We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Ranked #16 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I had gone with my family for Easter weekend and spent one night at kunduchi

The rooms were ok

Dinner buffet was not that great
Plus they had kept the dinner buffet outside and not inside the hotel and it had started to rain so that spoiled the enjoyment of the dinner

Lunch buffet was over Crowded and it felt like it was a chaos inside the dinning hall but the BBQ section was good

Break fast was really good especially the mandazi/ kitumbua and mbarazi section
Which they were serving hot
They cook the mandazi and kitumbua right infront of you
Which was tasty and really good.

Well the receptionist staff were really understanding and they let us keep the room till late in the afternoon

Overall this hotel is a great hangout place but unfortunately when I was there it was a local public holiday and it was crowded with ppl spending there holiday there

I would recommend the rooms on the ground floor

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time in writing the review. We appreciate the comments.

Yes, this year we had more rain than usual. Easter we move the venues around to add to the guest experience. Rain does make it more challenging with regards to entertainment and activities.

Kunduchi Beach Hotel has the best beach in Dar and is very popular over the festive days. Live cooking is important as this adds to the guest experience.

We would love to welcome you and your family back to Kunduchi Beach Hotel.

Karibu sana

Kind Regards
Kunduchi team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    96
    45
    20
    9
See reviews for
75
57
9
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

The staff at Kunduchi Beach Resort did a phenomenal job caring for all 160 of us during our three days Etico Meeting a week ago. Taking care for our comfort, our needs and ready with a genuine unpretentious service. Even one of the delegates turned to me in the elevator and commented, 'wow, they were refreshingly nice!' Added bonus was staying in Room 125, the executive suite, modern furnishings, well stocked and the spectacular remarkable views.
I was pleased with my stay, this is a good example of the consistency that you look for in hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write this positive review.

Entico has been part of the Kunduchi family for a long time now. A lot of major changes have been made to the conference halls in order to cater for the international market. Our services and product have improved in the past year and we believe we are approaching the levels of service and standard required.

Karibu Kunduchi Beach Hotel

Kindest regards
Kunduchi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

The Hotel is quite a distance from the Airport and with the recent rains and general traffic in Dar - it can take quite some time to get to the Hotel. I arrived at 10 Pm in the evening - room etc was ready for me when I arrived . Check in went smoothly. However - once in my room and I found that there was water all over the floor- I was unable to call the reception as the phone did not work. Someone did come to clean the water on the floor, once I had walked back to reception to complain .
Food is all Buffet style you will find something that you can eat. Salads - stews etc. There is no option for an Al a Carte.

The rooms are spacious - however the AC in my room did not function well so made for uncomfortable night Also the towels were not replaced and you shower and realize there are no towels !! - and you cannot call reception as the phone does not work.

Beds are reasonably comfortable :
Shower/ Bath : be aware that shower is over the bath - and can be very slippery no non slip mat is provided .

There is Wifi in rooms/ Tea/ Coffee is provided in the room. Water and a fridge is also provided in the room. Soap and shower gel is also provided. There is a TV - but nothing to watch as the channels are not set up properly ( maybe just my room )

There is a nice Bar on the beach side of the Hotel and does give you a beautiful view over the beach at sunset.
Overall an average stay. Staff are friendly and do try to help where they can.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest


Many thanks for taking the time to write the review.

We appreciate the comments and we have taken note of your feedback. Most of those comments relate to maintenance issues.

The sea side restaurant and bar (Mawimbi) provides an extensive a la carte menu. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We would love to welcome you back to Kunduchi Beach Hotel on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Karibu Kunduchi

Kind regards
Kunduchi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was our second time to visit Kunduchi Beach Resort. It is a great place to relax and enjoy your time with family or friends. We love to go over holidays as they usually have packages which include breakfast, dinner, live entertainment, activities for the kids and the Wet and Wild water park entrance all included. The staff are very professional and allow you to be able to relax even if you are visiting with little ones. Marius, one of the staff members there, was of great assistance to us with our little girl and the activities with all the children. We really appreciated him taking the time to explain all the activities to us and helping make our stay that much better. The food was excellent with a large variety of different foods for breakfast and dinner. The rooms are very comfortable though most of our time was spent doing other activities. We will definitely return for another holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time in writing the positive review.

The reviews do assist us in measuring our progress. I will share the comments with the rest of the team.

Karibu sana

Kind regards
Kunduchi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zanzibar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I decided to stay in this hotel during my short visit in Dar es salaam. being a beach view lover i had a nice experience there. the place is so quite a bit far from the city noices which for me its my joy. They have also good foods,best customer services. i think its worth my money and time.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saadashalua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Jambo and Karibu

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Kunduchi Beach Hotel for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Kunduchi Beach Hotel..


We are awaiting your next visit...…

Kindest Regards
Kunduchi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The beach is excellent with clear blue water. The live music by the beach is so good I loved it. The food is so good. The furniture is classic and its just in a class of its own. If you want the best room, ask for the one facing the ocean.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cusper91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Asante sana for such a wonderful review

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here at Kunduchi Beach Resort. All your positive comments are so appreciated, and we will be sure to share them with the staff members.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Kunduchi Beach Resort .

Karibu sana
The TEAM - Kunduchi Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were invited to the launch of a new Kilimanjaro project at the end of February.

It was challenging as the weather did not play its part. The staff was incredible. They were always on hand to assist as we had to move areas quite often. Nothing was ever a problem. They were well trained with an apetite to nplease and look after all the needs. Sadie was most definitely the star.

The food was incredible with a good variety. Chef Antonio was on hand for special requests. Food was always fresh and of a very good quality. Our team from SA was very impressed with the resort. Perfect venue for a launch, wedding, special function, etc.

We will visit Kunduchi in December, but this time for a vacation.

Many thanks for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Room 125...spacious and located on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitas11990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest

A PERFECT BEACH ! Thank you so much!! We are delighted that Kunduchi Beach Resort met your expectations. What a fabulous review. We so look forward to a return visit from yourselves one day.

Kindest Regards
Riaan Thiart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
2.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
#23 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#13 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
10.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort

Property: Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Address: Off Bagamaoyo Road | Kunduchi Beach, Dar es Salaam 1000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing