We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveler rating
217
355
133
26
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
355
133
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive floor buffet restaurant business district star hotel seafood room service swimming pool business hotel prawns an upgrade main restaurant business trip east africa comfortable stay rooms are comfortable enjoyed my stay indian food
Filter
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 743 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is the largest hotel in Dar es Salaam and considering its size copes very well. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed for the area and the bathrooms etc are good. There are mini bars and they are stocked. There are two other bars in the hotel. The pool bar is good and the staff attentive and the area around the pool is well appointed with towels and loungers.

The main sports bar has multiple TVs showing different sports yet still manages to lack atmosphere. The staff are fine and the drinks not over priced yet few people seem to use the facility which I guess is the key issue.

There are two restaurants - a fish restaurant and a buffet restaurant which keeps doing fish evenings. If you do not like fish then you might need to eat elsewhere for about half of the week. Breakfast is buffet style and substntial. Generally this is a good quality hotel and I also found the staff to be polite and efficient.

Room tip: I did not take a club room and found it to be fine. Would be better if you took room with pool view.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My only regret is that I could not stay longer. With my schedule I had no time to enjoy what the hotel had to offer though from what I experienced I am surprised at a couple of rough comments. Check in and out was absolutely great - the staff were super and I have to honest what I saw of the Serena was all very positive. The room and en-suite was more than acceptable and the buffet breakfast and evening meal in the bar was great too. I would have really liked to try the pool and gym etc. but time did not allow it but I liked the look and feel of the Serena - there are some stunning grounds which you can look out on in the morning while having breakfast. I liked the Serena, staff were great, room was clean and comfortable and the food was good too: this is a good hotel – I don’t think you will go wrong here.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

From the moment you arrive at the entrance, you are met with glum faced dis-interested staff. At the lacklustre reception, it is no better either with the girls not showing much sparkle to greet new guests. The grim faces simply convey the message that the staff do not have much passion in their jobs.
Inside, I didn’t see much ambience – it’s simply dull and needs a complete revamp of décor and staff. We ordered room service for our evening meals. Unless your company bears all the costs, food is mighty expensive for a private tourist and is of average quality. For instance, the Indian menu (prepared by non-Indian chef) says a number of things included for certain dishes but they don’t serve you naan or chapatti. Instead you get a lousy tough, brittle and oil drenched pieces of flat bread in white flour which does not suit most people. The boiled rice unfortunately came with a teeth- breaking piece of stone fragment – enough to put you off from eating rice for ever.
Sorry it was a bad experience for the price one has to pay staying at the Serena. Either avoid going to Dar es Salam or better still, stay with friends if you have any and save $250 a night.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TahirUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was not a guest at the Serena, but had the opportunity to have lunch at the 24 hour Brasserie on two consecutive days. It is a popular spot for lunch, by locals and guests of the hotel. Food was excellent with more than sufficient variety. Service was very good and staff were attentive despite the large numbers. An excellent restaurant for a business lunch.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MsafiriK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I spent 2 nights in this hotel. Rooms are comfortable; good selection of TV channels and movies. Brazilian band at the outside bar was very noisy and not that good. Ask for a room facing the road rather than the bar. Food at a la carte restaurant is excellent - especially the seafood.

Room tip: Choose a room facing the road rather than the deck which has live music most nights
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews