We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Business and centrally placed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour View Suites
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For Business and centrally placed”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

After looking at a couple of places to stay in Dar-es-Salaam, Tanzania, we zeroed on The Harbour View Suites for its proximity to the city and easy access to travel from the port to Zanzibar. Direct communication and reservation queries to the hotel administration were flawless and responses good. There was no deposit required and we were offered pick up from the airport for an approximate fee of US $25 which proved to be a good deal and a hustle free ride to the hotel (apart from the terrible traffic log). The chauffeur was waiting for us and he was very friendly.
Check in was swift and we were assisted to our rooms by very friendly staff. I speak Swahili so this assisted with communication and other settling in matters. The room on the 12th floor was very clean, although navigating from the Reception to rooms proved confusing at first, but was ok as days went by. We did not have a room with a balcony, however we were able to see the harbour and Kigamboni Ferry, which was pleasant. Sleep was great and hot showers available in the morning. I visited the gym that evening which was not great but adequate for normal exercises. This is situated next to the dining room, terrace and swimming pool. Great views of the harbour from here. The music part is a bit mis-leading as there is no live band there playing New Orleans Jazz! Breakfast and lunch was great and staff very friendly and chatty. Downstairs, there are taxis for hire and shops..pharmacy, exchange bureau and a supermarket. Its a 6-10 minute walk to the port to get a ferry to Zanzibar, so no need for a taxi at all. There is also easy access to WIFi and local sim cards can be purchased downstairs. Walking around the city is a breeze through Samora Ave and other. The Hotel is safe, which is a comfort for first travellers. In all, we had a great time and stayed again at this place after our visit from Zanzibar. We were allowed to leave our luggage here till our return from Zanzibar too. Leaving 2 hours earlier before reporting time at the airport is advisable due to traffic contestation. "Better early then late !!

Room Tip: The rooms were great and if one can afford, the ones with a balcony should provide a great view. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChimMarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    120
    46
    13
    5
See reviews for
25
44
23
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Have stayed at the HarbourView Suites regularly for over 3 years. The hotel is located on 4 top floors of 12 storey commercial building in central location in Dar. Hotel plus: (a) great location if your business is in town center (b) spacious comfortable rooms with adequate cooking amenities (c) convenient supermarket in same building on ground floor (d) gym is adequate (e) management friendly and attentive to client needs (f) very friendly and helpful staff (g) chef is very talented, accommodating and can prepare excellent indian dishes according to your likes (h) taxi stand in front of hotel building. Very convenient and comfortable, overall good value for money. Some construction presently nearby and at building but noise is barely noticeable inside room and works stop by late afternoon, so noise has not been an issue during this stay.

Room Tip: If you plan to cook meals regularly, get one bedroom or even better two bedroom suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DnSGlobeTrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The Harbour View Suites are situated in an office block on the perimeter of downtown Dar es Salaam and a minute's walk from the ferry station that takes you to Zanzibar. The rooms are spacious clean and there is a turn-up service every evening. The restaurant serves a basic menu for breakfast and dinner with a buffet of somewhat limited choice for dinner. There is also wi-fi with decent speeds available throughout the hotel. The greatest tragedy however is the STENCH that comes from the bathrooms in this hotel. On my previous stay I was forced to change my room since it got unbearable. During my current stay I have been forced to ask the hotel to pour disinfectant down the shower drain whenever I leave the room although this does not resolve the problem fully. In addition I am also covering the shower drain with a towel. Despite these measures, all rooms in this hotel smell like a sewer by the time you wake up in the morning!! So in short it would be a great boutique hotel but for the STENCH and sadly I have to stay here until Friday 19 July!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank I am an African Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent one night at Harbour View Suite, we were looking for a good nights rest from the safari's in arusha till we board the plane back home on the next day...which is what we got! We found the room very spacious, quite new and clean. The bathroom though had a strange smell and was very basic. Breakfast was included and was quite good compared to what we'd been eating during the safari's! The location is very convenient. It's a 5 minute walk to the harbour where you can get a ferry to Zanzibar, also down the street are a few souvenir shops, which worked well for us since we had only 2 hrs to buy souvenirs before flying back home!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariam_issa1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

When traveling to Dar es Salaam, l always stay at the Harbour View Suite since many years because of its very convenient location. The rooms are exceptionally large, also the bathrooms. I always appreciate how quite and well isolated the rooms are, giving you the total tranquility you expect for a good rest although some refurbishing needs to be done. The corner rooms, which have a jacuzzi tub, are the best and give a great view over the harbour. A nice swimming pool adjacent to a very well equipped fitness-room situated on the 9th floor are available at no charge to the hotel guests. There a very nice New Orleans style bar with sometimes good jazz music but, strange enough, the place does not seem to attract many customers. Unfortunately the restaurant has lost the quality it used to have a few years ago when to food was really excellent, offering very good Cajun style dishes and a larger range of international cuisine. Nowadays it is very Indian oriented and the few Western dishes on the menu are of poor quality; the steak l ate was cheap meat, tenderized and quite small, served with badly fried chips and a tiny heap of what was supposed to be a mixed salad. Quality and variety of food offered for breakfast has also dropped, cheap and not very well prepared warm dishes have replaced the more than decent assortment that the hotel used to offer before. Very poor, not to say almost inexistent, assortment of cold cuts and cheese, croissants that you better ignore and not very good fruit juices. A self-serve coffee automat would be most welcome rather than having to wait sometimes much too long to have it served by the waiters. All in all, sleep there, eventually have breakfast but there are several better place at walking distance where much better food can be found.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

All in all a great hotel, room was very spacious as was the bathroom.
All facilities and amenities were great, except for A/C which did not work. Did report it that evening, but was too late to fix.

Food and Drink prices were cheap, but quality of food and variety of Buffet can definitely be improved.

Nice swimming pool and well equipped gym.
Overall a good stay - will return and recommend.

Room Tip: Executive King Suites - very spacious and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrazoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

PROS
The location of the hotel was best for me as the building has some supermarkets, ATMs, communication shops, fast food outlets etc. The rooms were bigger
CONS
The AC made a the rooms noisier
The breakfast was timely and okay EXCEPT tea/coffee server by the waiters which took loooong time. Let tea/coffee also be self service

OVERALL: GOOD

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMutua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
657 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#18 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#20 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
68 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Suites

Property: Harbour View Suites
Address: Samora Avenue | PO Box 9163, Dar es Salaam 9163, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#8 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent Hotel Accommodation, Serviced Offices, Meeting and conference facilities, Boardrooms, Business Center, Restaurant and Bar, Fitness Center with swimming pool, all within one hotel. That's what we call The Business Comfort Zone. Centrally situated and 200m from the ferry port to Zanzibar we are also an excellent location for tourists visiting Dar es Salaam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing