical one so it flushes (sort of)!

In short, if you're going to the Serengeti, stay here, why pay a premium for Nomads when Olakira does it with that little bit of class and authenticity, think "Out of Africa" and you're along the right lines. God I whish I was back there now!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Afrophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We stayed at Olakira as part of a seven day safari. Olakira was our first destination - and it was fabulous. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with cold flannels and a cold drink which was lovely. Our tent, one of only 8, was lovely - fairly spacious, with a comfortable bed. The toilet was chemical and very clean. The shower was a bucket shower and they brought the hot water for it at the time we requested. There was plenty of water for a reasonable shower.

Meals were served in the mess tent and the food was delicious. We shared a table with our driver/guide. We really enjoyed the pre-dinner drinks and snacks around the camp fire and swapping game drive stories with other guests.

Our game drives in the Serengeti were fantastic. On our first full day we saw 16 cheetah, including a mother with six small cubs that all came and sat under our jeep. We also saw a black african wild cat, a serval cat and an ardvaak as well as two leopards, a lot of lions, giraffes,jackals, hyena, impala and thousands of wildebeest, zebra and gazelles.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelfanaticsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank beppe955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank betalis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carool2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
52.7 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
450 reviews
97.9 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
511 reviews
27.4 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#3 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.9 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
888 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
171 reviews
62.9 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#13 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the Great Migration at Olakira Migration Camp. You will feel the earth vibrate during brave winter crossings of the mighty rivers in the north, or be moved beyond measure by the mass summer calving on the south's grassy plains. Olakira follows the massive herds of wildebeest to two spectacular locations in the north and south of the Serengeti National Park. Home from December to March is the southern Serengeti, where herds of wildebeest calve simultaneously and the plains throng with new life. As the dry days of winter arrive, Olakira relocates north to the confluence of the Mara and Bolongonja rivers for spectacular game viewing at the Mara River itself and around the Lamai Wedge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing