We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of paradise”
Review of Babylon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Babylon Lodge
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A piece of paradise”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

All services are excellent and the staff is great. They waited for us twice at the airport (second time at 3am) as our flight was rescheduled. The rates are cheap, and the rooms are clean. The architecture is very original based on bio-shapes. They also arranged a day hike to Mandhara hut. If you head to Marangu then this is the place to stay! We were sorry our schedule didn't allow us to stay longer.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank octavigeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    26
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
23
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend during a 6 week stay in the region. Right from the beginning the service at the hotel was amazing! Bobby bent over backwards to make us feel welcome.
They helped organise someone to show us the waterfalls around Marangu. They also arranged a day hike for us to Mandhara hut. Our guide Ian was amazing and Bobby drove us to the gate and picked us up at the end.
If you head to Marangu then Babylon Lodge is a little piece of heaven that is a the place to stay!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Highlnddncr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

An amazing experience and honeysweet stay at the Lodge. This time it was my second period and I stayed for a full week at Babylon Lodge. All services were excellent and the staff was fantastic.I even enjoyed playing a game of darts with staff. There is no other place like home and babylon rocks.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Babylon is a hidden treasure. My colleagues and I arrived at 1:00 a.m. but the whole staff stayed up to welcome us, and prepared a terrific full course dinner. The staff is very friendly and super helpful. The rates are cheap, and the rooms are extremely clean. The compound is green and well maintained. You get to have your breakfast under the morning sun!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zinash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Bobby and his team provided gold standard service. From the very beginning they were friendly, professional and willing to go that extra mile. Rooms were comfortable and clean with proper mosquito nets. There is wifi and a computer room. Meals are available. Resident's rate available. Very good value for money.

The hotel will organise trips for you and we can highly recommend the day trip to Mandara Hut, Kili. It is excellent value and the hotel organise everything, including a very substantial lunch. Our guide, Ian, was great and we really enjoyed walking with him.

If you make this trip I encourage you to explore wider Marangu and definitely visit the waterfalls.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loomoomahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was by far one of the best hotels I stayed at while in Tanzania! Arriving at the hotel, after a long day of travel was like walking into what felt, looked, and was a paradise right at the base of Mt. Kilomanjaro-the highest (and most beautiful) mountain in Africa! In addition to the breathtaking scenery and beautiful maintenance of the facility, the staff were exceptional. In the mornings, staff greeted guest with a good morning and made sure all were well fed. Throughout the day, staff were always available to assist, inform, or even talk to about the culture, travel, etcetera. When my jeep pulled up in front of The Babylon Lodge, my bags were immediately unloaded and carried to my room. I was also offered a complementary nice cold tropical drink (which was out of this world fantastic; i believe I had about three glasses of it!). I especially noted and appreciated how the employees at the hotel diligently went out of their way to make sure I had a great experience, and did not accept my tips ($) when offered. Seemingly, they did everything from the bottom of their hearts. I was not a celebrity or anything, but they certainly made me and other guest feel welcomed and important. I think something that was especially unique about The Babylon is how after just a few days of residing at the hotel, I felt I was home, which is a rare feeling for a foreigner in such a diverse country as Tanzania. The only thing I wished was different about my stay at the Babylon Lodge is that I wish I'd stayed longer.

Room Tip: If traveling in a large group, rooms on the upper level are best because there a chairs on the conne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Just wow... Second to non, went to visit my grandparents in Moshi and was looking for somewhere near them and near the great attraction (Mount Kilimanjaro).
Our driver recommended Babylon lodge but first he took us to Marungu Hotel which we found too overpriced.
Anyway.. We then decided to give Babylon lodge a try, which I have to say, as soon as we got there, the welcome from the staff was outstanding.
A doorman greeted us with a friendly smile and took our bags to the reception and suggested for us to have a hot drink (chai) at their bar.
After few mins of relaxing we then requested to book two double rooms at the ground level so that it would be easier to walk around as we had a young child. But Sadly, due to the demand of that particular day the Lodge did not have any rooms available at that level but instead recommended us other rooms at a higher level which a had views of the beautiful scenery.
Once again the door man kindly offered to take our bags to our rooms.

Both rooms were spacious but warm and cosy. The bathrooms were also spacious, immaculate and very clean. Each room had a large flat screen TV which worked :-).
After admiring the rooms, we decided to go to the lodge's restaurant.

As soon as we arrived the head chef came from the kitchen to greet us and asked what we wanted eat. (I have to say, this was one of the exceptional touch of our whole stay.)
In the restaurant the decor was rustic with warm colours representing the earthy tone of the external surrounding.
At first we waited for a while until our waiter came and took our drinks order, he was very charming, friendly and professional.
The food was as expected "delicious"I had spaghetti bolognese and the rest of my family had chips and Kuku.
Overall, our stay at Babylon lodge was wonderful. I would defo recommend it to anyone who happens to be in Moshi and who wants to feel at home, experience great service, have access to the internet and eat good food. X

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilimanjaro National Park
13.7 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
14.5 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
14.9 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
20.7 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 65 in Moshi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babylon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babylon Lodge

Property: Babylon Lodge
Address: P.O Box 227 | Marangu-Kilimanjaro, Kilimanjaro National Park +255, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Kilimanjaro National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Kilimanjaro National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilimanjaro's Best Budget Hotel! Babylon Lodge is situated in a lush garden setting, just minutes from Kilimanjaro National Park. Locally owned and operated, we provide service and amenities that equal the more expensive hotels at a much lower price. We have recently remodeled with new restaurant, bar and garden areas. Also, since we are from the area and have no need for middlemen, we can help you to find low-priced, quality tours that you might not find at the larger resorts. Babylon Lodge is the perfect place to stay for a weekend away or before/after a climb. Babylon Lodge is the only hotel in Marangu that offers free Wi-Fi to its clients. Welcome to Babylon Lodge for quality and affordable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Babylon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing