We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent business hotel”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in February 2012 for work. I thought that they hotel was fantastic, with my only real complaint being that I thought the room rates were a little high (compared to comparable hotels in Nairobi - where granted, there is more competition).

Otherwise, this is an excellent choice. The staff were friendly and helpful (although service sometimes a little slow in the lobby coffee bar)

The rooms are terrific. A lot of "chic" factors and finishings for a chain hotel throughout the room and bathroom (e.g., pull-out drawers which open from behind the mirror). Very comfortable beds and a nice seating bench next to the window.

The restaurants and bars at the hotel were very good. I dined in the main restaurant for lunch and breakfast, which had a diverse offering (Indian, Contintental, etc. cuisine). The Asian restaurant and coffee bar were also nice. The highlight for me is the bar on the top floor which has indoor and outdoor space and offers panoramic views of the harbor.

Lastly, the location is nice and right in downtown - I was able to safely walk around the surrounding neighborhood during the daytime.

Good choice and if back in Dar I will try to stay here first.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pompeybuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    223
    44
    18
    12
See reviews for
53
112
43
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you are looking for the most modern city centre hotel in Dar then this is by far the best. It has not changed much since it was a Kempinski and it has the feeling of efficiency and luxury however I could not help feeling throughout my stay that is is cold and distant. The staff are efficient but not overly friendly and the food is incredibly expensive. The bar called Level 8 has magnificent views over the harbour and is perfect for a sun downer and The Oriental is a fabulous restaurant but expect to pay top dollar for this.

The rooms are lovely but not ideal for business as there is not a a lot of room (I much prefer Serena, the former Moevenpick, for business).

The breakfast is fantastic though and the choice is so wide you are stuck to decide what to eat.

If you want an anonymous hotel this is great but I do prefer to feel a little more welcome.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Had one night here after first arriving in Tanzania. Hotel very modern, secure and safe. Rooms and overall state of Hotel very good and very clean. Check in efficient and friendly. Air con in rooms is a bit over done and seemly can't be adjusted. So cold needed to put cover on bed. Breakfast in Club Lounge OK but not elaborate. Continental only.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel has a great roofside bar and restaurant where you can truly relax while overviewing dar es salaam. We ended our Tanzania trip here with dinner before going to the airport. A bit more expensive then all other places where we have been in Tanzania but it was worth it: The cleanliness and spacious location made us feel really comfortable after this trip. Great place to end a Tanzania trip and in 30 minutes you are at the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F00dieamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versoix, GE
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is my third visit to Dar in five months and each time I've stayed at the Hyatt. Tonight as I arrived, the F&B manager was waiting outside to greet me. Definitely living up to their slogan of making guests feel "more than welcome"! I've dined in each of the three restaurants onsite and have been delighted with the food each time. The Oriental is particularly delicious and they have a bar where solo travellers can eat alone comfortably. I've also been pleased with the room service. They've upgraded their wifi throughout the hotel and it is now as strong as my connection back in Switzerland. Great security! Lovely pool for swimming laps or lounging. Pretty spa. Decent gym. Suites tastefully done. Small collection of onsite shops are a plus. Beautiful view of the harbour in the ocean-view rooms. And, maybe this is a silly thing, but there are tons of real hangers in the closet, even for skirts, jackets.
If you're coming to Dar to run a conference (as I am) this is THE hotel for any meeting up to 500 pax. They have a variety of break-out spaces and a stunning air-conditioned marquee that seats 480+ and runs "off-grid" so the occasional power cut doesn't interfere with a session. When the power does go down in the rest of the hotel, the generators kick in after 4-10 sec delay.
To top it off, at the top there is a great management team who are each and collectively a delight to work with.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

After an evening stroll through the city centre, we decided to take Lonely Planet's advice and stop at the Kilimanjaro's rooftop bar for a cold drink.

We were welcomed to the hotel despite not being formally dressed, and were directed up to the bar by the doorman. There we were welcomed and offered our choice of seats, and were quickly brought menus and small bowls of spiced nuts.

We opted for a couple of cocktails (an amaretto sours and a martini) and can vouch for the excellent quality.

The cocktails were a little on the expensive side (starting price of about 12,000 Tsh) but we felt it was worth it for the view and the quality. Only shame was the bottle of water we ordered never arrived.

Great views across the harbour at sunset.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

An excellently appointed hotel still in very good nick, the Kilimanjaro, which has fairly recently been moved to a Hyatt Regency management contract has been arguably the best hotel in the city bar none.

The hotel boasts a few restaurants, one themed Indian and another themed Japanese with a Sushi Bar. The food in both is excellent and being partial to seafood I found the Japanese cooked seafood to be truly excellent indeed.

The rooms are outstanding in quality and appointment. As a general rule with hotels I always prefer showers and even there I wear Flip Flops (clean ones that I wear nowhere else) in the shower... I do this after having personally disinfected the shower with a concentrated hospital grade disinfectant concentrate I carry on all my travels. Being a concentrate I make it up with water before I spray and leave for a few minutes. The showers in the Kilimanjaro are good and clean but they get the same treatment from me regardless.

The hotel is located next to the harbour so day and evening views of the port are awesome. Try out the 8th Floor restaurant for a great meeting place with great views.

The hotel would cater well to tourists as well due to the great amenities - the pool on the 2nd floor deck is excellent...

Room Tip: Specify and port-facing room on the highest available floor, according to your budget as the topmost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc-Dee-Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
681 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.7 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.6 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#7 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
631 reviews
9.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro

Property: Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Address: Kivukoni Street | PO Box 9574, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Kilimanjaro Hotel Kempinski)
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#6 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a synonym of exclusivity, luxury and service. With 180 modern elegant rooms and impressive exterior Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a landmark 5-star hotel in Dar es Salaam. Both business and leisure travellers can experience true European and African comfort at ease. The hotel is regarded as the best hotel in Tanzania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dar Es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing