We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildebeest migration hotspot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This camp was recommended to us by our travel advisor at Audley, and it could not have been better. We were particularly keen to witness the migration of the wildebeest across the Mara River - and what we saw was like watching a BBC wildlife programme - just what we hoped for, and more. Truly amazing. The staff at the camp were first rate, especially our guide, Baraka. The food produced by the chefs was incredibly good. We slept soundly, even with wildebeest chomping grass right outside our tent. Our three night stay was a wonderful experience in every way.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 350 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

We spent three nights in this camp and can recommend it as top notch. The service and facilities are excellent. A fantastic location for the migration. The chef produced amazing food. Our guide Nathan was a real gem. His knowledge and demeanour were amazing. If you get the choice ask for him. He is really good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights here during our honeymoon, while it was positioned in the Northern Serengeti right opposite one of the major wildebeest migration crossing sites.
As a viewing location for the migration it couldn't get any better. The close proximity to the crossing site allows guests to quickly reach the site via car (3 min drive) and secure the best viewing spot before any cars from other camps arrive. One afternoon while in the shower my husband shouted "They're coming!" as the wildebeests which had made it across the river literally ran across the fields right in front of our tent-queue picture of me in my dressing gown!

Another afternoon, we headed out to find rhino only to be radioed that the male black rhino was hanging around Olakira camp, so we rushed back to find in standing clearly in the rain, before disappearing once more.

The tents themselves are very spacious and decorated in a vintage safari style but with all the comforts you would want e.g. king sized bed and hot shower. They each have a nice indoor and outdoor porch area which is great for relaxing after a days safari while taking in the view. If you want to be more sociable, drinks and snacks are served around a camp fire before dinner with other guests. Guests all sit together during dinner which is always a delicious 3 course meal.

The staff at this camp are very attentive and friendly, always service with a smile here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benagirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Experiencing the Serengeti with the staff of Olakira Camp was absolutely incredible! The accommodations were everything you needed set on a rise just above the Mara River, a terrific view. Our guides, Nathan and Karim, were the best! They knew the animals, where to find them, and shared much about the conservation efforts. We saw the big 5 with them and things we never would have imagined getting to see including leopards and lions mating! The food was delicious and always more than you could eat. Our last night the entire staff came to say good-bye and sang to us. They brought tears to my eyes. Friends who have been to Africa told us "Africa changes you", well the people in Olikari Camp is what changed us. They gave us an experience and friendships of a lifetime! I can't say enough about them!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My husband and I spent two nights as part of our safari honeymoon (mid Feb 2014) and loved every minute at Olikira. We booked through Planet Africa, which is affiliated with the Asilia Lodges. From the moment we arrived, from the towel service when we got out of the cars, to when we left, we were in heaven.

Olikira is intimate, the rooms/decor and service paid a lot of attention to detail. It was luxury camping for sure. The welcome champagne was a pleasant surprise. Also, the going-away gift (keychains) they gave us was pleasant token as well.

During our second night at Olikira, we had the wildebeest/zebra migration going across right next to our tent and heard the wildebeest grazing on the grass literally next to our tent. Then we heard lions roaring and come really close and two mass stampedes that night. A tad scary but really a memorable night! Maybe because we were the tent at the very end! There are only 9 tents.

Overall, highly recommend this lodge and would return if I ever went back to Tanzania!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EWang19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We are a couple from Singapore and chose to stay at Olakira just before the big rain period. We stayed there end March 2014. The camp and staff were excellent.It was end of the season, we were fortunate with the weather, which was cool, with very little rain. Game rides were pleasant due to the weather and we saw lots of wildebeest and zebras, plus lots of other games. It was the low season, we were allocated a vehicle all to ourselves. We enjoyed the game rides and our guide Nathan Meleki was excellent. We cannot praise him enough, he took us to different parts of the conservation and we had very enjoyble outdoor breakfast and lunch. Thank you Nathan. As mentioned in other reviews, food was very good especially when you consider it is a mobile camp. This is quite an endorsement, when you consider we Asians are quite particular about food. We would also like to thank Martin, the Asst Manager, an excellent host. You will always find this gentle giant waiting to welcome you back after your game rides. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would recommend staying in the Southern part of the conservation as the landscape and game viewing is better than the Northern part near the Mara river.

We would recommend other Asian couples to try this experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Couple_SIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband, one of our sons and I stayed at the Olakira Camp in December 2013 and we are still talking about the experience! We deliberately wanted to experience a camp that moves seasonally and we weren't disappointed. Hundreds more zebra and wildebeests arrived daily during our stay giving us a real sense of how the migration forms. Spectacular. The camp was great and game viewing fantastic (we got great pictures). Our guide, Reuben, was so knowledgeable and we learned so much about not only the animals, birds, geology, but the people and culture that are just as much a part of the experience of being in Tanzania. And on a special note for those with particular food issues, I am gluten and dairy free in my diet and was impressed with how the staff prepared special gluten-free bread/muffins for me and adapted every meal to my needs. It is amazing what they accomplish cooking over wood fires too! We would recommend this camp to anyone! Enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
52.7 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#6 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
526 reviews
38 mi away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#5 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
396 reviews
74 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#17 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#8 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
281 reviews
62.9 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
476 reviews
37.1 mi away
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
#11 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the Great Migration at Olakira Migration Camp. You will feel the earth vibrate during brave winter crossings of the mighty rivers in the north, or be moved beyond measure by the mass summer calving on the south's grassy plains. Olakira follows the massive herds of wildebeest to two spectacular locations in the north and south of the Serengeti National Park. Home from December to March is the southern Serengeti, where herds of wildebeest calve simultaneously and the plains throng with new life. As the dry days of winter arrive, Olakira relocates north to the confluence of the Mara and Bolongonja rivers for spectacular game viewing at the Mara River itself and around the Lamai Wedge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing