We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa
Nearby Hotels
Ikoma Safari Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$206
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$273
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Acacia Camps(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$390
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti(Serengeti National Park)
$1,441
$1,397
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lobo Wildlife Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
Ikoma Wildcamp(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Siringit Serengeti Camp(Serengeti National Park)
Kisura Sirengeti Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
bedfinder
View Deal
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
335
16
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
16
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmara riverchef johnother guestsnorthern serengetigame driveswildebeest migrationbucket showerhot waterwish listblack rhinolong tableour honeymoonsafari storiesbottle of champagnewonderful experiencea king size bedspent nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 360 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We recently stayed 3 nights at olikira camp. The location, the serengeti, the wildebeast crossing of the mara river, ....all amazing. however what made the trip really special is the place where we stayed. Location, alongside the mara river, is ideal, but what makes is exceptional is the staff both at the camp and the guides.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siac1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at Olakira Camp from 4th September 2011 for 3 nights. This was the third camp/lodge of the five we stayed at on our 21 night (belated) honeymoon in Africa. The Serengeti has a diverse landscape; some grassy plains, hills, trees and large clusters of boulders. There was plenty of bird, mammal and reptile wildlife and good great variety too. We thought the location, accommodation and services provided were excellent. Obbie does a fantastic job managing Olakira camp and making you feel at home. This is of course along with all the staff. Obbie confirmed I am vegetarian and was sure I was catered for very nicely!
We were given a thorough briefing about the camp and our room. The camp is eco-friendly by using solar energy and removing all waste after the season has finished. The camp uses filtered water in BPA-free stainless steel bottles, to minimise waste.

The communal areas were very beautiful and cosy. There was a fire pit out the front of the tents and this was a great meeting point before dinner. We stayed in the furthest tent away from the lounge and the dining tents, in tent 8 (our choice as we were given a choice). Tents 1-5 had nice views across the Mara River. I thought the tents décor was functional, clean and stunningly beautiful. The camp provided bucket showers and a flushing toilet. We had trouble with the toilet flushing but this was fixed while we were on a game drive. In the tent tissues, soap, body lotion, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, insect repellent spray,washing powder, cotton tips, cotton wool balls, umbrella, dressing gowns, gumboots (and we used them), a torch, a horn, a safe, a fire extinguisher bottled water and a walkie talkie were provided. I do not recommend drinking and walking talking. Ha ha ha! The camp will wash your clothes free of charge, which is a bit of a luxury!

I have forgotten the name of our guide (sorry). He occasionally used the radio to communicate with the other vehicles and let them know if we found one of the big 5, which we saw on each of two days. He was great at spotting game, good at sharing information on the animal, thoughtful with getting us into a good position for photos and respectful of the animals by not getting too close. We arranged with him directly what time we wanted to do the game drives which were 4-6.30pm, 6.30-12pm (with a picnic breakfast) and 4-6.30pm one day, a full day with a packed lunch, from 7.30-6pm! It was exceptional service to have a hot/cold towel handed to you on every arrival at camp and a hot shower filled up and waiting for you in your tent.

The vehicle was brand new and custom made. The most comfortable ride! It was open-sided with see-through plastic roll-down and zip-up panels. The vehicle had 6 seats, three rows of two seats. It was nice to find rain-proof ponchos and blankets were provided in chests in between the seats. A variety of soft drinks (and beer in the afternoons) and nuts were provided on the game drives.

At wake up time we were served biscuits with a hot drink. Breakfast was a buffet with cereals, fruit, yoghurt and then eggs to order with bacon and sausages with toast. We were seated at our own individual table. We had a picnic breakfast with pre-made egg, cheese and mayonnaise sandwiches, muffins, cereals, granola bars and fruit. Lunch was served after 1pm. Lunch was served at communal tables. Lunch was buffet style, with so much variety and also so much quantity. E.g. dips, fish balls, chapatti, unusual and delicious salads, truffles (really). We had a packed lunch one day which was average by comparison. A small appetiser was served in front of the fire before dinner. Dinner was served at 8pm where we sat at one communal table. Dinner was a 3 course meal with western style food, with the exception of the BBQ night. The food looked beautiful and tasted amazing. We were served leek and caper and cranberry salad, Yorkshire pies, duck salad, pastas, date slice and more.
Obbie knew it was our honeymoon and organised for us to have champagne in our tent. He also organised for us to have a private table in front of the fire. He really went out of his way to make sure we were happy and to create the mood for romance and love. AWWW.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ClaireBare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We cannot say enough good things about this campsite. The tents are on the ground, and you can get a true Africa experience here. The site is right next to the Mara river, so game drives were fantastic. The tents are huge and include a sitting area, chairs, cocktail table, cot and a bedroom area with a large bathroom and closet area. The bed in the tent was the MOST comfortable bed I have ever slept in - nice and firm and very comfortable. The Olakira Team was AMAZING. Everyone was extremely friendly and accommodating without being overbearing. The food was OUTSTANDING, definitely comparable to any four star restaurant in the States. We never, ever went hungry. Beer and wine were also included at this campsite, so that was a plus for us. Pascal and the Olakira team were wonderful and made this one of our favorite places in Tanzania.
Tom and LuLu, New York

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucretia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

What a great experience! We stayed at Olakira September 20-23, our favorite of the three Asilia camps that we visited. We liked the warm welcome and easy ambiance that Pascal and his excellent staff maintain at Olakira. We also felt that our private guide was most welcomed there. We were lucky to see the height of the wildebeest migration - hundreds of thousands of animals - and four crossings of the Mara River. The food was the best of our trip, the tents are lovely, with very comfortable beds and exceptional bathrooms for a mobile tent camp, with plenty of hot water provided for the bucket shower. There were hippos, wildebeest, hyena, and cape buffalo right outside our tent each night. We'd go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank needtotravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We spent two nights in the Camp in September, when it was located in Northern Serengeti. The location near Mara River was great (we saw a big crossing of wildebeest on the first day), the tents are well equipped (furniture/eqipment/tent was a little worn out, no problem today, however, might need a minor re-investment soon). Food was excellent. But: This is something, you can find in many camps. What really makes a difference is the camp-crew. Pascal and team do a wonderful job. It is not easy to say in detail, what they do, it is 1000 little things, but the result is outstanding. We stayed in a lot of nice places with great staff, but Pascal and team could be good trainers to them!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews