We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed June 9, 2007

From the doorman to the waiter nobody greets you or has any urgency about what they do - asleep is the best description. Although their pool is nice and they are refurbishing.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewLAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    296
    120
    25
    11
See reviews for
42
84
33
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2007

We have stayed this week one day in the Mövenpick, and it was a very pleasant stay. The service was friendly and helpful, the room spacious and clean. The breakfast is gigantic with a big variety also for the German taste. The hotel is within walking distance to the city center. For those who want to skip the sightseeing - there is not that much to see - the pool is situated in a quiet garden adjacent to the golfcourse. Rooms facing the golfcourse have a nice view of the sea. We had organized the pick up at the airport through the hotel shuttle as we arrived quite late, it costs 10 $/person which is more expensive than a common taxi but hasslefree. All in all a very relaxing stay, they even let us use the pool until the evening when our plane left without additional costs.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ***-Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2007

I recently spent a two night stay at the Royal Palm In Dar-es-Salaam. We were met at the entrance by friendly staff. There was seating at the reception area, and a glass of pineapple juice was brought to us whilst the receptionist was processing my booking. The room was spacious and nicely furnished and bathroom area was also very good.I had no complaints regarding that.The breakfast was fantastic,wide range of fresh fruit.Cold meats and also a good selection of hot food,eggs were cooked to order as you waited.Service from staff was brilliant at all times. I would definately stay there again if I ever return to Dar-es-Salaam.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaretMEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2006

I stayed at this hotel for a 3 night business trip. Upon arrival my taxi was met by a porter who carried my bags directly to reception with a smile!. Seats are provided at Reception whilst you check in and a lovely glass of a cold refreshment is automatically provided - a v.nice touch after a 10hr flight. Once I was checked in the Receptionist continued to give me v.informative hotel information and confirmed the 24hr room service!! much to my delight. My room was v.spacious & clean and I was happy to see the A/C fully working in temps of 85-86 degrees. Having a tea/coffee making facility was a welcomed sight especially after a long day. Room service was prompt & overall the service was faultless with v.attentive & friendly staff. If you are reliant on taxi's then there is no problem with getting a taxi directly frm the hotel without having to flag one down from the main street. There is a Barclays bank directly across the road so acquiring currency is not a problem. I will definately return to this hotel when I am back in DAR next year. This hotel lives up to it's 4* grade. Well done.

  • Liked — Very clean & great service from it's staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Sammie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

I stayed here for 10 days on business and was overall impressed by the quality of accomodation and service. Rooms were spacious and comfortable, though it is advised to request a sea view and also be on the 5th/6th floor if you want to have best reception on the wireless internet. Buffet breakfast is very good, and other meals are good quality and reasonably priced for the international traveller. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Facilities are excellent.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Naomi Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
132 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2006

After an eight hour long journey from Dubai checked in late afternoon. The lobby was fairly spacious but dull. Check-in was smooth without hassle. Chose to stay in an Executive Room on the 7th floor. The lounge had free Intenet access. Soft drinks and limited choice of hard beverage were freely available. However, it was too small a room to be called a lounge in the real sense. The adjoining room does not have the TV or the Internet, hence most of the guests gathered in one room of the so called lounge. Because of power shortage there was no air conditioning in the room until late night as the generator had limited capability. Hence, repeated complaints did not produce any result. The room was okay with very dull lighting. The bathroom had above average toiletries but hot and cold water flow was irregular. The electric kettle for tea or coffee was smelling and I am sure it was not cleaned at all for several days. Room service tea early morning was exorbitantly priced. Breakfast buffet was quite well spread. Eggs were prepared live. Overall experience was not so nice. Check-out was hassle free. I would try out Holiday Inn on my next visit. It appeared brighter and lively.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Bablu05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#10 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel

Property: Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Address: Ohio Street | P.O. Box 791, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Moevenpick Royal Palm Hotel Dar es Salaam)
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#10 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of luxury at the very heart of Dar es Salaam, the elegant and cosmopolitan Dar esSalaam Serena enjoys an exceptionally high-profile clientele and regularly plays host to bothregional and international events. Stylish yet relaxed, the hotel is one of the capital city’smost popular rendezvous and makes the ideal venue for both corporate and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
mövenpick Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam mövenpick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing