We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2008

My family and I stayed at the Kilimanjaro for four nights in July 08. Our overall experience was very positive; the Kili lives up to its 5 Star billing. It is an excellent modern hotel with all the conveniences one would expect to find in a hotel of this class. The bedrooms are well designed and appointed; the staff is friendly and very efficient and the restaurants/bars serve up excellent food and drinks.

We arrived late in the evening to be greeted by the receptionist staff who very quickly and efficiently processed our check-in. However the two-adjoining harbour view rooms that I had requested were unavailable that night (as the hotel was full, hosting a conference), but were made available the following day as soon as they became free.

The pool area is clean and well maintained with complementary bottled water provided to the bathers by a friendly staff. The views of the harbour area and the ambiance provided from the infinity pool are magnificent and a welcome relief from the bustle of Dar.

The Kili’s restaurants are very good, especially the Oriental, which gets very busy on weekends; a reservation is recommended. The more casual Palm restaurant also serves up good food with a variety to suit all tastes. The Level 8 Bar (roof top) is an excellent location to chill out at the end of the day with an cold Serengeti lager or a cocktail of your choice. The views of the harbour, especially at sunset are magnificent. The bar/finger food at Level 8 is reasonably priced and an excellent and a good alternative to having a full meal. All the restaurants and bars, unlike the bedrooms, are reasoanably priced and good value given the quality and service provided.

Although the rooms are very expensive and perhaps ought to be priced slightly lower (within the same bracket as the Moevenpick Hotel a kilometre or two away), nonetheless the experience for a few nights is worth the splurge

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Shufti_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 690 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2008

I was able to stay at Kempinski through a group trip to Tanzania and I think we got an amazing hook-up, so I really can't comment on the price/value. If I was really paying over $1000/ night (the listed "average price" for this hotel), I would have been expecting vaulted ceilings, godiva chocolates on my pillow nightly, and an orchestra playing in the lobby.

"Value" aside, I must say that I really enjoyed my stay at the Kempinski. It was incredibly comfortable, and definitely a nice hotel--by American standards. I found that the rooms were a bit cold, so it was hard to get totally comfortable in the room at times (but I am typically cold whenever the A/C is on at all, so I was probably more sensitive to the room temperature than others). Never took a bath in the bathtub (separate from the shower), but it seemed to be large enough for two...if your trip to Tanzania is a romantic getaway.

Helpful (or sneaky) hint: There is a business center on the 6th floor, where you can check your email, get drinks and snacks for free...IF you stay on the 6th floor. If someone asks what room you are in, they only ask for the room number--they don't ask for your name, or check in any way to see if you actually do live there. Given that we stayed in a group with over 30 people I just gave one of their room numbers so I could go in and check my email and get a drink or two before heading out.

Another hint--drinks are pretty expensive in the hotel, so if you want to order something like a rum and coke or something else that is basically alcohol mixed with some sort of soda, it will be cheaper to order the soda (they come in actual bottles!!!) and get a shot of alcohol separately. That way you can either still have the rest of the soda OR keep buying shots until the bottle is done...whichever is more your speed. ;-)

Also, the Chinese food restaurant in the hotel is quite good, so if you are hankering for some food, that is the place to be!!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank moneypenny02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

I enjoyed my stay at the Kili. While it wasn't cheap, the value was excellent compared with Zanzibar. The room was perfect with all the amenities. Nice pool and food. No complaints at all, really. Location is very good right next to the Port if you are catching a ferry to Zanzibar. The only downside is a criticism of Dar Es Salaam rather than the hotel - there isn't a huge amount to do as a tourist. But its a nice place to hang out for a day and recover from jetlag before hopping on the ferry across to Stone town. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ipaytostay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

This was my first trip for business in dar el salam , the hotel was extraordinary , excellent rooms excellent architecture everything including food was perfect

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank walidhassoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

The No. 1 place in town and my favorite hang out, especially 'Level 8' their roof top lounge bar is excellent to meet, greet, wine and dine with friends and business partners. Up there one not only enjoys great dining, good music but also a great view of the harbor of Dar Es Salaam.
Always stay here when I'm in town, especially since I tried out the one or other 5* some years ago. They are refurbished now but don't really get close to the probably only real international luxury hotel.

By the way, the Anantara Spa is great as well ;-)

Hope these guys soon have their Serengeti Lodge ready for some picture hunting.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RolandUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Clinical and typically Kempinski, there is little wrong with this hotel. The rooms are very modern and spacious, fantastic bathrooms, and a very grand lobby.

The chinese restaurant was raved about, and was ok, but not as amazing as people had set it up to be. Breakfast was plentiful, and very nicely presented.

The location is very good, waterfront which makes the views that bit more interesting. The staff were ok, I had a similar problem as some other reviews where the reception could not find the booking or pre-payment which is annoying - but was resolved after a day or so.

There is little else to say about the Kilimanjaro, except expect a very comfortable stay, away from the reality of Dar in typical Kempinski style.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nabeel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

This is now the 5th time I stay in the hotel while traveling for business and the more I come the more I like Tanzania and "the Kili" as they call the hotel. Most about this place I like the bar on the 8th floor and their Oriental Restaurant. The pool for a quick break is another nice feature.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RolandUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
689 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.6 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.7 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
665 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#3 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro

Address: Kivukoni Street | PO Box 9574, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Kilimanjaro Hotel Kempinski)
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Casino Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#6 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $274 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a synonym of exclusivity, luxury and service. With 180 modern elegant rooms and impressive exterior Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a landmark 5-star hotel in Dar es Salaam. Both business and leisure travellers can experience true European and African comfort at ease. The hotel is regarded as the best hotel in Tanzania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dar Es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing