We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy ant not honest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Q-Bar & Guest House
Ranked #60 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Q-Bar is an hotel on top on a Bar which play music everyday until 2 AM, very noisy! Not working internet. But more than that, when I left, they stole to me 30 USD which their "game" on exchange rate.
Highly not recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Andrea B,
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. The internet is usually very good but it does happen sometimes that it can be off from the main service provider. We have live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday's but it ends by 1am and the musicians are encouraged to keep the volume low.
Our exchange rates are changed regularly and the most you could loose compared to the market is $2-3. We would appreciate if you could email us with all the information so we can refund you if some mistake was made in the reception. info@qbardar.com
We always advice our guests to please ask for the manager if there is anything we can do to help you.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 87 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed in a standard double room (nr 14) which was very big and with ensuite. Although the rooms are a bit run-down they are well-kept. The live music on Friday did not bother us at all, however the club/bar behind Q-bar did keep us awake on saturdaynight (untill 6 in the morning there was loud music). Some earplugs might come in handy. Only thing missing in the room was a musquito net.
The breakfast is one the best! Fresh fruit, eggs any style, bacon, cornflakes, muesli, milk (hot/cold), juice, tea, etc. All included in the price ($60)!! It isn't very close to the city centre but a tuktuk can take you there in 10-15 minutes. I would say it is value for money as there are not many hotels in this price category in Dar.

Room Tip: Have a look around, if there is live music take a room on one the top floor in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Janbien,
We are glad you had a good stay and enjoyed the breakfast, the breakfast chef's take great care of all the guests.
The night club behind is quite loud on the weekends but they say that they are working on their sound proofing.
We decided not to put mosquito nets in the rooms but rather do environmental fumigation on a regular basis, the room is also sprayed everyday. We have found that this works well but we also have mosquito nets in the store for those people who still want it.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Q-bar has nice and big rooms, but no nets. The bar below the hotel has nice food and is a nice place to have a beer and watch football, but can be noisy at night. It is located far away from the busstation and airport and the City Centre, but there are some good restaurants in the area. Expect a lot of expats.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Cathy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We do environmental fumigation on a regular basis which is working very well but we also have mosquito nets available if guests want. We will start to advertise this in the rooms as it seems the reception did not inform you of this.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Q Bar is a long established feature on the Dar places to stay scene. I have stayed here on and off since 2005. Its great value for the location- Oyster Bay, five minutes walk from Coco Beach, and handy for embassies, expat haunts and good restaurants- but it can be noisy at night. The rooms are spacious, clean and functional, the staff are great and the place has good security. Its right next door to an internet cafe (though there is wireless here) and a supermarket. Taxis are right outside the front door.

As Dar gets more choice in the budget hotel category Q bar may have to work a bit harder to keep the guests coming. The beds feel a bit worn out, the tv only works on two channels for example- but as a place in Masaki/ Oyster Bay for 40 dollars upwards its really good value. Just remember to pack your earplugs.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter but they are more expensive. Ask staff for advice when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinchillarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Chinchillarat,

Thank you for your review.
There were some problems with the tv channels but we have now upgraded. There are 4 movie channels, 2 news, 2 sports and 3 local channels.
We have put double glazing on the Standard rooms and the band never plays later than 1am, we have live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.
We are glad to see you keep coming back on a regular basis and hope you can see the improvements we make on a regular basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Q bar is a great hotel in Dar es Salaam, highly recommended!

We were collected promptly from the airport by the taxi arranged by Q bar - he offered a great "tour" of the city on our drive. The double room was lovely, although the airconditioner was weak, there was hot water, a TV and a great view to some tropical gardens.

We had a great meal at the restaurant, and the bar really got going on Friday night with a DJ, 2 bars and pool tables. It's a popular spot, and the music continues quite late into the night. The hotel is in a great location, close to Msasani slipway which is well worth a visit for a bit of shopping and dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank megan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Megan,
We are glad you had a good stay but are sorry to hear that the AC was not working properly. We have a technician who works full time so it should never happen that it is not working. We hope you informed the reception so they could have it fixed or move you to another room.
Yes Slipway is definitely worth a visit for souvenir shopping and also the famous Tinga Tinga market which is right behind us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Staff couldn't have been more helpful and made us feel very safe. Our driver, sent by them, was an absolute star - waited an hour at airport, as our flight was delayed and still charged half the price we'd been quoted by airport taxis, so we kept him all evening - to take us out to eat - then he drove us back to airport next morning. Rooms basic but clean, with fun, colourful, painted woodwork thoughout the building. We stayed Saturday night so the bar was jumping until the early hours but we didn't really hear it from our room (although the bar opposite was still going strong when we checked out at 6am). Staff knocked on our door, as requested, to make sure we didn't oversleep. We certainly thought it was worth a slightly longer drive to stay there, rather than staying in town, as we had done on our previous trip.

Room Tip: At front of building, on higher floor, you can watch passers-by, without as much noise from bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

SamOldfield,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you had a nice stay and hope you will be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

The Q bar and Guest House is exactly that:

A slightly rundown sports bar takes up the ground and mezanine spaces, with sometimes incalcitrant staff and food that is at best a little mediocre. The bar is frequented by men of a certain age and women with a certain purpose, who at least are not agressive or molesting in going about their business.

An efficient, well run, clean and very friendly guesthouse is to be found above the bar: USD 60 per night (longer stay) gets you a large room, tv, with a/c ensuite, easy chairs, coffee table and work desk. The breakfast (comes with the room) rates well above any for the price paid, and includes cereal, fresh coffee, juice and fruit, toast and a fry-up for those so inclined.

However there are some downsides to what otherwise is an excellent guesthouse:
- the music in the bar below is definitely noticeable everyday of the week, Monday and Tuesday excluded. BUT the management are very good at keeping to the 2am cut-off, and unless a band is playing it really isn't that bad. And occasionally the music is half decent creating a rather agreable audio backdrop.
- the men of a certain age and women of a certain purpose do make it beyond the mezzanine and those little blue pills take their toll on the guesthouse's beds and customers' wallets
- there is a booooombastic nightclub a little way off up the street that can go on until 5am - this is the worst offender by far.

But if you're not that fussy and don't mind somewhat noisy environments the location and the price are a squeal of a deal. To boot, the guesthouse staff and management are nice folks who do a great job of looking after you.

So Q Guest House gets a solid 4 stars, the Q bar would muster a generous 2 at best.

The star rating refers to the guesthouse only BTW!

.

Room Tip: High and away from the bar is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Andrew W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and a very well written one indeed. Yes we agree the bar is a little bit run down at the moment but we are in the process of changing that. The Pool table is new, the men's bathroom had a complete over haul end October, the ladies is being done now and then we move on to the rest of the bar. So we hope next time you come back you will be happy with the changes.

I am surprised you were not very keen on the food, the chef who runs the kitchen gets great reviews all the time and the amount of regulars who come back to eat both at lunch and dinner is quite impressive.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write, we are happy to get more feedback/ suggestions if you have time, info@qbardar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 mi away
Butterfly Hotel
Butterfly Hotel
#46 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
5 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#36 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
150 reviews
3.3 mi away
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
#40 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Peacock Hotel Limited
Peacock Hotel Limited
#59 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hong Kong Hotel
Hong Kong Hotel
#29 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
29 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mesuma Hotel
Mesuma Hotel
#48 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q-Bar & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q-Bar & Guest House

Address: Haile Selassie Rd | Crossing Ali Bin Said Rd, Dar es Salaam 4595, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $38 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Q-Bar & Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small hotel on the Msasani Peninsular. Only 10 km from the city centre, a ten minute walk to Coco Beach and right behind the famous Tinga Tinga market. There is now an inside and outside area for the bar and restaurant. You can choose to sit under the stars or if it is too hot you can cool off in the Air-conditioned lounge. We have a Live band on Thursday's and a DJ on Saturday's. The bar is busy and has a good vibe, the restaurant is well known for the BBQ, Sea Food Platters, Steak Flambe and Fajita's. There are also several restaurants and shops within walking distance. The atmosphere is laid back and a great place to meet other travelers and people living in Dar es Salaam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Q-Bar & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q-Bar & Guest House Hotel Dar Es Salaam
q-Bar And Guest House
q Bar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing