We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our Safari”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Safari”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Olakira camp in the northern Serengeti through the recommendation of our safari guide www.idreamofafrica.com. The location is extremely remote with very few people around when we went in early July - hoping to catch the Wildebeest crossing. The camp location was near the river with stunning views of the surrounding area. This remote area of the Serengeti was wonderful for viewing wildlife without all the crowds you find in the central Serengeti. Our superb guide was able to spot an endangered white rhino. The tents have all the comforts of a luxury hotel with screened windows so you can hear the sounds of animals. One night we heard a lion roaring. The BEST meals on our entire safari were found here at Olakira. Dinner is an exciting event. Before dinner we sat by the fire and enjoyed some drinks. We then had a multi-course meal over the course of a couple hours. Even our boxed lunches with bacon wrapped figs and other delights that we took out on our safaris were great. All of the amenities found at the Olakira could not be possible if it were not for the AMAZING staff who made sure we were always comfortable. Including on a chilly night we had hot water bottles warming our bed. Coffee and biscuits brought to our tent each morning. The staff works as a team to make sure every detail is covered. There really is not a single flaw I can find.... the experience was close to perfection. I only wish we could of stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    14
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
87
166
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having left th Ngorongoro crater we headed by road up to the Serengeti to stay at Olakira, we travelled in March so that the camp was based in the south, as this camp is a semi mobile type.
We received a warm reception from Pascal & Obbie, there care and attention to every guest is amasing.
We ate wonderfully with the rest of our 'camp family' the chefs doing a sterling job.
The tents are spacious, but showing some elements of wear & tear, however they are extremly comfortable and always plenty of hot water for showers (bucket type)
The location was great we saw plenty of wildlife, we did a balloon safari however the wind direction was not in our favour and sadly took us away from the migration.
definatly a great safari experience

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nette08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 week African adventure and one of the highlights was the Olakira Camp in the Serengeti, on the Mara River. Truly wonderful. Great tent "suites", location, staff , food and guides. We saw two wildebeest crossings - such huge experiences and expertly explained by our guide Francis, We saw dozens and dozens of mammals, including elusive lions and cheetahs. Our drives were planned around our wish list and schedule - camp is so comfortable we wished we had more time there - but hated to miss a moment out in the bush. thank you Pascal and Edwin, Francis and the rest of the team - it was Magic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was fortunate enough to spend three night here in June of this year. The tents and camp structures are exceptionally nice, the food was great, but what made this the most memorable was the camp staff. Beginning with Pascal, the camp manager, every staff member went out of their way to make sure all of us in our group was comfortable and had all we needed. Many of them learned our names . We had musicians in our group, so they entertained the staff one evening and the staff eagerly returned the favor. We all went to bed with happy hearts and music ringing in our ears. Waking in the morning to sound of the river and animal calls is a priceless experience.
You will not be disappointed with this camp.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsNana2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My daughter and I have just spent 3 nights at Olakira, which were memorable thanks to the wonderful staff. Pascal is the warm, kind camp manager and makes everyone feel welcome and at home with his "family".
Accommodation is extremely comfortable and every effort is made to ensure the guests have all they could want. Food is delicious.
Our guide Kivuyo was a bright, considerate and caring person who enabled us to have a lot of fun while enjoying the safari experience.
We could recommend this camp to anyone who wants the ultimate in camping with caring and efficient staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We began our Tanzanian safari with 4 nights at Olakira in the Northern Serengeti. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome. The tents are absolutely amazing considering that this is a mobile camp- spacious, very comfortable bed and separate bathroom area with flushing toilet and shower. The bucket shower was more than sufficient for 2 of us to shower adequately. Hot water is brought to your tent within minutes of requesting it. Food was delicious and service impeccable.
Of course the wildlife didn’t disappoint. We saw all the expected animals including lions and cheetah. We were simply blown away by the spectacular wildebeest crossings across the Mara River- an event not to be missed. We were lucky enough to see this spectacle on more than one occasion. One of the crossings lasted more than 4 hours! The Northern Serengeti has a varied terrain with savannah-like open plains, rocky terrain, woodland areas, as well as the Mara River. This makes it a great place to see a variety of animals. Being there during the migration was a highlight. The sheer number of animals was unbelievable.
A special mention must go to the manager Pascal who ran a very efficient camp. His warmth and hospitality truly made us feel part of the Olakira family.
Memories to cherish forever...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoneySmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Olakira did not disappoint. Its even got it's own Mara River crossing point - The Junction. We were very close to the action for spectacular crossings by armies of wildebeest. It was breathtaking to see thousands and thousands of animals tumbling, trampling and wading through the fast flowing water to reach survival on the opposite bank of the river, whilst the crocs waited for the injured, exhausted or astray. Francis was a highly capable guide. He manoeuvred us into the thick of the action, spotted black rhino at great distance and seemed to conjure up the most beautiful cheetah out of nowhere. Well done! At camp everything worked. Hot water was fetched when asked for, the food was very good given our remoteness and the hospitality and conviviality at drinks and dinner was memorable. If you ever come to Africa you must come to the northern Serengeti to see this emotional spectacle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingtutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
97.9 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
500 reviews
52.7 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
424 reviews
45.9 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
170 reviews
27.4 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#3 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
245 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#9 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the Great Migration at Olakira Migration Camp. You will feel the earth vibrate during brave winter crossings of the mighty rivers in the north, or be moved beyond measure by the mass summer calving on the south's grassy plains. Olakira follows the massive herds of wildebeest to two spectacular locations in the north and south of the Serengeti National Park. Home from December to March is the southern Serengeti, where herds of wildebeest calve simultaneously and the plains throng with new life. As the dry days of winter arrive, Olakira relocates north to the confluence of the Mara and Bolongonja rivers for spectacular game viewing at the Mara River itself and around the Lamai Wedge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing