We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbour View Suites
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Gauteng South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect stop over”
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed here en route to our final vacation break at Kunduchi beach and found this to be the perfect stop over hotel,everything was smooth and a perfect stop over place.Extremely clsoe to the harbour to catch a ferrie to Zanzibar as well.Will definitely recommend as a lay over hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BufsZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelier21, General Manager at Harbour View Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel one day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    117
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
24
42
22
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I stayed here first in 2005 just after the first rooms opened, several times since. Great kitchenette/studio plan suited for people who don't need to have their hands held in Dar. Now has restaurant, pool, business ctr, and is more hotel than studio apartment, but works fine as either. Some infrastructure is dated - showers can be slow to heat, one window in my room no longer sits flush in the frame so was not closed tightly until I struggled with it. Lighting is poor for reading / task lighting but fine for dining and leisure. Ceiling AC units spew air directly on the bed - annoying since the louvers to redirect the air flow have long since been removed/broken. Internet is NOT complementary and expensive for local norms at $15/day, less if by week or month - wired in room or wireless worked great. Staff sprays for mosquitoes every evening, which put off some guests because of the temporary toxic odor, but that's how you prevent getting bitten. Can easily walk to any needed service - taxi, forex shop/bank, TZ postal service, multiple retail spots; mall in complex has small grocery, guarded ATM, fast food has moved out but available down the street. Staff super friendly and polite but questionably responsive - still don't have a hair dryer (no big deal) and took all day to replace a light bulb after housekeeping supposedly arranged for someone to fix it - several contacts with different people to get it done. On the other hand, no problems with airport pick up or a special request to print /pay a partial bill, handled reservation over internet without a deposit. Check-in is on 11th floor of an office building, may not find it from just walking by

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baglady1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelier21, General Manager at Harbour View Suites, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
You will be glad to hear that we are working on a number of the problems you mentioned. All the self catering rooms are having a facelift during 2010/11 and the hot water will now come from individual heaters, and not a central system. Lighting is also been changed from the old halogen style to new energy saving lights that give a far better spread of light in the rooms. Internet in the bar area is free if you have your wireless Ipad, or laptop with you and a drink or Espresso Coffee. Thank you for staying with us at Harbour View Suites, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Great hotel. Go there, don't think twice.

Detailed review is as follows: First of all, this hotel is less expensive then many of its counterparts in Dar. We chose this hotel because from the internet it looked clean and it was 1 minute walking distance from the ferry-port (we were coming from zanzibar ferry and we wanted to have a day in Dar-es Salaam to see the city before flying back home). We walked to the hotel from the ferry which took less than 2 minutes. We were only hoping for a clean room (which would be enough for us) but we found much more. The rooms were clean and were also very big, comfortable and had great views (view pictures attached). In addition, all the staff we talked with were very helpful and kind. They were happy to help in any way they could. The restaurant was also good, the waiters were good and friendly, the recep people were friendly and helpful, the rates they use (if you do not have any sichillings left) are better than the rates of the change office, they do not charge any commission to the credit card and the rooms are good, clean, comfy, also with comfy balconies .. I don't think we needed anything else.. For this price (we paid USD 125 to the room) I don't think one can find a better room..

In short, what we found was much much better than what we had originally expected - thanks to the staff and the hotel for making our last day in tanzania so comfy and nice.

I don't think anyone would be disappointed when staying in this hotel. GREAT FOR THIS VALUE!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YALIN19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelier21, General Manager at Harbour View Suites, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Thank you for your review of our hotel, welcome again to visit our country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Harbour View Suites is a modern hotel in downtown Dar es Salaam, conveniently located a couple of blocks from the fast ferry to Zanzibar. The hotel itself is located on the 9th to 12th floors of a 13 floor high rise. The reception is located on the 11th floor. We left our luggage here while we were in Zanzibar for a few days. Our room was on the 12th floor. The room were very spacious with modern decor. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The refrigerator barely kept drinks cool. The shower in our room on the 12th floor was not warm which shouldn't be the case for $100 plus per night. My wife took a shower in the pool bathroom/shower room prior to heading to the airport, and she had hot water. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The food at the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMorr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Harbour View Suites is above a mall in the center of Dar Es Salaam. It's about a 10 minute walk to the post office, 3 minutes to the Zanzibar ferry, a great location if you need to be downtown. Wonderful airconditioning, extremely clean. Stayed in a King Suite - had a mini fridge that I don't think worked that well but we didn't need to use it anyway. The restaurant is also great - western prices for western food - $12/meal. Breakfast was included in my deal though and it was delicious: Pastries, Fruit, Cereal, English breakfast (eggs, hash browns beans, tomatoes, french toast) - a full spread.
Honestly - one of the nicest hotels in Dar right now because it is so newly renovated.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corpang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelier21, General Manager at Harbour View Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards. Andrew Wingrove General Manager. gm@harbourview-suites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

The hotel itself was pleasant. Very clean and secure with spacious rooms, a small fitness center, a pool, and an attached restaurant.

My biggest complaint was that during a series of emails between myself and the reservation agent I asked in three separate emails whether or not the airport transfers were included in the price. The hotel never replied to my question directly, but sent us an email confirming our pick-up at the airport and the rate we were to pay, including breakfast.

Upon check-out, they decided to then tell us that they were not going to include the airport transfer and wanted to charge us $40. I showed them the emails that we had sent and they conceded that they were in error in never telling me that it was not included in the room rate.

This would have been fine, except that my parents (on the same reservation) checked out of the hotel later that day and at that time they tried to charge them for the airport transfers for both myself and my parents (a total of $80). After an hour long discussion, during which the hotel implied that I had tried to deceive my parents, my parents finally ended up paying $20.

I would like to note that there were two staff members that were incredibly helpful and kind that were not a part of this debacle.

The hotel, even though they had admitted that they were wrong in that very morning, turned around and tried to charge my parents of $80. If it were not for this, I would otherwise recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COTraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelier21, General Manager at Harbour View Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Our apologies for the confusion. Please let me know the name the booking was made under and I will see how we can prevent this happening in the future. kind regards Andrew Wingrove General Manager. gm@harbourview-suites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The rooms were very clean, and the staff very nice. The WiFi was "OK", and the location to central Dar es Salaam was great. Only problem was we booked tickets with Air Tanzania to Arusha through Legacy Travel & Tours (which is on the main floor below the hotel. Air Tanzania only has two airplanes, and both broke down. Worse yet, Mr. Laur and Legacy Travel did not return our money! Don't do busy with those guys!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
651 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#19 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#10 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#20 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Suites

Property: Harbour View Suites
Address: Samora Avenue | PO Box 9163, Dar es Salaam 9163, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent Hotel Accommodation, Serviced Offices, Meeting and conference facilities, Boardrooms, Business Center, Restaurant and Bar, Fitness Center with swimming pool, all within one hotel. That's what we call The Business Comfort Zone. Centrally situated and 200m from the ferry port to Zanzibar we are also an excellent location for tourists visiting Dar es Salaam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing