We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Dar es Salaam Tanzania Kunduchi Beach Hotel.
This was the best vacation ever. We just loved the food and culture , it was magnificent. Please go to this location you wil have the time of your life, because when we arrived at the hotel they greeted us with open armes, we met the manager , Mr Riaan Thiart and his staff, they we're very friendly an helpful.
Aiden our waiter is a real treat, he was very professional and funny. The food was great , the setting awesome!!!!! The beach is beautiful. We sat on the beach chairs and enjoy soft drinks with the stunnig views around us.
We just want to thank all the staff and management for making our holiday a pleasant experience. Would love to visit u again.

Room Tip: Room 201 is awsome, the views wow!!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Good Day Pieter

Many thanks for the positive response. I will relay your comments to the TEAM.

Hospitality is the one profession where you can receive a lot of job satisfaction. A lot of time has been spend on the training aspect. Kunduchi Beach Resort has the best beach. A Kite School has been added to improve the guest experience and increase the activities available.

We would love you to return to your second home. Karibu Kunduchi

Friendly Greetings
Riaan Thiart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 308 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a setting! I was part of the Entico conference and was very impress with the ambiance and service provided. The dinners at Mawimbi was a treat. Live music, friendly and efficient service. Many thanks to Aiden our waiter. He is a good sport.

There was some good energy all round. People were dancing and having a good time. Hotel has a beautiful stretch of beach. There was even a bonfire....the food was a good spread as well. Conference rooms are adequate. Service provided was good.
I know Entico has booked for September and December at the same hotel. Cannot imagine a better venue for any function or conference.

Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neema M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Good morning Neema

Many thanks for taking the time to write this positive response. I will convey the information to my TEAM.

Kunduchi Beach Resort is a beautiful property and we do realize we need the service to compliment the product. On going training is part of our daily routine. We have implemented some fresh ideas. The TEAM at Kunduchi believes in creating a pleasant guest experience.

We are hosting Entico in September and December and are hoping you will be part of the conference. You will find more positive changes on your next visit.

Karibu Kunduchi

Kind regards
Riaan Thiart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel is worn out and places in poor condition. The rooms smell like mold. Does not match the price class in my opinion. The beach is awesome.Breakfast is poor, as is usual in Dar hotels. Seats are worn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for posting your review on our hotel. We appreciate the comments made. our comments are constructive and well received. A refurbishment of the rooms are planned for the near future. We apologize for the inconvenience caused. It is important for us to meet and exceed guest expectations.

Our breakfast layout and presentation have changed as well. Our chef is working on new ideas and training is ongoing.

Karibu Kunduchi Beach Resort

Kind regards
Riaan Thiart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were here jus for the day,it's worth it's value.....cannot comment about the room as we were ther for the day ....but service was good,staff was helpful,lots of choice in buffet,fruits, salads,desserts.....beach was better n cleaner than others in dar Salam, lots of beach chair and a very chilled back feel....relaxing

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junglequeen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Good Day Madam

Many thanks for the pleasant review. We appreciate the feedback.. The comments are a guideline for us. Ambience will always be important. That is the main difference in separating hotels. I will relay your comments to the TEAM regarding the good service. The beach at Kunduchi Beach Resort is the best in Dar. Beach is clean and well maintained.

We are looking forward to your next visit. Karibu Kunduchi Beach Resort

Friendly greetings
Riaan Thiart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I dont know where your next stop will be when you get to Dar es Salaam Tanzania but I know where mine will be....Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort and that will be this September for a period of 3 weeks. Its a decision I made after my 1 week stay in May this year. My wife and I did not know what to expect the first day we stepped at Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort.
On our entry we received a very friendly and memorable welcome coming from the able management who handed us to their staff who respectfully ushered us to our room.
We sure felt home away from home, thanks to their hospitality. When I wanted power extension
for my ipad Mr. Riaan Thiart, the General Manager was there to assist.......yes you read right, the General Manager himself, the sumptuous delicacies, soft drinks, sweet wines, champagne,
more friendly staff, the expansive spaces surrounded with architectural masterpiece walls,
a lounge with a cool artistic ambience, the open bar just next to the clean white sandy beach,
more sitting and recreation areas……what more can I mention. You just need to get there!

We dreaded our last night at Kunduchi because we wanted to stay longer. When we walked out of our beautiful room to have dinner our eyes went direct to the table for two setup in the dark sandy beach. We all admired the couple that was going to sit there and to our surprise it was set for us. It was a romantic setup that blew us away. The Management knew we were on a couple get away trip and this was a surprise they gave us.

Together with my wife I would like to extend our appreciation for your hospitality and friendliness throughout our stay at Kunduchi. For sure when we get to Dar es Salaam this September our first stop will be at Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KelvinOTIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Good Day Kelvin

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a pleasant review.

It was our pleasure hosting you and your lovely wife. We have done a lot in improving our general service. The TEAM at Kunduchi Beach hotel is committed and ready for the next level. Creating a good guest experience is important.

Many thanks for posting all the lovely photos of our hotel. We are looking forward to your next visit at the end of August.

Karibu Kunduchi Beach Resort.

Kind regards
Riaan Thiart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is in a fabulous but isolated location. It is comfortable, clean and good value with two reasonably good restaurants. My only complaint is that I "lost" a cell phone and a pair of shorts with cash in them during my stay. Of course, I should have been a bit more careful with my belongings but you would like to think that you are staying in a hotel in which the staff and/ or clientele are a bit more honest. The staff didn't seem to be overly perturbed by my loss.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilliamGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking time out of your busy schedule to write this report.

I want to apologize for the inconvenience caused. The matter was thoroughly investigated. You stayed in room 235. We have good procedures in place. On the CCTV cameras it was noted that you came back late from town on that specific night. We are disappointed with the incident as the safety of our guests and their belongings are priority number one at Kunduchi Beach Hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed the rest of our facilities. We are busy upgrading the facilities as we speak and would love to invite you back to Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort in the near future.

Karibu Kunduchi

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The location of the hotel is the opposite of convenient--with no traffic (a rarity in Dar) the hotel is a 45 minute drive from the airport. You could easily double that number when there is traffic. Also, the hotel should be considered a self-contained unit--if you walk off the grounds to the road you will find yourself in a very rough area nowhere near the city, so you will need to hire a car to visit the city center. However, the hotel and its grounds are truly beautiful. The landscaping is amazing--established trees and other plantings, potted flowers and plants in the hallways, dining areas, and lobby. The buildings (and the hotel is really a complex of buildings) is decorated in what a plaque on the wall calls "Swahili/Arabic," and it's a sight to see. There are many photos on the hotel's website, so I won't try to describe the decor, but it somehow manages to feel both exciting and relaxing at the same time. The main lobby is filled, surprisingly, with uncomfortable French provincial furniture, set up in small groupings. During my 5-day stay at the hotel, almost no one sat there. Because the entire lobby is open to the outside, there are lots of birds, especially noisy crows, that fly around the lobby and restaurant. Semi-feral cats also wander around the grounds and buildings.

Hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful, which can translate to multiple visits to your room to give you extra towels, toiletries, and advice on the use of the air conditioner. Desk staff speak English well; the rest of the staff less ably, but their politeness makes up for any language problems.

The hotel has only two floors of rooms and every room has a water view (the entire outward-facing wall is glass to enhance the view) and a balcony. Luxury rooms are close to the lobby and have large terraces with patio furniture. Beds are large, with very firm mattresses, and mosquito netting, which I advise using. The chambermaids make beds that you can really bounce a coin on. A desk and a small table with two chairs round out the furnishings. Electrical outlets are in short supply--bring a power strip if you have lots of electrical devices to plug in. Wi-Fi access is not included in the price of the room, and although the signal is strong, the speed is virtually useless for anything except checking emails, and even that is a slow process. Small bathmats are used as area rugs throughout the room, and it was fairly obvious that they weren't very clean. The floor itself is ceramic tile, and there are natural stone accents in the bath.

There is a separate WC and a bathroom with a full bath. Water pressure is very low, and you may need to run the shower for 5 minutes or more before the water becomes warm. I was at the hotel for a conference, and several of the participants mentioned that they had to be moved to new rooms because the water wasn't working at all. My sink faucet lacked an aerator, which emphasized the low pressure.

Overall, the hotel needs a general sprucing up--new paint, crack repair, new plumbing fixtures, etc., but given the complexity of the architecture, repairs are probably done on a piecemeal basis. In other words, expect one or more minor problems with your room that you will have to live with during your stay.

The hotel is essentially right on the beach, and the beach is breathtaking--clear, blue water, traditional fishing boats sailing past. The hotel provides tables with thatch umbrellas, as well as lounge chairs, at waterside, and there is a bar/restaurant with live music right on the beach. The hotel has a nice pool with the appearance of a bar, although I didn't see a bartender there during my stay. The hotel also has a water park adjoining the resort grounds, and although the park has a filled pool that local children seemed to use, I never saw water moving down the slides or coming out of the many fountains in the park.

There is a "spa" and a fitness center, but my guess is that you must reserve spa services well in advance, since I never saw staff in the spa. The fitness center is fairly well equipped, with free weights and machines, for weights and aerobics. The equipment is 10 years old at least, but it all worked. However, the center doesn't supply either towels or water, so bring your own. The fitness center seems to be used largely by the hotel staff, who don't seem very interested in giving the paying guests priority access to the equipment. The center wasn't air conditioned and was unpleasantly stuffy, and everything needs a good cleaning--it's grubby.

Food for all three meals is served buffet style, and there is a fairly broad selection of meats, starches, and fresh and cooked vegetables. There was generally one fish dish with each meal. Curries are quite good, but many of the dishes are spicy hot, so be warned. There is a chef preparing omelets at breakfast. Desserts consist of fresh fruit, mostly watermelon and pineapple, and a selection of cakes, but the cakes were pretty forgettable, although elaborately decorated. Coffee is instant only. Overall food variety from day to day is not good, however, and by the end of the week, you get pretty tired of the choices. The glass doors of the restaurant are opened to allow the breezes to blow through the building, but that also allows insects in. I advise the use of repellent, especially after dark, to avoid lots of bites while you're eating.

The hotel is a truly unique place, and although some of its glory has faded, if you want a beautiful location and the feeling of getting away from everything, this could be your dream vacation spot.

Room Tip: All the rooms have water views. Pay for a luxury room if you want the larger terrace and proximity t...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mchlwch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to do a review on Kunduchi Beach Hotel.

The Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort has a real colonial feel about it. The lounge is elegant in its own splendor. Many thanks for the thorough evaluation of the property. We value all the comments made and use the information as a guideline in improving our product.

The location is beautiful. All the rooms are sea facing as well. Repairs and maintenance are part and parcel of our efforts to return Kunduchi to its former splendor.

We trust you will visit Kunduchi Beach Hotel again. Karibu Kunduchi

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
324 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
#24 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
665 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#13 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
282 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#7 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort

Address: Off Bagamaoyo Road | Kunduchi Beach, Dar es Salaam 1000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $107 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and resort has direct access to the most beautiful stretch of beach in the area, and have activities such as Beach volleyball, mini soccer on the beach, swimming pool and the Wet & Wild Waterpark on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing