We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Sleep Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn Hotel
Ranked #65 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Sleep Inn in the City Centre of Dar Es Salaam. After arriving from Arusha the Sleep Inn hotel was definitely a luxury. The staff were accommodating since we arrived quite late and offered suggestions for where to find some food. The rooms were nice and air conditioning was excellent and wifi was available downstairs. The photos on the websites definitely do not do the Sleep Inn-City Centre justice! Was only a very short taxi ride to the ferry. It was in walking distance, however was before sunrise so thought it was more safe to take a taxi. Overall we enjoyed staying at Sleep Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Breanna092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Sleep Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 79 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night and paid 70.000 tsh for a room that definitely wasn't worth it. The place was dirty and stank. Felt very grimey. The AC made funny noises that kept us awake. Breakfast was basic. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IVDD42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel doesn't provide safety deposit service. Instead you are asked to leave your valuables at the reception. I left my passport and cash in a folder with my
my passport with the reception. OH YES ! when I asked for the folder all my money
has gone missing. Hotel Staff were far less than helpful. I ask for the Police and the reply was you call them. I felt the Hotel with no money.

ALERT TO YOU ALL
R D Starr

Room Tip: No room to help travelers. Stay and loose your money
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warnings2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had a really pleasant stay in the very conveniently positioned Sleep In Hotel. The staff were very helpful and accommodating.(We left motorcycles with them while we explored Zanzibar.)

We enjoyed walking down to the street markets in the evening and were able to walk to the ferry.

The wifi was not working during our stay and no one seemed to have an idea when it would be working again which was slightly irritating.

All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beardedgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had to spend one night in Dar before going on safari and one night afterwards and this hotel was recommended to us as good value. Don't expect atmosphere, but for a basic business hotel in a city centre, this suited us fine - good to have aircon and hot showers, and the central location meant we were right opposite restaurants. Breakfast was unimaginative but the staff seemed helpful and friendly. If you are looking for luxury you need to chose somewhere out of the centre in the Peninsula area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Dear travellers, as recommended in travel guides, if you are looking for clean rooms at good value in DAR, this hotel might suit your needs. Central DAR is not the ideal location for people staying more than one night. I strongly recommend to dish out extra Thz and stay by the sea, where atmosphere is more agreeable. Neighbourhood has nothing to offer. Please note that this property doesn't have a restaurant. Also this is a dry property, and no alcohol beverage is allowed on premises. The manager was really nice, and made everything he could to meet our needs. On the flipside cannot echo this to his staff who was quite rude and literally lied in our face.

Also despite the credit card info required, this hotel accepts cash payment only. Was there for business and recommend this hotel more for leisure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street have a balcony (with no chair nor table), but are noisy. If u feel for a good ni...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This place was just horrible. The staff were incredibly unfriendly and unhelpful. They woke me up at 2am with a wake up call for a cab I did not order, and then when my cab I actually ordered was at the hotel at 730am, everyone sat around and watched the television and did not mention the taxi had arrived. Breakfast was toast and watery baked beans that came out of a Tupperware into a food warmer. Coffee was sachets of instant coffee. You have to stand over the toilet to wash your hands the washroom is so small and the entire premise just felt unsafe. There is no where to eat dinner past 8pm in the area, so if you arrive late, you also stay hungry. Don't stay here, you will regret it. Worst place on my 3 week business trip.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank addyinabox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#38 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peacock Hotel Limited
Peacock Hotel Limited
#54 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Q-Bar & Guest House
Q-Bar & Guest House
#58 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
#26 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
#37 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Hotel

Address: Mahiwa St, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $43 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sleep Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sleep Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Sleep Inn Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing