We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as I expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I arrived at the Serena in Dar expecting the same level of service and luxury as experienced at the Serena Kampala, I was greatly disappointed.

I understand that the Kampala is rated as one of the best in the Serena group but I didn't expect the Serena Dar to be so vastly different. There were only a handful of people at the hotel who took the time to ensure that things were being done as quickly as possible.

The rooms are ok, nothing fancy. Bathrooms are clean but need some upgrading, I'm not a fan of shower curtains.
Room service was quick and is preferred given the slow speed at which the restaurant staff operate.
Quality of food is good.
Breakfat selection is great but again getting a coffee and toast is extremely slow.
Lovely cakes in the shop downstairs.

Hotel uses taxis that look a hundred years old - with no aircon?

Think that staff need to be better at speaking and understanding English as this seems to be quiet an issue.

Overall the hotel was not terrible, but it wouldn't be my first choice for my next visit to Dar.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharlz247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    293
    117
    25
    11
See reviews for
42
81
31
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
135 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I'd call this a four star hotel. We have to pay for our wifi which wouldn't be a big deal but for cost per night, eh. The maids are nice and they do a great job. Morning buffet is nice. Service is typical of Tanzania time which is a good wait. It's just a part of the culture. So when you order your food, sit back, relax and don't expect it any time soon. That's why buffet is a decent alternative. I ordered dinner there though.... Asked for a menu. They asked " do you want to order a la carte?" I said yes. They don't seem to crazy about that since they push for your nightly dinner buffet where they can charge you more, ( about 50,000 Tsh.... Divide that by 1500 if you want it in U.S. Dollars). Dinners a la carte are good. I really enjoyed the Kikaboni seafood salad the first time I ordered it.... Delicious with olive oil, lemon, and coriander. Thenext two times ordered it wasn't as good... So the dishes are inconsistent. I am staying here at this hotel for two weeks... One week down and one to go.... So I think my veal is pretty accurate. Beware of big bald waiter. He's kind of a bully to the others....two waiters helped our table of seven.... We tipped for our bill...... When we put the money in the folder, he grabbed the folder from the other waiter and took the whole tip and shoved it in his pocket. I was really angry. So I put a different tip into the hands of the other younger, smaller man. Everyone else though, has been pretty nice though.

Oh yeah.... Our room key doesn't work every other day. FYI. Safari njema!

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hope n Shelbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I once stayed at this hotel when it was formely Moven pick and was so impressed, I returned a few years later, I think the carpet is the same one, its old and has stains. In short, this hotel could do much better. In this day and age and when other hotels in Hyatt Kempinski, Southern Sun, etc provide free internet, why would Serena charge for internet at $10 per day? I also requested for an adaptor and it came with a $10 invoice, when I sent it back, the same guy returned this time with a $6 deposit that I would be refunded upon chek out if I returned it....Hmmm! Other hotels have built in converters...At breakfast, the waiters were more concerned about clearing tables and setting up for lunch....to many issues not to add that the hotel has quite old interiors ...deinitely not returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wema34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel has only recently been taken over 6 months ago by the Serena hotel group. It appears they are well on their way to revive this beautifully constructed facility. The rooms are tastefully appointed and contain a comfortable bed.

Most notably the hotel has redefined their premiere on-site restaurant. They have replaced the Mediterranean restaurant with a seafood restaurant featuring a phenomenal female Kenyan chef, whose culinary artistry was a delightful experience.

If in Dar Es Salam the Serena hotel is a great home base.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smanzane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hotel+staff fine. No ironing boards in room! Do not use the taxi service at the hotel,rip off! Went to a restaurant 10min drive away,the driver insisted on waiting for us. We were in restaurant for three hours,had a great meal. When we were dropped back off he charged us 26 UK pounds!! Get a cab outside the hotel,a lot cheaper and safe!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lancey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our stay at the Dar es Salaam Serena was very pleasant. From the moment we checked in, we were treated well. The staff appeared sincere and the general feeling we got was that they were quite professional at all levels, from concierge to housekeeping and the wait staff at the executive lounge.

Breakfast via room service was excellent. The pastry shop in the lobby area has some delicious good treats. Breakfast at the executive lounge was a pleasant surprise. The property has a country club vibe to it, which is fitting given the surroundings. (The hotel is situated right by a golf course by the coastline.)

The gym is functional, the grounds are beautiful, and the pool is really well maintained. Really enjoyed the peacocks roaming around the pool area without being disruptive at all.

Overall, based on the combination of a great location, quality of facility/food, and friendliness of staff who always seemed to wear a smile, this has to be one of the best overall hotels in the city. (Although I don't believe this to be the best value for money in the city.)

Room Tip: Each of the golf course view and executive room is worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
140 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is fine, clean, the seafood diner is great and so was the breakfast. But there are some irritations, the most important one is the US$10 for poor wifi, which is considered unnecessary if guests pay US$280 for a single occupancy standaard room. Also annoying is the fact the hotel does not have an ATM, but charges 5% commission on cash.
Greed leaves a bitter off taste guys...

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank thesheikhfromdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.6 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#7 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#5 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel

Property: Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Address: Ohio Street | P.O. Box 791, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Moevenpick Royal Palm Hotel Dar es Salaam)
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#10 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of luxury at the very heart of Dar es Salaam, the elegant and cosmopolitan Dar esSalaam Serena enjoys an exceptionally high-profile clientele and regularly plays host to bothregional and international events. Stylish yet relaxed, the hotel is one of the capital city’smost popular rendezvous and makes the ideal venue for both corporate and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, TravelClick, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
mövenpick Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam mövenpick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing