We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This camp is absolutely spectacular and has views of the Mara river it is so close! We are greeted with scented washcloths and ice tea on arrival and washcloths are presented every time we come back to camp. Our tent is #7 and is a triple with good matresses and decent pillows. There is a sitting area as well as a desk. The bathroom has a bucket shower that the staff will fill whenever you desire. There is a sink in he bathroom and flush toilet. They provide several amenities including soap, shampoo, conditioner, water for brushing teeth and drinking water, laundry soap, body wash, body lotion, cotton balls and q-tips. There are a few lamps in the tent including a couple in the bathroom, run by solar power.

Laundry is provided complimentary. There is also a 24 hr charging station.

Meals are fantastic and feature local dishes. Extremely tasty. They also provided us coffee in our room by request. Lunch can be picnic lunch so you don't need to return from safari, or you can come back to camp for lunch. Supper is at 8pm but snacks and drinks are provided around 6 or 7 pm and are around a bonfire. Breakfast consists of fruit, cereal, toast, eggs/omelettes made to order, bacon, sausage, muffins, juice, coffee/ tea but a picnic breakfast can also be arranged. They also provide wakeup calls and bring coffee, tea, and biscuits to your tent in the early morning.

The staff are amazing, very friendly and fun. Always a smile and a helpful nature. At night you are escorted around the camp though during the day you can walk around camp on your own. You can contact the staff via a Walkie talkie system.

Absolutely amazing place to stay in the northern Serengeti and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 357 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

It's been more than a year since our honeymoon in Sep 2012, but we could never forget the unforgettable experience at Olakira. It was in a perfect location right in front of the Mara River, providing excellent opportunities for watching the wildebeest migration across the River.

We were really lucky. Within a few hours upon arrival at the camp was one of the biggest and longest river crossings the staff at Olakira had ever seen. There were about a hundred thousand wildebeests in action and it lasted for 3-4 hours!

Aside from overlooking the River, the camp itself had a cosy atmosphere, excellent and friendly staff, great food, dining tent with view of the sunrise and wildebeest...ah...this is life. The tent itself was spacious n well laid-out, with showers and toilet inside the tent which was great. We woke up with a view of the sunrise. It was our favorite among other Asilia properties (Olivers, Sayari, Matemwe), with a raw feel to it as well. Don't hesitate, go!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic-Jerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My sister and I recently traveled to Tanzania and Rwanda for a 2 week Safari.
Our tour operator, Planet Africa, suggested Olakira Camp and we could not have been more
pleased. The staff is superb as are the tents just off the masa mara river. Each night we enjoyed cocktails by the fire before dinner. One night we were surprised with a sundowner in the bush before returning to camp.
Game drives were wonderful and our guide was very accommodating, knowledgeable and fun.
We where there for 3 nights and we could have easily stayed 1 more.
I highly, highly recommend this camp as well as Planet Africa for setting up a customized African Safari experience. I so want to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and i stayed 3 nights in this camp and we could have stayed 3 weeks, it was so wonderful. The service provided by all staff is better than i have experienced in many very up market hotels in popular cities around the world. The tents and very well laid out, very clean and fitted with little extra niceties.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy53Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

All the Asililia camps were outstanding, and Olakira was no exception. Some of the best food on our safari was here. Gorgeous omelette made on an open fire, every day. Fresh fruit, yogurt, and muesli. Watching the sunrise from the breakfast table, over the Mara river was a treat! A perfect location.

The staff could not have been friendlier or more fun. They remembered our names and teased us, but were also professionals.

The bucket shower appointments worked out well. Hyenas and baboons outside our tents at night were exciting. Lions were about but we couldn't hear them.

The attraction here in the northern Serengeti was the wildebeests migration crossing the river. They don't necessarily cross on human's schedules, so patience, a lot of it, is necessary. This time of the year is the end of the crossings, but we were treated to a grand demonstration. What excitement, seeing thousands of these animals finally make the plunge, after the herd going back and forth for hours!
Also, not to be missed, is a drive up the Mara, to appreciate the wild scenery, vultures, storks and assorted other animals.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tenabetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We made our first family trip to Africa in mid-October, and spent three nights at Olakira Lamai (Olakira Camp's smaller sister camp) in Northern Serengeti. I can’t say enough good things about this camp, their staff, and its location. From the moment we stepped off the plane and were greeted by our guide, Reuben, we were made to feel welcome, and most importantly, comfortable and safe. When we arrived at camp, Richard, the manager, really made us feel at home. Our three boys, aged 11, 13 and 15, shared a tent, and my husband and I had the tent next to it. It was incredible to have such comfortable accommodations in such a remote place—flush toilet, hot bucket shower, an actual bed, and a lounge area. But it was the little extras that really made Olakira Lamai special. It was slightly chilly at night, and it was a really nice surprise to have hot water bottles in our beds as part of the turn-down service when we returned from dinner.
The food at Olakira Lamai was beyond good. Chef Anthony prepared each meal with expertise, and it felt like we were eating in a five-star restaurant. Whether we took a boxed breakfast or lunch out on safari, or had these meals at camp, we were always very impressed. And there was no shortage of food! We ate so much that we barely had a chance to get hungry again before the next meal.
Each evening before dinner we were entertained with “Bush TV”, Richard’s humourous term for the campfire where we, the other guests, and our guides would visit after a day of safari. John and Emmanuel would serve us drinks and appetizers, which were always delicious. Unbelievably, Anthony made homemade potato chips (crisps) for us to enjoy one night!
We could not have asked for a better guide than Reuben, a young man whose life experiences and education make him extremely knowledgable and acutely observant of all there is to see in the Serengeti. Reuben asked us what we were interested in seeing, and then went above and beyond the call of duty to find the rarely-seen rhino, or the elusive cheetah.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Olakira Lamai, and hope we have an opportunity to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

EVERYTHING was great. Our "tent" was spacious, clean and comfortable. We loved the fact that this camp is one that moves twice a year, and therefore the tents are fully canvassed, right down to the floor. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Two bonuses were the hot water bottles that were placed at the foot of the bed in the evening, and the warm beverages and cookies that were delivered to the tent before our early morning game drives. The location was perfect. From the camp, we could see the wildebeests and zebras massing for a crossing. We were fortunate to be a part of a celebration; the staff came to the dining tent bearing a cake and playing instruments, and proceeded to circle the diners with singing and dancing, engaging all the guests to join in; what fun! At night, one could hear animals in the distance, adding to the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
52.7 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#6 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
528 reviews
27.4 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#9 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
291 reviews
74 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#16 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38 mi away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#4 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
411 reviews
62.9 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
480 reviews
45.9 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the Great Migration at Olakira Migration Camp. You will feel the earth vibrate during brave winter crossings of the mighty rivers in the north, or be moved beyond measure by the mass summer calving on the south's grassy plains. Olakira follows the massive herds of wildebeest to two spectacular locations in the north and south of the Serengeti National Park. Home from December to March is the southern Serengeti, where herds of wildebeest calve simultaneously and the plains throng with new life. As the dry days of winter arrive, Olakira relocates north to the confluence of the Mara and Bolongonja rivers for spectacular game viewing at the Mara River itself and around the Lamai Wedge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing