We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beathe of fresh air”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Dodoma Hotel-Dodoma Rock Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dodoma
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were on a road trip through Africa and in need of some TLC when we booked into the New Dodoma Hotel in Dodoma - what a pleasant surprise. The welcome was friendly, the rooms were clean and hot water in the showers and the dinner at the in-house restaurant was superb. The breakfast did catch us off-guard a bit but not worth complaining about.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 114 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

The New Dodoma Hotel is nothing new! It is the old Dodoma Railroad Hotel remodeled. The rooms are fair to poor. Having said that it is about the only reasonable show in town. Having lived in Dodoma for 5 years ago I would use the hotel for meals out and the pool on Sundays. The rooms are average. Security is good. WiFi is good. Food is average. You are within walking distance to downtown. Don't miss the huge hammerkop nest in the flamboyant tree in the courtyard!

Room Tip: Choose a poolside room or upper level courtyard one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The good thing is that wifi works pretty well. And the staff really try to give good service. But "new" is a misnomer. This was built in the 60's and hasn't been updated very much. The courtyard is really pretty, but the rooms are falling apart. There are holes in the screens, the sliding closet doors are falling off their rockers, there is no AC and little ventilation. It is also really noisy. Water gets vaguely warm, shower spays all over the place. Food is definitely mediocre.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing the street. That gets really noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syd88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel was comfortable enough for a night, but we found the service wasn't the best: slow and not very attentive. In the afternoon we had ordered some drinks which appeared, but one of the items was incorrect. We never saw the server again and finally just left about 40 minutes later to deal with it at the front desk later. That evening they phoned our room around 10:00 pm to ask if they could bring the bill for signing. I said yes, but asked that the incorrect item be removed. They hung up on me, and didn't bring the bill by. The next morning the full charge was added to our room bill, though the manager took off the incorrect item when the problem was explained. Following ou rlunch experience, we ate dinner elsewhere.

Room Tip: We found the executive rooms to be nicer (brighter) than the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WLRK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The room was small but ok, a bit of a squeeze for us 3 (parents & 2-year-old). The patio area was quite nice.
BUT
the reception service was dismal - we had called to book ahead of time, and were quoted a different price than what we were told on arrival, followed by the porter getting involved and giving us yet another price ... and then on calling reception they hid behind 'no English' and we were left thoroughly confused.
The breakfast was not very good... and those stews were left brewing for hours and hours and hours on the buffet .... Toast was barely warm and took ages. The butter and jam portions at the table were meagre and since no-one deigned to bring us some more when asked I had to go foraging from the other tables. And meanwhile certain other guests were being waited on hand and foot ... The breakfast man-in-charge did come and ask us what was wrong when a waiter alerted him to us not really enjoying our meal. Points to him for that ... but he was not able to make any changes...

We will look for another place to stay next time we go to Dodoma.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venlal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Said to be the best hotel in Dodoma and that's not saying much. The best feature is the very large courtyard with trees, bushes, flowers, a pond with a bridge over it, etc. It is cool and relaxing at night. You can drink or eat in the courtyard. Most of the rooms surround the courtyard on two or three floors. Therefore the noise from the courtyard can be heard in the rooms, but the noise dissipated by 9:30pm even on a Friday night.

The rooms themselves are much more basic. The king size bed had mosquito netting but I didn't notice any mosquitos anywhere in the hotel. The bed is a bit hard, but not bad. There was a flatscreen TV with about 40 channels. The AC and fan both worked fine. There were two very old desks with a rather uncomfortable chair at one and a stool at the other (maybe that desk was for applying makeup). The wifi worked most of the time. The room has a refrigerator including a 1.5 liter bottle of water.

The bathroom is very old. There was never any hot water, and the AC doesn't do much good because the bathroom windows are open to the courtyard and don't close. I kept the bathroom door closed to keep the AC in and the courtyard noise out.

The restaurant was good and had a wide choice of food including a lot of Indian dishes. The breakfast buffet was minimal. It had bread for toast, bananas and pineapples, and eggs cooked to order. It is included in the room rate.

Because the rooms are along the interior courtyard, the hotel felt private and secure. It functioned well enough and the service was fine. It's about the going rate for this kind of hotel. I suspect you won't be too excited or disappointed. If you have to stay in Dodoma, this hotel will do. It's not really a business hotel. It's sort of a social center in town. That gives you an idea how limited its competition is.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutch Brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel was built during the German colonial period pre 1914. I have been going there for more than 50 years! In that time it has had several face lifts. The huge courtyard is a good place to relax in the evening -- take a sweater or a wrap. A la carte evening meals good choice breakfast could do with considerable improvement. "Standard" rooms are a bit small and no air con but that no problem. TV is on local cable network dominated by Asian and Arabic channels. Wi-fi in room is good. If in standard room ask for a kettle if you like tea in bed in the mornng -- no room service.

Room Tip: If you want something a little bit fancy get a de luxe or executive but not worth it for a short sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevorbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Dodoma Hotel-Dodoma Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dodoma Hotel-Dodoma Rock Hotel

Address: Station Road Plot No. 459 (opposite Dodoma Railway Station) | opposite Dodoma Railway Station, Dodoma, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dodoma Region > Dodoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dodoma
Price Range: $52 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Dodoma Hotel-Dodoma Rock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The landmark New Dodoma Hotel is over one hundred years old and was originally built as a rest house for the Kaiser of Germany to inaugurate the National Railway Line. It stands as the most historic hotel in the region and still has all of the old world splendor which one would expect from such a historic monument. The hotel suites are built around a large botanical courtyard which features a decorative water fountain, tiki-bar and restaurant service. The botanical garden has been grown with great care to ensure an oasis like experience upon entering. Each hotel suite features large beds, hot water and air-conditioning as well as access to the hotel swimming pool, fitness center and relaxation areas. The New Dodoma Hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi for hotel patrons, 24-hour electricity backed by a generator, late night food service and concierge service to ensure that all of our clients’ needs are tended to. With all The Grandeur of the Ages with Modern Amenities and Excellent Service - The New Dodoma Hotel offers you the Best of the Nation’s Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Dodoma Hotel-Dodoma Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing