We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful haven and excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of GouRmet Bistro

GouRmet Bistro
Ranked #41 of 302 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: GouRmet Bistro re-opened January 15th 2016 at our new location on the roof of The Little Theatre Oysterbay (located next to Protea apartments and St. Peters Church). We are open to the general public Tuesdays to Saturdays from 18:00 hours. Our new menu is eclectic but also includes some favourites from the old GouRmet menu. The setting is informal and cosy. Bookings recommended.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful haven and excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Thought we were completely lost but once we found it, really enjoyed the beautiful surrounds, great food and good service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Redwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    17
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

The only drawback with Gourmet is that you have to fight your way through Mikocheni to get there. This is always a challenging project and in the rainy season a complete nightmare. But if your are willing to take the fight, you are highly rewarded. Gourmet is a true gem. The setting is very nice with a handful of tables surrounding a small pool. The food is excellent. The service was impeccable, and despite different orders from the table the preparation and serving was perfectly coordinated.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nordstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“.."magnificent"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

went to the restaurant with my girlfriend for dinner, the staff are nice and welcoming, the food awesomely prepared ..we had chicken bneen something on the menu it said its Moroccan style dish, the restaurant is located in a very quite neighborhood and as you enter at the entrance you definitely notice you are at a very elegant place worth re-visiting, well organised seats accompanied by beautiful surrounding.
gourmet restaurant is a magnificent place for sure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 223Samwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Steak in Tanzania!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were really pleased that we persevered through the - what turned out to be - minor flooding on the road leading up to Gourmet! When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly staff and beautiful bar and restaurant. The menu was a lovely surprise and had all our favourites from seafood to a beautiful 300g steak! This was one of the best I have ever had and certainly the best in Tanzania - cooked medium-rare it was fabulous!

We sent a photo of the menu to my father-in-law in the UK who is coming to visit us in Dar for one day next week before we head of to Pangani and this is the restaurant we are going to take him to for his one night in Dar! It deserves No.1 status so I hope we can hep get it there!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderingHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, md
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful ambience, friendly staff, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I went to Gourmet with 2 friends, and I found the atmosphere to be really pretty, around a lily pond, outdoors, within hearing distance of the ocean. We arrived about 8 pm although I had made a reservation for 7. No problem, as the dining patio seemed largely empty. We ordered the seafood tapas and wolfed them down along with a couple of beers and juice. When the food came, the lobster was really succulent, the tuna steak was spot-on medium rare, and the prawns were just right. I had even asked for the sauce on the tuna to be "piri-piri 'd" up a bit, and the chef got it just right. When we left a little after 10, there were a few more customers but it was not full, which is really too bad. I feel like people in Dar are extremely unaware of the wonderful place in their midst....or at least in Mbezi Beach area. Definitely worth the trip and visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Big_Meat_Puppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GouRmet Bistro also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to GouRmet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing