We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel "more than welcome"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is my third visit to Dar in five months and each time I've stayed at the Hyatt. Tonight as I arrived, the F&B manager was waiting outside to greet me. Definitely living up to their slogan of making guests feel "more than welcome"! I've dined in each of the three restaurants onsite and have been delighted with the food each time. The Oriental is particularly delicious and they have a bar where solo travellers can eat alone comfortably. I've also been pleased with the room service. They've upgraded their wifi throughout the hotel and it is now as strong as my connection back in Switzerland. Great security! Lovely pool for swimming laps or lounging. Pretty spa. Decent gym. Suites tastefully done. Small collection of onsite shops are a plus. Beautiful view of the harbour in the ocean-view rooms. And, maybe this is a silly thing, but there are tons of real hangers in the closet, even for skirts, jackets.
If you're coming to Dar to run a conference (as I am) this is THE hotel for any meeting up to 500 pax. They have a variety of break-out spaces and a stunning air-conditioned marquee that seats 480+ and runs "off-grid" so the occasional power cut doesn't interfere with a session. When the power does go down in the rest of the hotel, the generators kick in after 4-10 sec delay.
To top it off, at the top there is a great management team who are each and collectively a delight to work with.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EBlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 718 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

After an evening stroll through the city centre, we decided to take Lonely Planet's advice and stop at the Kilimanjaro's rooftop bar for a cold drink.

We were welcomed to the hotel despite not being formally dressed, and were directed up to the bar by the doorman. There we were welcomed and offered our choice of seats, and were quickly brought menus and small bowls of spiced nuts.

We opted for a couple of cocktails (an amaretto sours and a martini) and can vouch for the excellent quality.

The cocktails were a little on the expensive side (starting price of about 12,000 Tsh) but we felt it was worth it for the view and the quality. Only shame was the bottle of water we ordered never arrived.

Great views across the harbour at sunset.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

An excellently appointed hotel still in very good nick, the Kilimanjaro, which has fairly recently been moved to a Hyatt Regency management contract has been arguably the best hotel in the city bar none.

The hotel boasts a few restaurants, one themed Indian and another themed Japanese with a Sushi Bar. The food in both is excellent and being partial to seafood I found the Japanese cooked seafood to be truly excellent indeed.

The rooms are outstanding in quality and appointment. As a general rule with hotels I always prefer showers and even there I wear Flip Flops (clean ones that I wear nowhere else) in the shower... I do this after having personally disinfected the shower with a concentrated hospital grade disinfectant concentrate I carry on all my travels. Being a concentrate I make it up with water before I spray and leave for a few minutes. The showers in the Kilimanjaro are good and clean but they get the same treatment from me regardless.

The hotel is located next to the harbour so day and evening views of the port are awesome. Try out the 8th Floor restaurant for a great meeting place with great views.

The hotel would cater well to tourists as well due to the great amenities - the pool on the 2nd floor deck is excellent...

Room Tip: Specify and port-facing room on the highest available floor, according to your budget as the topmost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doc-Dee-Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Spent 2 nights here on Business. Hotel lobby had a great feel to it but they had gone a little overboard with the A/c!! Rooms were tstefully done but a little small. Food was good (they have a nice oriental restaurat that does great sushi) and the level 8 bar at the top of the hotel was lovely - great but very overpriced - a double bourbon cost lose to US$ 15 compared to other hotels in Dar es salaam where its almost half the price.

Would stay again, definately...but only if the rate was substancially lower!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kunal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

On my first visit in Dar Es Salam, i landed in the Hyatt Regency.
Without any doubt it is a high level hotel, with a little bit of charm.
My room was very big (thanks also to the free upgrade) and clean.
The bathroom was spectacular.
The only point is the price, expensive for turism.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We walk in and there is perfume in the air! the place looks like a temple there is so much white marble and its so clean you can eat off the floor practically the rooms state of the art the bathroom heavenly the showers come out of the celiing like a rain shower! the view from the bar is spectacular and they serve cosmos!!! the asian fusion restaurant was such a needed treat!

Room Tip: we stayed on the 7th floor and had a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed in a suite in this hotel in Dar- Es-Salaam on business in August 2012. This place is great and safe, right in the heart of Dar Es Salaam. The suite was wonderful. It had a guest toilet, a lounge with desk and TV. The bedroom was very spacious and the bathroom was great. The television had a good selection of TV channels and I was able to connect my playbook to the TV to watch one of my own movies as well.
Breakfast had a good selection of different foods and I loved the fresh honey glazed baked gammon they served. The hotel as a lot of areas that can be used to informal meetings if necessary. The bar on the 8th floor was a bit deserted but the views where great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoenixber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
718 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#6 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
516 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
9.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro

Address: Kivukoni Street | PO Box 9574, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Kilimanjaro Hotel Kempinski)
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Casino Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#6 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $220 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a synonym of exclusivity, luxury and service. With 180 modern elegant rooms and impressive exterior Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a landmark 5-star hotel in Dar es Salaam. Both business and leisure travellers can experience true European and African comfort at ease. The hotel is regarded as the best hotel in Tanzania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dar Es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing