We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice surprise - something different and definately worth the drive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of GouRmet Bistro

GouRmet Bistro
Ranked #41 of 302 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: GouRmet Bistro re-opened January 15th 2016 at our new location on the roof of The Little Theatre Oysterbay (located next to Protea apartments and St. Peters Church). We are open to the general public Tuesdays to Saturdays from 18:00 hours. Our new menu is eclectic but also includes some favourites from the old GouRmet menu. The setting is informal and cosy. Bookings recommended.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
“A very nice surprise - something different and definately worth the drive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went to Gourmet Saturday nigth on recommendation from a friend. Had no expectations and was extremely pleasently surprised. The setting is beautiful, calm, open sky, nice music. The waiters were some of the most attentive and knowledgeable that we have met in Dar. And the food was great!! A really well-thoughtthrough menu with things, you dont see elsewhere in Dar. We had starters - vegetarian tapas and seafood tapas. Really nice and tasty both. But the main course was the best - my husband had slowly-cooked beef in red-wine sauce on a mash of potato and pumpkin and I had pork-fillet on mashed pea with mashed potatoes. It was perfectly cooked and really tasty. And the portions were big. We shared a rubarb crumble for desset with coffee - and were so full, we could roll from there! We will definately come back - with friends!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nordicexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    17
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Masaki, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant was well worth the trip off the peninsula! It certainly lived up to its recommendations and we thoroughly enjoyed the place and the food. It had a very calm, relaxing atmosphere and the service was very attentive. The orders were taken swiftly and efficiently and the food was beautifully served with no delays. The quality of the food was excellent and very tasty and the serving sizes were just right. We all chose meat dishes though there were some vegetarian options too. Unfortunately we did not have any of the desserts but they looked as if they would have been delicious, maybe next time we will not have starters and opt for the desserts, though we did have coffees. We look forward to future visits and hope to try out some of the Mediterranean evenings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The best food in Dar is British cuisine? Unbelieveable to have all those words in the same sentence. This is not a place for Brit ex-pats missing their mum's cooking (you can go for Sunday lunch at the George & Dragon for that), this is about the finest food available to humankind. Anyone who keeps a Braised Beef moist right to the end deserves an award. Anyone who can offer black pudding on a menu in Tanzania deserves even more.

When you are in this restaurant, everything feels a little bit special. A lot of work has gone into the design and seating so that it is elegant, warm and soft at the edges. Orders are taken on tabs and wifi'd through to the kitchen. It feels like you are in a world class restaurant but in Dar es Salaam. The hostess also makes you feel very special; it was a role she was born for.

On the down side, some of the portions were a little small. I personally prefer small portions, but if you are a big eater, you need to check you're not ordering a small portioned meal otherwise you may be disappointed. Also, it is far out of town if you go between 5pm - 7pm, due to the traffic. Go a little later.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nyerere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Leaving the wonderful but intense chaos of the city centre of Dar es Salaam and stepping through the date of Gourmet is like entering another world. Peaceful. Meticulously cared for. Comfortable. Relaxing. The food is outstanding. In visits so far, I've enjoyed the Moroccan pie and the braised beef. Both were delightful: well prepared and presented. The service here is attentive without being overly so. I look forward to returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoldenGate100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GouRmet Bistro also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to GouRmet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing