We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet pleasant place”
Review of The Bay Restaurant

The Bay Restaurant
Ranked #125 of 304 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: For the Love of Great Food, Music and a Seductive Atmosphere. The Bay is a great Lunch & Evening venue. Tucked away in Oysterbay - The Bay is an exceptional restaurant specializing in continental cuisine. Our team would like to welcome you our clients to a culinary experience like no other. Every day we strive to improve. Welcome to The Bay
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet pleasant place”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Good place, undiscovered yet so quite empty. The price I would say above average. The food is not exceptional but good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pavel_in_Dar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice atmosphere, food ok”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Will definitely come back to drink a glass of nice wine and enjoy the atmosphere, but the food was pretty average and kind of bland, as well as pricey.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Super find”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I don't really know why it's taken so long to find The Bay, but I went twice in a couple of days and the food, the service, and the atmosphere were great. It could do with better air conditioning, but that just means I'll save it for cooler evenings. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRunawayFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashniqa H, Owner at The Bay Restaurant, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
The Bay would like to Thank you for such a positive review and support. We are currently working on the air conditioner issue. Our team hopes to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
“great food! keep it up hidden gem”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

very good food definitely worth the price. and nice location abit hidden from
the mainstream areas. excellent steak and wonderful staff.
we need more places like these.
only concern was the A/c in doors which was too warm and didn't worth so if you
could please fix this and keep it cooler.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adil7772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Much better than most and certainly than its rating.”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very good restaurant with an apparent Germanic bias to parts of the menu. I had the goulash soup - more of a meal inside a giant sourdough (I think) bun with the Eisbein as a main. Liked the soup but the Eisbein was outstanding if you haven't had it before. I have in a number of places and this was as good as any. Friends (spinksy67 was one of them although we're all anonymous here) also had the fish of the day and the 500g steak and were impressed also. Desserts we shared were a crème brule and a strawberrry cheesecakey thing neither of which made us want to stand up and call for the chef! Not their best course.

Good wine list, not expensive and very friendly staff including I think both the owner and the chef who made themselves known to us. We ate early but it filled up and was buzzing by 8 o'clock. Outside was best as the evening cooled down.

Good addition to Dar's eateries.Convenient to the Sea Cliff, almost.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buccaneer-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Restaurant also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to The Bay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing