We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Bremen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms and friendly staff”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel is really nice and peaceful, and the rooms are large and spotless. The pool area is nice and green, feels like being in the jungle! The staff in the restaurant and bar was very friendly and made the stay enjoyable. The food was good, but a bit overpriced. But well worth staying in the hotel rather than finding an outside restaurant though.
The only person that had a bit of an attitude was a lady behind reception. Luckily I only dealt with her upon check-out, so the friendliness of everyone else made up for it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPQ_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear GUEST

Good day, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this candid review. I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay and the STAFF ensured your comfort. Our menu prices are in line with other similar establishments - perhaps cheaper. A few items which require imported ingredients might be on the higher side. I have taken note about the front office STAFF attitude, i will chat with them about it. Apologies for any inconvenience caused. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Zanzibar
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    158
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
70
25
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Protea Courtyard provides a relaxing calm stay for business travellers. The front office staff are efficient and friendly and the rooms clean and comfortable. There is a business office if you prefer to work away from your room and a pool to do a few lengths and unwind. The noise levels from the pool can be a little invasive - on my first night a group was swimming and making a racket until 11pm. Other irritation is the haphazard service from the team in the dining room - the evening service seems to unleash a number of either mis-orders or orders being taken to the wrong table - quite an accomplishment given the relatively low number of tables being served. A great stay and if the F&B team were given more training would be excellent all round.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavinareid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear gavinareid

Good day, I am glad that you stayed with us this time, thank you for trying our accommodation facilities. Extremely sorry about the disturbance caused by the group the first night. I will urge the TEAM to enforce the pool timings strictly. I have shared you feedback with the F&B TEAM. We had a few changes in the TEAM which might have been the main reason for the order mix up, rest assured we will work on this and ensure you have a better experience on your next visit.

We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is well located for business or leisure and the staff are very attentive. The room I had was very big with a nice sitting area and the central courtyard is very attractive and cool for lounging and working. Be careful with taxi drivers called to the hotel though as I ordered a cab throught reception to take me to Oyster Bay to go for a stroll and was told this would be 6,000 but the taxi driver seemed confused about where to take me and tried to charge 50,000 for the round trip!Reception did get then involved in our discussions but I still ended up paying 30,000 for an 8km round trip which I thought was extortiornate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Mark E

Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, sorry about the confusion with the taxi trip. I am happy to hear that the reception TEAM assisted you. But i agree that Tshs 30,000/- for a trip to Oysterbay area seems high. We will talk to the taxi drivers and urge them to be more reasonable and clear on their charges. We look forward to host you again.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have stayed several times in this hotel and have mainly positive experiences. The rooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully arranged. The inner courtyard offers a calm working environment. The breakfast is very good; the service is friendly and effective; internet connections are excellent; there is a small but good gym. I have only two concerns. Firstly, the windows in the rooms are towards the inner courtyard, and therefore it is difficult to have a lot of daylight. Secondly, over time the price has increased significantly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear adgent

Jambo, thank you for continuing to stay with us and taking time to write this candid review. Thanks a lot for your kind and encouraging words, we sincerely appreciate the same. I have noted your comments about the windows opening to the courtyard and the price. Due to the way the hotel was designed and built ( around the courtyard/garden and pool) we unfortunately don't have any solution for this, but we have managed to bring in a bit more natural light and air into the room with the addition of the new window in the back. We have not increased the price substantially over the years. Any yearly increase on the rack rate has always been less than 10% & in line with the inflation. Please contact me directly, I will be glad to assist you further. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant hotel, friendly staff, great food!
We made very last minute bookings to the hotel and also requested return airport transfers. All arrangements were carried out meticulously.
We felt at home, it was absolutely awesome!



Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyMustardd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear GUEST

Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard, thanks a lot for staying with us and taking time to share your experience. I am glad that our TEAM looked after you very well and you had a fantastic stay. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Zanzibar
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Most options in Dar are large corporate hotels and this is just the opposite. Its a small 3 floor property that centers on a courtyard with a small pool. Its charming and the staff are helpful and really great.

Rooms are immaculately clean with wooden canopy beds. Bathrooms are a decent size. They have lots of hot water and nice bright lights. Beds are comfortable. There is televison with a good selection of channels. Air-condition works well after I moved from a third floor room where the airconditioning didn't work.

Breakfast has made to order omelettes, fresh fruit and the usual assortment of breads. Staff is very kind and helpful.

I held a meeting at the property and the conference room was excellent. Nice big windows and comfortable chairs. Tea breaks had a good assortment of snacks and friendly service.

Again, I cannot say enough nice things about this property. A little gem in Dar!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmmlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear GUEST

Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard, Thank you for staying with us and choosing our conference facilities for holding your workshop. We sincerely appreciate your generous compliments, all credit goes to the TEAM for whom nothing is too much. We are blessed with a great TEAM that make comments such as these possible. I will share your comments with them, we look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Zanzibar
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The Protea Courtyard Hotel in Dar is Salaam is a wonderful place to stay. The hotel staff's care, friendliness, and attention began as soon as I arrived at Dar es Salaam's airport at eight in the morning after flying for about 20 hours from the Philippines. Thom Haule, a driver from the Protea, met me at the airport, and patiently waited while I exchanged currency and bought a sim card for my phone. When we reached the hotel one of the staff escorted me to the hotel's dining room, where a large and varied buffet breakfast was available. My room was prepared while I ate breakfast, looking out at the hotel's plant-filled courtyard and swimming pool. When I went to my room there was a plate of fruit and a candy bar waiting for me, along with a large bottle of water, which was replaced every day.
I can't say enough good things about the Protea. The rooms are kept meticulously clean, and the hotel is a quiet refuge to return to at the end of a day. There's free wifi, which worked fairly reliably; a ceiling fan and air conditioning made the room comfortable even during Tanzania's summer. When I returned to the U.S. and stayed at a hotel before finally returning home, i found myself wishing that my American hotel had the same level of service (and excellent breakfast!) as the Protea Courtyard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Tim F

Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this review. I am really glad to hear that you enjoyed everything about our hotel right from the airport pick up till the last breakfast you had before checking out. I will pass your comments to the TEAM, especially Tom, our driver. Comprehensive reviews such as yours are very important for us and we sincerely appreciate your generous compliments which are of significant motivational value to our great TEAM. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Zanzibar
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
1.3 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
681 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Address: Seaview Ocean Road, Dar es Salaam 1000, Tanzania (Formerly Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Courtyard offers affordable accommodation in Dar es Salaam, the financial hub of Tanzania. Apart from the friendly and efficient service, along with the high quality facilities, Protea Hotel Courtyard’s location makes it one of the most preferred hotels by both corporate and leisure travellers. This is because the hotel is only 12 kms from the airport, 3 kms from the city centre and 500 metres away from a tranquil, beautiful beach. The hotel offers attractive rates for overnight accommodation to leisure travellers before or after safaris to the famous Serengeti National Park, Ngorongoro Crater, Lake Manyara, Sealous Game Reserve and Zanzibar. All 52 en-suite rooms are built around a beautiful, lush, green courtyard with the view of the pool. They are tastefully decorated and are equipped with all modern amenities including 32 inch LCD TV offering satellite TV channels (DSTV), personal electronic (laptop friendly) safe, mini bar and direct dialling enabled telephones. Free high speed internet is available via WIFI for our hotel residents. Protea Hotel Courtyard offers a wide array of wining and dining facilities, which comprise of Langi Langi – our multi-cuisine restaurant, Open House – 24 hr coffee shop, Jahazi Bar and 24 hour room service. With so many activities in the area, like a swimming pool, golf courses, yachting and a gym; get ready for an action packed holiday. Not to mention the shopping facilities nearby for all those last minute gifts and memorabilia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing