We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Suites(Dar es Salaam)
$147
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sea Cliff Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
$293
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tiffany Diamond Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
$83
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanzanite Executive Suites(Dar es Salaam)
$224
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Africa Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
$148
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$154
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Cliff Court(Dar es Salaam)
$144
$119
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveler rating
125
116
48
23
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
116
48
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslow tidelive bandmbudya islandan upgradeair conditionedsea viewindian oceanenjoyed my stayconferencechikutanzaniatrafficclientssafari
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 324 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2013

KBH is a beautful place, with wide arabesque porticos and halls, with a fantastic beachfront and lovely swimmingpool.

Staying at KBH is all-round pleasant, if only rather quiet, which suits me fine coming from the aggitation in London. The facilities are quite well looked after, while, ocassionally, they could benefit from one or more improvements. Food is reasonably diverse and generally nice. I appreciate the meat is all halal.

All in all a very nice place to run away to.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Andy


Many thanks for the positive review. You have been part of the Kunduchi family for almost a year now. I have also noticed that your next visit is in April 2014. Kunduchi Beach Resort would like to thank you and your team for the wonderful support throughout this year. Appreciated, thank you.

We wish you and the family a merry Christmas and a prosperous New Year. Please make Kunduchi your second home.

Karibu Kunduchi Beach Resort

Kind regards
Riaan Thiart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Visited Kunduchi beach resort on 18 December 2013 for lunch. Beautiful views of the ocean and beach. Very crowded over the weekends. The buffet spread is amongst the best ones in Dar es salaam. This place is far from the main city and is a good 1 hour drive from the city centre.

Food is tasty and the service is top notch. Prices slightly on the steeper side. Would recommend for a lazy weekend lunch with friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest


Many thanks for taking the time in writing this positive response. Kunduchi Beach Resort is a beautiful property with some of the best views in Dar. All the rooms are sea facing. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the food. We have changed some of the items in order to make the menu more exciting.

Kunduchi Beach Resort wishes you and the family a merry Christmas and a prosperous New Year.

Kind regards
Riaan Thiart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here for two days and let me me categorize my views as:

Rooms: rooms are quite comfortable in terms of size. They need to upgrade their tv set which is outdated and 20''. Bathroom - no pressure in shower due to the rusted n broken shower rose...they dont provide any gel, shampoo etc...yes but thy do give one small local soap. Vanity basin top is so high on level tht one finds difficult to reach for gargle...kids cannot reach - poor thinking while construction.

Pool - is not big in terms of length but its more in oval shape. Water seems dirty as thy dont clean regularly. Imagine they didnt have pool towels and not even for kids. .thy told us to bring from our room towels.

Food - was good and have no complains except they should keep hot chocolate milk for kids in the buffet dinner as you charge good amount per person.

Service - is slow but all staff are doing great work to satisfy customers.

Check in n out - is quite fast ...

Beach is lovely and sitting arrangement is well done.

Overall its a good place to stay with family with std facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepak2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest


Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback and have taken note of the comments made. Kunduchi Beach Resort will start with major refurbishment after the Christmas holidays. The property needs some tender love and care.

Kunduchi has a beautiful beach and we are confident in the services offered. We would love to welcome you back to Kunduchi Beach Resort in the near future.

I wish you a happy Christmas holidays and a prosperous new year.

Kindest Regards
Riaan Thiart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Let's start fixing "the rules".. Where we are? In Tanzania, how is the average level of services? A disaster.
Said this, we can go on.
6 days in the resorts for a business summit, where I had the possibility to test extensively all the services of the hotel.

Let's see the details:
Rooms are very very old and poor, bad maintained but clean. Bed are very uncomfortable, you can feel the wood under the old mattress. Lining are cleaned but very old too.
Clima is old and noisy but very powerful.
Bathroom, old and showers often with low pressure.
Beach is not existing, forget to go and swim in the see, they are the first to tell you not to go mainly for safety.
Pool is nice, but old and with no service. 25 min to obtain a towel, a disaster.
Restaurant self service is serving one of the worst selection of food I ever had in my life.
Breakfast, is exactly like the self service with the unbelievable "value added" that if you have it included and you want a cappuccino this will be extra.
Restaurant (in front of the beach) is proving a different choice of food, generally quite ok, the problem is the service, slow slow slow. Expect 1h30 minimum to be end your dinner if you are alone. 45 min from the order to the appetizer is the standard.
Hotel services:
Wifi a really good coverage, but is Unacceptable to pay 10usd per day per device. Ridiculous.
Taxi from the hotel. When booked in advance from the reception are fantastic, 45usd is a very good price, consider that the hotel is very far from the city or the airport and that traffic in Tanzania is huge, to go or come back from the center you may need also 3h.
Conference center. Dirty and old. Very negative
Private beach. Is not a beach. Is just some sand in front of the beautiful garden. Not maintained and dirty,
Room Service. Inexistent
Employee: Tanzanian people are very friendly and educated, lovely. There is just one problem they are not precise and do not have any attention to the timing. A great smile all the time but after nothing will happen. Is not their fault, is fault of the management of this hote that is very very bad.
They have amazing persons but employee, do not learn by themselves. You need to train them, and not how you do now (I have seen you training.during my stay), you need to train them, vis professional expatriates with relevant experience.

I can't redo and anybody this hotel, except maybe for a cheap vacation for sure never for business.

Room Tip: Expect an extra 5% charged without anybody to tell you at the reservation if you pay with credit card.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spilingoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest


Many thanks for the feedback received of your recent stay. I would like to apologize for your bad experience. Action will be taken on the feedback received as we see value for money and a pleasant guest experience as high priority. Kunduchi Beach Resort will undergo major refurbishment early in the new year.

The feedback on the service is very disappointing for us. The general feedback has been good and we were making positive strides. We also have a new executive chef starting just before Christmas and we believe he will make a big impact.

We would love to welcome you back to Kunduchi Beach Resort. Please contact me directly with your next visit. Contact details are gm@kunduchi.com and contact number is +255 688 915 345

Kindest Regards
Riaan Thiart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

During the first week of April 2013 both myself and my wife stayed over. It was a absolutely unforgettable experience that we will never forget. friendly and helpful staff and what a view!!!!! We are planning on returning in 2015 and this time stay for even longer, to fully enjoy all Dar es Salaam has to offer! looking forward!

Room Tip: always do your research beforehand. that way you know which rooms to ask for by name when you book in. if any upgrades are available one can ask for it by name......and maybe get a upgrade!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest


Many thanks for taking the time to write this positive review. I will share your comments with the rest of the TEAM. A lot of time has been spend on training and we are most definitely on the right track.

Our location is great. We have the best beach in Dar and with the planned changes will make this one of the top properties in Dar.

We would like to wish you and the family a merry Christmas and a prosperous new year.

Kindest regards
Riaan Thiart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews