We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“website info misleading”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“website info misleading”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed at Lobo Wildlife Lodge for two nights on a recent safari (July 2012) and found it was not at all what they advertise on the website. Apparently it is under new ownership and the service and accommodations have declined in recent years. The rooms were very small and not well maintained-the mirror was so spotted, it was hard to see in it. The information on their website is incorrect. They do not have a library or an Internet cafe or a gift shop or an adapter or even a hair dryer to use! There was no hot water until 7pm which made it difficult to clean up and get to dinner early when you had been out all day and needed to get up early again in the morning. The food and service did not compare to the other locations. They also did not treat the guides very well, one night refusing to provide them with showers and another making them wait until 9 pm. Our guide drove many long days over dusty, bumpy roads to take us everywhere and I wish he had been treated with more respect. I would recommend spending 2-3 nights at the Serengeti Sopa Lodge (which was excellent!) and doing day trips to the Northern Serengeti if that is on your itinerary.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    94
    56
    30
    17
See reviews for
51
105
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Absolutely beautiful location at the Northern end of the Serengeti National Park. This hotel is partially carved into an enormous rock formation bursting out of the ground. You get spectaular views of animals migrating as you sit by the pool and have a drink while the sun go down. It is in the National Park so you can only access with your guide so I think you may need to arrange it through a tour company, but its isolation is part of its magic. You get the pleasure of sharing the relaxation area with monkeys, who know to keep their distance. The staff are very helpful and friendly. There is 24hr security patrolling to grounds and the facilities are more than adequate. I would definitely stay here again if I ever find myself back in the Serengeti.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank internetbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

loved the setting/location and view over the landscape. very nice rooms and lodge, wish I could have stayed longer

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarinfromMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra -
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were there last month. I had stayed there 40 years ago and was very keen to go back as part of our Serengeti Safari. The Lodge was still wonderful - however it left a disappointed note for me when I realised that the receptionist had over charged me by about $30us for our drinks bill. It was the only place that did not add up all the chits in front of me & then do the calculation in front of me as well!! It was a sham as otherwis it is still a spectacular setting - however not as many animals as in the central Serengeti as it is adjacent to a "hunting block" and so the animals are more "wary" or just more scarce. I cannot believe that Tanzania still has legal hunting of what is their greatest resource!!!

Room Tip: You need to run the water for a very, very long time for it to get hot after it is turned on at 6pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenBCanberra_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

A lot of game to see and photograph here. No real complaints on the lodge.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The lodge is spectacular in architecture, location and views. However, it seems outdated, poorly managed and despite its aspiration to luxury, our stay was rather uncomfortable.

The rooms are tiny, hot and stuffy. No mosquito nets. After repeated enquiries an annoyed employee was finally motivated to spray the room with a bug killer, which was really just a nice intention, considering the gap under the door to the outside and the holes in the mosquito net at the window. We ended up somehow suspending our emergency mosquito net in an precarious setup. As we were the only guests there at the time, we were served the food directly, (and it was rather nice) and so cannot comment on the buffet.

Just like the twin Seronera Wildlife Lodge, no warm water other then for a few hours in the evening and morning (even then it was just a touch warmer then what came out of the cold tap). There was something spooky about the place, probably mostly because we were the only guests there and felt stared at from every corner. Lights were still on outside at about 9 AM, but they switch all power off at night - appalling management.

As a plus, I found it very nice that one of the employees noticed how sick I was and suggested to call the resident nurse (I did not expect something like that out there in the wilderness), who turned up soon at our door, and after listening to my complaints produced a bottle of green stuff, free of charge, that really helped with my cough. Thanks for that.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelCat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed 1 night at this lodge during our safari. The views are fantastic, we were able to see a great sunset. We enjoyed resting at the pool deck and watching the animals. The room was clean, a bit hot at night. The food was average but the drinks were good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olistina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bu...
#2 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
23.5 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#3 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
41.5 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#15 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
64.1 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#12 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
11.5 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#14 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
20.6 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#25 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobo Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Property: Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Address: Northern Serengeti, Serengeti National Park 2633, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lobo Wildlife Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lobo Wildlife Lodge is a dream of romanticism in its remote location, strategically hidden inside an enormous volcanic rocky outcrop. It is the biggest Lodge on the migration route. You can watch and witness the migration by lying in the pool. Artistically made of wood and glass elements around clusters of large boulders, harmoniously merging with its surroundings, the Lodge affords from its raised location stunning views of the most amazing natural spectacle to be seen on Earth.Lobo is ideally set in the migratory route of over two and a half million of wildebeest in their desperate struggle for survival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Lobo Wildlife Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lobo Wildlife Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing