We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in Dar!”
Review of Mbudya island

Mbudya island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise in Dar!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great place for relaxing a sunday with scenic views of Dar, and with amazing water. Local fish and chips is available for lunch, and you can get there from hotel white sands.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiseBundgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    106
    38
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

On of the most exclusive island around Dar Es Salaam, easy acces via Belinda Hotel ( with the speed boat). Order a lobster at your arrival cause service is quite long.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AurelienFR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mbudya---cheap escape with pretty decent snorkeling”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Mbudya Island which belongs to a marine reserve, is a 10 minute boat ride from Kunduchi Beach Hotel. We were able to rent a boat for $12/person--this was arranged by the hotel. [There is a ferry boat that can be taken from another hotel but not Kunduchi]. The marine fee is $20/person [non-citizen] and 2,000 Shs for residents.

The water is a beautiful azure, and the way the water hits the island at different points is almost poetic. Imagine swimming in gentle waves of blue gatorade [or powerade---let's not quibble here ok?]. The sand is soft white and in many parts, has seashell debris. The water does drop off but the currents are mild. I enjoyed swimming there immensely.

The snorkeling is right off the beach, and the coral is so-so, but right there for you to enjoy. There are shelters (bandas) one can rent, and of course buy fresh seafood as well. If you are on a budget I suggest packing your khanga to lay on the beach, among the trees, and bring your own food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Haneef M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“beautiful beach”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were staying at Kunduchi and it was only a 10min boat ride. There is great coral not far from shore, amazing snorkelling but reading one of the reviews- one wonders how protected this is.
The emerald waters are calendar worthy, but beware of jelly fish, i did get a few stings. I just applied "after bite" and some topical cortisone and i was fine.
I loved it on Mbudya because of the snorkelling-but i really hope the marine life can be protected.
I did not eat there- had a big breakfast plus was staying at Kunduchi so went back in a few hours for late lunch, and didn't use the banda, just sat on a log under some trees.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Shehnaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit to chill”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming here for past 15 years. Yes it costs to get there but it is worth it even though fees are always going up, it would be nice if the parks service actually put some money back into the park!. Here I always dive this reef as I like to gauge the health of it over time. Probably one of the few places the fish can get at least some protection but reality in words only not
deeds. The place is worth the money to visit and enjoy. Try swimming to the rocks in the cove to see some big anemones
and clown fish. Staff are friendly and always willing to make you happy especially with a tip. Enjoy! .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dd1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mbudya island also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Mbudya island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing