We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic property & staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

When I was planning our trip I originally wanted to stay in another Asilia property, Sayari camp. It would have required a significant budget increase so we opted to try Olakira instead. In the end, it was in no way a sacrifice to be there instead. The staff were wonderful, friendly, and helpful. The tents are incredibly well-appointed, and I still can't get over having flushing toilets in the middle of the bush. They care about details like putting a hot water bottle under the sheets at night to help warm up the bed on the cold Serengeti nights (we were there in early November 2012--I am very late in writing up my reviews!). The bathrooms were very clean and spacious.

We really enjoyed the communal dining experience here as well. Up to this point we'd primarily had private dining tables at each of our lodges and camps which can be nice for bonding with your spouse but doesn't lend itself to chatting with other travelers. We were glad to meet new people and here about their safari and other travel experiences. We were also with a fun group who improvised some costumes out of the bathrobes at the camp and other supplies as we were all there over Halloween :) The fire pit is also a great place to gather around for drinks and stories.

Again, the staff here really care about giving you a great experience. Our driver guides were great and the management and staff members are friendly and do a great job (they provide bios on everyone in a binder in your tent--I really liked that and enjoyed reading about everyone's background). On one of our last days there, there were only six of us staying at the camp that night and instead of lunch under the tent as normal that day, they set up a table out in the bush just a little ways out from the camp site to give us a more special experience.

On a practical note, there are chargers in the main area for you to power up your batteries. The safari vehicles they use here are even more open than the ones we'd used in Tarangire, Ngorongoro, and the Central Serengeti up to this point--no sides!

Stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnonymousVBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 345 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our family of four recently returned from an outstanding stay at the Olakira Camp by the Mara River. Our guide, Baraka, was extremely knowledgeable and would start out each day asking us what we would especially like to see that day. When we wanted to see lions and cubs, he instinctively knew where to find them, and we watched in awe as they slowly woke up from their afternoon naps, gathered together the cubs playing with each other, and marched off into the grasses to hunt. When we wanted to see a leopard, he knew the rock formations to search and we were rewarded again, watching a large leopard hunting and then quickly disappearing into the rocks and grasses. A rhino and its baby following close behind another amazing find with the beautiful sun setting behind them. This trip was so much more than I could have ever imagined and Olakira went out of their way to make it especially memorable for my daughters' birthday. They set the communal dinner table out under the stars with lanterns and the entire staff came out dancing and singing an African birthday song, circling the entire table and presenting the girls with a large vanilla and raspberry birthday cake which was out of this world. Everyone at camp took place in the celebration! Thank you, Olakira and Baraka for truly making this our trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tahitipoly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We are just back from our honeymoon in the savannah of East Africa. We spend 3 nights at Olakira and we loved it! Luxury in the wild - no fance, nothing... all open and 'bush tv!' (they put a fire outside at night, that is lovely! Being literately in the bush is an amazing experience that everyone should have. I have to confess I got scared sometimes at night, because yes, you can hear the animals around. But if you have an adventurous spirit this is an experience you will love!

The team at Olakira was amazing, so friendly and helpful. The food specially was amazing, i am sure me and my husband got some extra pounds hehe. They also had a very romantic dinner in our last night!!

Love it! We totally recommend Olakira!! A true mobile camp in the middle of the wild :) It cant get better than that!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Everything was fantastic here - service, guides, food, accomidations - perfect! Its very close to the river crossing so to easily get there if animals were on the move in the afternoon.

Stayed here for two days after staying at the Sayari camp for two as well as we couldn't decide where to stay. Both were wonderful luxuries in the bush, but have totally different feels. This had a Hemingway-esque vibe, with vitage details in the accomidations (steamer trunks, fold up cots, bucket shower).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen10280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's not easy to pull off under-stated luxury in the middle of the wild, but Olakira does it. From the welcoming and attentive (but not pushy) service, to the incredible (but simple) food and setting (shared table), to the luxurious and comfortable "tents", Olakira puts you simultaneously at one with nature and equally as pampered.

Wake up to warm coffee and biscuits delivered to your "door" and hurry out on a drive to see the best of Tanzania's national parks. There are a lot of camps to choose from, but if I can, I'll be back to this one.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Stunning location in the middle of the Serengeti and next to a river with plenty of hippos. Tents are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. Staff is attentive and friendly. Guides are skilled and passionate about their job. You are provided with walkie talkie should you need to contact the staff once in your tent, which we found very useful. Would definitely return/recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hic_sunt_leones_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

What a fabulous experience we travelled in July 2011

Not just the wildlife - we were so fortunate to witness an incredible 15-30,000 wildebeest gather on the river bank and start to cross the Mara on our last morning but also the fabulous staff, ambience, service and great food and friendship. Thank you Pascal and all your team. Will definitely return again. Geoff Harding

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff_Harding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
52.7 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#7 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
496 reviews
97.9 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
531 reviews
27.4 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#8 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.9 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
465 reviews
38.0 mi away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#2 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
373 reviews
27.3 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#26 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the Great Migration at Olakira Migration Camp. You will feel the earth vibrate during brave winter crossings of the mighty rivers in the north, or be moved beyond measure by the mass summer calving on the south's grassy plains. Olakira follows the massive herds of wildebeest to two spectacular locations in the north and south of the Serengeti National Park. Home from December to March is the southern Serengeti, where herds of wildebeest calve simultaneously and the plains throng with new life. As the dry days of winter arrive, Olakira relocates north to the confluence of the Mara and Bolongonja rivers for spectacular game viewing at the Mara River itself and around the Lamai Wedge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing