We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“courtyard to live in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Dodoma Hotel-Dodoma Rock Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dodoma
at sea
Level Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“courtyard to live in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Recently, I attended a conference in Dodoma, the capital of Tanzania and most of our activities centred around the New Dodoma Hotel. Strategically located across the street from the almost defunct train station, the exterior seems a bit shabby and you are faced with a myriad parked cars before you get to the entrance steps...but once past the front door, the hotel opens up into a very relaxed courtyard surrounded by rooms on two floors. In the courtyard there are lots of tables and chairs to enjoy sitting, drinking a beer and enjoying quiet conversations with colleagues. Adjacent are the meeting rooms, restaurants (the chinese restaurant is quite good), hair salon (men and women) and of course an old english bar.....
the decor is decidedly afro/colonial and could really do with a good clearout of junky chandeliers and adornments on the walls, but it all adds to the "charm" that is this hotel...
The food service was all buffet and started with a huge breakfast buffet, with eggs, sausage, fruit, juices, cereals and more...all the meals we had were more than adequate and quite unique in some of the dishes served...good food, no doubt about it.
The rooms are somewhat tired and need a good overhaul, but clean and comfortable and reliable. The staff are a mix of gracious enthusiasm to a sense of "why are you bothering me" which unfortunately detracts from this otherwise nice hotel to visit and stay in.

Room Tip: second floor keeps the noise away from the activities in the courtyard and also allows for a breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Footsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    56
    12
    9
See reviews for
9
13
7
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
key west, florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

The courtyard is great. The hotel is reminiscent of days gone by. I was reminded of old movie scenes as I walked across the courtyard and through the open air passageways into the retro looking restaurant, bar and lounge. I actually found myself looking for Sam thinking he may have come there after leaving Casablanca, but the piano stood dignified but silent.

The room was well maintained but old. It had been retrofitted with screens to keep the mosquitoes out - a very good thing. The staff were all very attentive and dropped the netting over the bed in the evening as extra protection fro the feared insect. I couldn't get a strong enough signal from my room on the far end of the hotel to make the internet useful. I sat at a table in the courtyard and it seemed to work fine there. A bit inconvenient, but the weather was great and the courtyard very peaceful and comfortable. They'll bring you something to drink there as well.

The restaurant was a challenge. I was only there one night, so I didn't have an opportunity to test the Chinese restaurant, also a hotel option. Restaurant service was challenged and breakfast was there if you really needed something to start the day, but otherwise it was not good.

The hotel was walking distance from where I had to go for a meeting and across the street from the train station. I never saw a train though. I expect to return to Dodoma and if I do, I will stay there again. I will ask for a room closer to the front to get better internet, however.

Room Tip: Stay close to the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I read the reviews before staying here, and agree with a few points, in that some of the staff were less than helpful, however others went out their way to assist. Reception were great, we stayed there 3 x over a 10 day period and were super helpful
Maids and room staff also very helpful, but most of the restaurant staff seemed to be half asleep and not interested The guy at the.Bar was very nice and helpful
Eat out, Food was so-so, edible but nothing special. and the Chinese restaurant, average.

Be careful of the hot water in rooms, as already pointed out, its dangerously hot, probably enough to boil an egg, Tip, when ready for a shower, turn tap on full, 100% hot, wait 1 min until its reached max temp, then back off to 100% cold, and gradually work it up in minute increments until reasonable temp. If you start mixing cold before doing the above you can be in trouble!
Rooms were ok, stay away from Room 60 or rooms with connecting doors as very loud, with a 1" gap at bottom of door i could have joined in the neighbours conversation without moving from my bed.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms with connecting doors, or any room overlooking the entrance, very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

recently stayed at the New Dodoma Hotel for three nightsThe executive rooms are pricey according to Dodoma standards but also big in size.Did not use other facilities as we would arrive very late at nights and leave early morning.One night we had to open the hotel gates ourselves as no one was there to do it at 3am and also the receptionist was fast asleep in the office adjoining the reception.Frequent power cuts also made our short nights lousier as it tends to be too hot.The breakfast is not great but adequate.Otherwise attentive staff especially at the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are bigger and better but a bit pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babaabasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you are expecting a swanky Dar es Salaam hotel then you will be disappointed.

This is a typical up country off the safari circuit hotel in need of refurbishment but the management and staff work hard to make your stay enjoyable. I don't like Chinese food so the restaurant menu was rather repetitive but the curries were good.

The wifi is on the slow side and unreliable (getting a new password every day was annoying) and the hot water was often in short supply! The breakfast is disappointing and you often have to share a table when the hotel is busy.

The rooms and bathrooms are in need of refurbishment but you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: The gorund floor rooms with a/c would be better in the hot season. Rooms 1 - 6 can be noisy because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suttonslob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a basic hotel. I stayed 3 nights and while definitely not as high a standard as some hotels in Dar es Salaam, it was perfectly fine.

My room was very dark but was a decent size and well fumigated. The Chinese restaurant in the hotel is about the best Chinese I've ever eaten - I am still dreaming about the duck dish I had. There is a gym which has some weight and running machines. The treadmills were old/low quality and I wasn't overly convinced about the safety of using them, but I used one and it was fine. The breakfast was just ok.

There is another hotel people talk about as a good alternative to this one, the name ecapes me, but the disadvantage is that it is further outside the centre. Despite how basic the New Dodoma is, I would still stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Litzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel is very old but renovated and is not bad at all. Four of us stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on our way hunting. The courtyard rooms are not bad, albeit celing is very low and the bed is not that confortable but big, sometimes you get hot only or cold only water during shower. There are no electric points for your PC or charging phone, you have to unplug your refrigerator.
The buffet breakfast is basic with only eggs and tea being the best choice. But this is dodoma and especially during parliament you will see a lot of MPs and their big land cruisers but they dont bother you and you dont bother them. One thing is that the management and staff are trying their best to keep the hotel clean, very safe and the staff are very professional and friendly. with the limited choice of quiet and decent hotels in dodoma, we will definitely stay in this hotel unless a new one is constructed.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms have air con, standard room do not have. Book according to the season
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwamtoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dodoma hotels
0.1 mi away
Morena Hotel
Morena Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dodoma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Gaspar Hotel and Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Ark Hotel
#1 of 15 in Dodoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dear Mama Hotel
Dear Mama Hotel
#5 of 15 in Dodoma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Kitemba Hotel
#2 of 15 in Dodoma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Nam Hotel
#6 of 15 in Dodoma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Dodoma Hotel-Dodoma Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dodoma Hotel-Dodoma Rock Hotel

Property: New Dodoma Hotel-Dodoma Rock Hotel
Address: Station Road Plot No. 459 (opposite Dodoma Railway Station) | opposite Dodoma Railway Station, Dodoma, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dodoma Region > Dodoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dodoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Dodoma Hotel-Dodoma Rock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The landmark New Dodoma Hotel is over one hundred years old and was originally built as a rest house for the Kaiser of Germany to inaugurate the National Railway Line. It stands as the most historic hotel in the region and still has all of the old world splendor which one would expect from such a historic monument. The hotel suites are built around a large botanical courtyard which features a decorative water fountain, tiki-bar and restaurant service. The botanical garden has been grown with great care to ensure an oasis like experience upon entering. Each hotel suite features large beds, hot water and air-conditioning as well as access to the hotel swimming pool, fitness center and relaxation areas. The New Dodoma Hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi for hotel patrons, 24-hour electricity backed by a generator, late night food service and concierge service to ensure that all of our clients’ needs are tended to. With all The Grandeur of the Ages with Modern Amenities and Excellent Service - The New Dodoma Hotel offers you the Best of the Nation’s Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Dodoma Hotel-Dodoma Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing