We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ikoma Safari Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$206
$195
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$273
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Acacia Camps(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$386
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti(Serengeti National Park)
$1,441
$1,384
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ikoma Wildcamp(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Siringit Serengeti Camp(Serengeti National Park)
Kisura Sirengeti Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
bedfinder
View Deal
Kisura Serengeti Mobile Camp(Serengeti National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
84
97
60
33
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
97
60
33
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern serengetirocky outcroprock hyraxesstayed one nighthotel groundsbaboonslodgewildlifesafarimiddleelectricityseroneradrivegamehuntingleopardcamera
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 293 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Lobo Wildlife Lodge in Serengeti National Park, is a place to be if you are in Northern Part of Serengeti, set up in a location surrounded by some good looking huge stones. This Lodge offers brilliant view of the Serengeti Plains from its Open Bar / Swimming Pool.

Lodge outplays in all the matters, weather it is service, accommodation, comfort, cleanliness and food. Everything you ask for and it is there. Great Staff and ambiance. Flawless service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location in the middle of nowhere and with fabulous views. Slightly strange smell about the place which, apparently, is caused by all the rock hyrax. Motel-like rooms. It's big and lacking in the human touch - everyone was perfectly nice but there is no soul. One notable exception is Chef Doughnut who strode around in his chef hat and amused us all with his enthusiasm for Arsenal (and his enthusiasm for the food he was producing, which was not too bad).
The whole area for miles and miles around had recently been burned back when we stayed there and I don't know if that's why there were fewer animals here than in central Serengeti. We did successfully drive up to the Mara River from Lobo to watch gnu crossing the river with hungry crocs sliding around in the water or crashed out on sand banks. A real problem with tsetse flies on early morning and late afternoon drives - be warned.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squashballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We took a family party of seven (four rooms) to Lobo in January 2013. We had read many reviews which had given a mixed impression before our first visit. We go on safari for the wildlife and country, not for pampering luxury. But we were very pleasantly surprised by both the Lobo area and the Lodge.

There is great 'resident game' (ie not migratory) around the beautiful, hilly country around the Lodge, which has a stunning location with excellent views. Despite the rains being late, we saw leopard as we arrived and a multitude of different species during our local game drives. We especially liked seeing so many cheetah (and lion) to the South of the Lodge.

The staff were friendly and efficient and we enjoyed the food which is good but not gastronomic. We planned our game drives to have lunch and a shart midday rest at the Lodge. The public areas were spacious and fun and we had no difficulty with the rooms; they are a little 'motel like' but clean, functional and many with pleasant views over the plains below the hill. We were not bothered by biting insects around the Lodge.

We are in the process of booking to go there again early in 2014.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dewar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This lodge is in a great location and you can sit by the pool, have a beer and watch Hartebeest, Buffalo and Elephants all day long. In the actual hotel the baboons can walk down the hallways and there are Hyrax, Agama Lizards,. Cranes, and Vervet Monkeys all over the property. As others have mentioned it is an older lodge and has been taken over by the government so service is a little lacking. They have a foreign exchange desk but can't change anything over $50. Beer prices are fairly high and foreign exchange rates are pretty awful. They also said they had no internet but we could use their computer at the front desk but when we showed up they said we couldn't use it because there is no internet or e-mail working here.

Location is great and you can't find anything in this area for the price. The kitchen is very well run and food and kitchen service were excellent. Everywhere else there seems to be a lot of staff but not much going on.

Overall I would stay here again understanding not to expect much for service. The property is in an incredible location and you can see wildlife all around the site. The floors in the rooms are getting pretty old and it wouldn't take much to break through. There was a door connecting two rooms and we could here everything in the other room. Saw lots of tree hyrax and monkeys right outside the window. If you don;'t lock the windows the baboons can get in so be careful. Also the baboons have been known to snatch the box lunches out of people's hands so keep away from them.

If you come to Lobo the Tse Tse Flies are really bad up here, almost unbearable but there are none at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent two nights at this lodge and enjoyed the location very much. The common areas of the hotel were beautifully designed, if a little dated. Our room was also rather dated, but clean. We found the food at the buffet very good, but like others we encountered problems with our lunch boxes (swarming with ants - according to our guide it was a widespread problem that day). The plumbing in the bathroom was ancient and in the middle of our first night a pipe burst, flooding our bathroom. Management was extremely unhelpful in this situation. The location of the lodge is wonderful, but the owners need to spend some money on updating the place. We would not return.

We have also noted a number of recent very positive reviews of this lodge which all contain very similar wording. Proceed with caution.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jntgl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard J, Public Relations Manager at Lobo Wildlife Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. The management honestly values your review. We appreciate and derive encouragement from your positive remarks especially to do with the main areas and the buffet.
Sincerely sorry for the mishaps that occured with the pipe during your stay and the subsequent response from the lodge management. Rest assured this will be probed futher and right measures will be undertaken.
You will indeed attest to these changes (including the lunch boxes) if you rescinded your decision and re visited Lobo wildlife lodge. Most welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews