We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
Ranked #29 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Mwanza
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good location and good service”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed for three nights here recently and it was a good experience. The staff are very good, the hotel is certainly clean, and the rooms are a decent size. The tariff isn't cheap, but it represents a considerable saving when compared to some of the more up-market Dar hotels. The location is fine, though taxi drivers don't seem to know it very well. That said, once you get your bearings, you can be at, say, the ferry terminal after a 5-10 minute walk.
The only complaint I have is the muzak - it is piped in the corridors all day and night. It's even piped, in empty rooms, with their doors open through the day. I'd love to know what the logic is behind this! That aside, it's a good hotel option for you to consider. We would have no problem staying here again, and you can regard the 3 stars given as 3.5 in reality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, General Manager at Tiffany Diamond Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Frank,

Thank you for taking your time to review us.

We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us for the three days you were here.We are also happy to note that you found our staff to be very good, the hotel clean, the size of the rooms to be decent and the location to be very appropriate. We are only 5 minutes walk from the Zanzibar ferry terminal. These are our unique selling points and we are happy that you noted them.

We have also noted that our piped music in the corridors and the rooms were a little loud. We have since corrected and all our rooms have modest volume. You will now find our corridors with very soft piped music and all rooms having adjusted volumes which can barely escape the room. We thank you for this concern and as stated earlier, we have fully rectified and wish to apologize for all the inconvenience it caused you.

We look forward to hosting you again and we promise to make your stay a more memorable one.

Once again, thank you for taking your precious time to review us.

Daniel M. Kebeya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    35
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
16
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Pros: decent room service menu, central location, friendly Kenyan activities manager (he booked a trip to Kariakoo market/Tinga Tinga art centre for us), great cable tv, and nice sized room. They also let us check out late (6pm)

Cons: complimentary breakfast could be more varied (especially for the $100/night hotel fee), no cartoon channels (a must if you have kids)

Overall, I would recommend this hotel as good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshuasmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, General Manager at Tiffany Diamond Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Joshua,

Kindly receive our gratitudes for taking time to review us. We are happy that you found our room service menu to be decent, spacious rooms, appropriate location and our staff to be friendly and helpful. Our staff are our biggest asset and we value them a lot and we also expect them to be customer responsive. We are glad that they were able to meet and exceed your expectations.

I would be glad to know what you would like us to add to our breakfast selection and we shall surely oblige. On this front, i shall be communicate directly with you. We value your feedback on breakfast and the cartoon networks for the young ones. I have to admit that though we have them, we had temporarily switched to other channels and did not remember to revert back when young ones were in the house. Kindly pass our apologies to them too.

Thank you once again for taking time to review us. We take your comments very seriously in view of making your next stay even better.

Thank you,

Daniel M Kebeya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

All-in-all, a well-managed, clean and brand new hotel with dedicated staff. I must commend the Resident Manager and Chief Accountant who are always on their feet ensuring that guests are taken care of. However, I could not do weight training in the gym because of the absence of appropriate weight training benches. I also found it difficult to work in the room at night without a reading desk lamp.

Mbatia K

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed at the Tiffany Diamond Hotel for 3 nights before I embarked on other Tanzanian travels and I found the hotel really great because it was so new! The bathrobes, towels, pillows, and linens were all fluffy and super comfortable. The rooms were enormous! It was great to have wi-fi in the rooms too. The location is so-so, I was there during Ramadan and my room was facing the mosque (the hotel is just 50m from the mosque), so it on occasion was loud with the prayer calls, but nothing too bad. It's considered to be in the "business district," but the area is a bit rustic and dirty. I also had several experiences with the hotel being a bit difficult to find and people not being familiar with it even when asking directions (again, it being so new). Not too much of a big deal, but if you go out, try to get some landmarks to make the journey back easier. Although it's a bit hidden, there were always taxi's in front, so it was easy to get around. The breakfast was of standard, no complaints. The reception and staff were nice and the rooms were practically spotless. I used the gym once, and it was a little bit stuffy, but decent. Overall, a very nice stay and I thought the price was reasonable for the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: Just be mindful if you get a room on the same side as the mosque as that can be a bit loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travellen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Tiffany Diamond Hotel is centrally located in the heart of City's prosperous business and entertainment district and near the sea.We got the goods room and stay there few day.We happy have the good relax and easily to take the special local foods in the hotel.Again That's serice is very nice.my wife and my daughter and me like it very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEX D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for seven days during last June 2013. I stayed in an executive room which consists of two rooms! The rooms were big and spacious. The most interesting part is that: they also installed a small TV in the bathroom which I did not experience ever even in the five star hotel.
The food is good but since I'm a vegeterian, I did not have much option to have. But the service is excellent.
I would recommend other people to stay here if they are coming to Dar. The location is also at the heart of the city. Many Indians stay in the nearby area.
Overall nice experience of stay.

Room Tip: Try the executive room @ 130 USD per day(they have a rate @200 USD per day). You can negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RABINDAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, General Manager at Tiffany Diamond Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for staying at Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa and taking time to write about your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves as being very competitive in our room rates as compared to our competitors with the same quality of services and facilities.

We have re done our menus and there are now a wide selection of vegetarian dishes, Swahili, Indian, Italian and continental cuisine.

Once again thank you and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here together with 2 friends in July 2013 and was not pleased nor disapointed. The hotel was nice, the rooms clean and spacious and the breakfast was decent. There was also free Wifi in all floors. Be aware though that in the rooms the reception can be poor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flipcider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, General Manager at Tiffany Diamond Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for staying with us and finding time to review our hotel. We are glad that you found our hotel to be nice, the rooms clean and spacious and the breakfast was decent.

We have so far made available many choices and we are sure that you will find it much better. The WI-FI settings have been changed and the reach is now excellent to all our rooms.

Visit us again and we shall make your stay a much memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#39 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nikko Tower
Hotel Nikko Tower
#30 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#25 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
#27 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiffany Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiffany Diamond Hotel

Property: Tiffany Diamond Hotel
Address: Plot No. 810/75 Indira Gandhi Street/ Morogoro Road, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tiffany Diamond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiffany Diamond Hotels (TDH’s), Ltd started to establish its brands in June/2013 when the sister hotel (TDH- Dar es Salaam) was raised from the ground after an old building believed to be built in 1956 at the time of Colonial erra was demolished, and built a 10 story building with 75 en suite and spacious rooms:Standard rooms 06,Superior kingsize rooms 42,Superior twin rooms 15,Junior suite rooms 04,Executive suite rooms 04, and Diplomatic rooms 04. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tiffany Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing