We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare gem, like tanzanite!”
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were overwhelmed by the sheer environment & atmosphere in this Hotel! The hotel offer alluring rooms & multi cuisine restaurant! its a fascinating ocean view from the roof top barbecue restaurant. The hotel premises is very clean, including the rooms and has a good wifi connectivity. The hotel deputies were fantastic with an adorable helping nature. The hotel is positioned in the heart of Dar Es Salaam! It was a magnificent stay! Would love to get back to such a statuesque hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SuryaSai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 111 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had a nice stay in this hotel. The staff was great. The room clean with everything working. Good WIFI in our room. Delicious food in the restaurant. The neighborhood was interesting with many small shops, restaurants, and street vendors. We would stay here again if we return to Dar Es Salaam. It also happens to be one block away from the Kilimanjaro Bus station offering a comfortable bus to Moshi and Arusha. One of the hotel staff helped us carry our bags there at 5AM when we left.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view in both directions out the windows of our corner room on the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
6425
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We booked a few rooms here after Zanzibar, ready to leave for a early morning flight. Rooms were roomy (one was missing hot water) and had a good mini-bar. The air conditioner was loud, and had an annoying light. The fridge we had to switch off to sleep, but no big deal. The 10th floor open air had cold beer and a great view of Dar Es Salaam, and the restaurant had superb curries.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here for 40 days and experience was amazing.
great Indian breakfast, very helpful staff and best part is location(it is in the town so it is safer than any other place in Dar-es-salam).
Rooms are very large with dining table and a small kitchen.
I am a pure vegetarian so it is best hotel for me in Dar es salam

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amitabh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just stayed Last Week at the Hotel Sapphire - Dar Es Salaam (Mtendeni), The Location is great in the city centre with easy access around Dar; we really enjoyed the stay and were looked after by all the staff (especially the Manager Nityanand Upadhyay). The rooms are large, clean with LED TV, Air Con, fridge, microwave, small electric hob and free WIFI that worked everytime!, even the shower was more powerful than my power shower at home. The restaurant food was great with local, Indian and western taste catered for.
We travelled in and out of Dar Es Salaam to Mtwara, Zanzibar and Arusha but our main luggage stayed in the Hotel with no problems even when we left at 4.30am the staff were always helpful, courteous and remembered us after everytime we returned (it made us feel we had come home)

Thank you to all the Staff and Nityanand Upadhyay for making our stay so wonderful :))

Room Tip: Superior room high up gives you great views of Dar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2014Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

A brilliant place to stay, a magnificent rooftop bar and dining/bbq area outstanding food and service, Dar is not the nicest of places but this is, value for money is great and all staff and management are friendly and very helpful. Great rooms with tv, aircon, fridge a great shower which was not expected at all and some brilliant food from round the globe. Only negative I can think of is the city its in but hey its Africa and its a commercial sector, so all in all a very nice place to stay with great people.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pmcnjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We forget his name but he was so lovely to us, initially trying to help us locate the restaurant we wanted to go for dinner and then the next day offering us a free lift to the port to catch our ferry to Zanzibar.

Hotel itself is good, a little dated but good value for the price. Roof garden looked nice and is well lit at night so useful if you're a little lost........!

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor, obviously. There is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 mi away
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
#25 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#18 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#17 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
#37 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#23 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Address: Mtendeni Street, Dar es Salaam 20009, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $85 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sapphire 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sapphire is a Contemporary and vibrant 3 Star Hotel in the Haven of Peace and is centrally located in Dar es Salaam just a few minutes drive from International Airport and within a major commercial and shopping area. It is a splendid and comfortable Hotel offering personalized service & great value for money. Suitable for Business, Leisure & Family clientele. Hotel Sapphire is the perfect place to saturate your carvings for a fine lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing