We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The staff here are so helpful, even to the point of walking with us to a nearby restaurant in the evening, rooms are clean, spacious, amazing bathrooms... that could do with some more light... but you can survive. Beds are a little hard, but still got a great nights sleep. Great gym and infinity pool. A very good breakfast buffet for a hotel in Africa, not upto American or European standards... But everything you require. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goundar-morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 727 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Looking for a boutique hotel, a hostel or a cheap place? That is not the place you are looking for.
Looking for oustanding service (I never expected and never experienced before and I am sleeping in Hyatts and Hiltons for more than 100 nights per year), beatiful rooms and excellend food? Book a room right now!!

- rooms are small but beatiful and with character
- the food (breakfast and regency club) had * quality!! Never had a raw papaya salad like this outside of Thailand. They have everything at breakfast and service is fast and efficient (not New York style but excellent for Africa!)
- Service of the concierge and front desk was outstanding! I wanted to by a bycicle I swas on the streets befor and the concierge not only found out where to get it but also came with me to the place, did the negociation and helped me bringing it back to the hotel!
- We wanted to see a game on TV but they didn´t have the programm in their TV menue. We told them and it took 10 Minutes and we could watch the game
- pool and gym are amazing
- spa is one of the best I have seen in a hotel

Outstanding hotel, servce and food. But you have to pay for it.

Room Tip: club room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel staff is particularly warm and helpful. The amenities are first rate, and this hotel deserves its reputation as the most luxurious hotel in Dar es Salaam (at least for now). From the comfortable lounges to the beautiful infinity pool with deck view of the Indian Ocean, it's easy to feel that this is actually a resort. It's good for business travel, with fast Wi-Fi and plenty of places for meetings and drinks. The only problems are that it is surrounded by a slightly rough patch, I was warned not to walk around the area after dark. And the business center could use an upgrade. But overall, very elegant and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here before and after our trip to Zanzibar. The hotel has everything you need: restaurants, bar, shops, club, pool, fitness center, good service and all with a touch of class and elegance. Unfortunately the spa booked up quickly so they could not get us in. Sunday brunch was great. The casino was way too smokey and the only place where the staff were not as friendly. The beds were too hard for my taste but the rooms were very nice. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SP1234Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a very comfortable, well appointed,well locater hotel. The rooms are very comfortable. The restaurants, particularly the main restaurant off the lobby, serves very good food with a broad selection each day and a nice change from day-to-day, What makes this hotel standout above many others is the service provided by the staff. They worked hard to resolve problems even when they were not of their own making. For example, we arrived a day late without having notified them. The could not accommodate us that night, but got us a room nearby and then brought us back the next day and worked to make the transitions as easy as possible. They make sure that information that they provide is useful. For example, I asked a bellman where an ATM was located. There is one in the lobby; and instead of just pointing to it, he walked me over to it. Two hours later, when I saw him in the lift, he asked if the machine had worked for me.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerome P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Kilimanjaro, Dar es Salaam, just for one night, but what a wonderful night it was! The service and care was superb, we were treated like royalty.

We had supper at the Oriental restaurant, and what a treat that was. Everything we ate was delicious, and once again the service was brilliant.

The rooms were immaculate, every detail was seen to and our every need was carefully looked after.

A fantastic hotel with wonderful staff!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BronPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family and I were only in the hotel for one night. It was fantastic. So much so that just before my 4 year old daughter was about to go to sleep she asked if we could please stay in this hotel and not leave the next morning. The rooms were great - the staff amazing - the food phenomenal. We ate in the Oriental restaurant. The fish was outstanding. All-in-all we felt welcome and cared for.

Thank you to the management and staff.

Ryan Penny

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank ryan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
725 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#3 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
526 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#7 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
661 reviews
9.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#9 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro

Address: Kivukoni Street | PO Box 9574, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Kilimanjaro Hotel Kempinski)
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Casino Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $229 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a synonym of exclusivity, luxury and service. With 180 modern elegant rooms and impressive exterior Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a landmark 5-star hotel in Dar es Salaam. Both business and leisure travellers can experience true European and African comfort at ease. The hotel is regarded as the best hotel in Tanzania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dar Es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing