We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great priced hotel for business, but not helpful to tourists”
Review of New Africa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Africa Hotel
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great priced hotel for business, but not helpful to tourists”
Reviewed September 12, 2009

This hotel has all the amenities you need on business or for pleasure and is really well priced with rooms at about £70 per night. A few nice restaurants serving Thai or Indian food, conference facilities, and many meeting places.
I liked the pool area located in a courtyard with lush greenery and a beauty room. Great location, 5 minutes walk to the part where you can pick up a ferry to Zanzibar. Bank machine opposite the hotel.
They did not have a concierge or any local knowledge about touristy things to do. I always had to wait long for the staff to speak to me at the reception. I asked to borrow scissors (after being ignored for 5 minutes) and was told very sternly that I “better return them very soon”. Waited at least 25 minutes for food to arrive at the poolside cafe, after waiting for about 20 minutes for someone to come and serve us.
Very helpful staff in restaurants upstairs though and the food and the view over the sea were great.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heljoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this review and i look forward to seeing you at New Africa again. We have taken note of your feedback and will improve immediately. We have fully renovated the hotel now so we request you to please give us another chance to serve you.

You can email me your booking queries at Gm@newafricahotel.com

Kind Regards,
Siddharth Chaudhry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    194
    88
    30
    10
See reviews for
24
49
33
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2009

this is my 10 visit to dar & as usual, my stay was very comfortable. The rooms are clean, service homely, i did not even feel that i was out of my home.
There are several options for any travellers to dar. However this hotel being the oldest, still has the warmth in it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udupanagaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this review and i look forward to seeing you at New Africa again. We have taken note of your feedback and will improve immediately.

You can email me your booking queries at Gm@newafricahotel.com

Kind Regards,
Siddharth Chaudhry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We were staying here for two separate nights mainly for transit to Zanzibar. It was convenient for that but not good value for money. The reception staff seemed to be on go slow. I have never queued for so long to check in. Anywhere. Ever. Both times. The rooms are ok, maybe 3 star. A lot of noise coming in from the street. However, the Thai restaurant on the top floor was very good. Staying here was functional - it served a purpose for us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blah1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this review and i look forward to seeing you at New Africa again. We have taken note of your feedback and will improve immediately. We have fully renovated the hotel now so we request you to please give us another chance to serve you.

You can email me your booking queries at Gm@newafricahotel.com

Kind Regards,
Siddharth Chaudhry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We stayed here for a week. Its a decent enough place to use as a base for Dar so long as you're not looking for luxury. The pool is clean. The room was small but passable, nothing special. Communication with reception around room charges, checkout, etc. was frustrating at times as there would be lots of head nodding and then nothing would be done. The casino is small but amusing. My main gripe with the place is the price, I think they've got a cheek charging that much.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this review and i look forward to seeing you at New Africa again. We have taken note of your feedback and will improve immediately. We have fully renovated the hotel now so we request you to please give us another chance to serve you.

You can email me your booking queries at Gm@newafricahotel.com

Kind Regards,
Siddharth Chaudhry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

New Africa Hotel is OK, but really nothing special, it’s basically a 3 star hotel with terrible service. We took the sea view room and could barely sleep from the wind whistling through the poorly designed sun shades.

Food is well below average, although it has the only Thai place in DAR.

Only good point 10 USD for 24 hours of better than average (for Africa) internet.

Also if you have breakfast check the expiry dates on the yogurt, most were weeks out of date. Little scary in Africa if the kitchen does not catch that sort of thing.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this review and i look forward to seeing you at New Africa again. We have taken note of your feedback and will improve immediately. We have fully renovated the hotel now so we request you to please give us another chance to serve you.

You can email me your booking queries at Gm@newafricahotel.com

Kind Regards,
Siddharth Chaudhry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

Business trip - so most cost wasn't a personal issue for me. My room overlooking the swimming pool was quite quiet. My colleague's room overlooked the main road and was nosier. Both were of equal standard; typical basic hotel rooms. One caveat - bottled water in the room is very expensive, and if you go in Feb you WILL need lots. There is a small supermarket around the corner that sells bottles more cheaply.

There is a Happy Hour in the bar every evening, so we returned from work, showered, cooled down and changed, went to the bar and then into dinner - and that was our quite acceptable routine. The bar was usually quiet, but on Friday, it was heaving - there were several pretty ladies there and some of the guys my age appeared to be batting well above their weight. Maybe they were just lucky.

Air con in the rooms was good, it was fine in the bar and restaurants, but less so in Reception. It was actually poor in the hallways where you wait for the lifts, and the lifts themselves were bad - get 8 guys in there with an outside temperature of 34C and every time the lift stops at another floor, The groans got worse. there is also good security - you need you key card to get into the lift and to get from the lift well to any of the main room corridors.

Food in the restaurants was good, but the menu never changed. We tried all 3 restaurants, but declined the bar food - hamburgers and fast food mainly - although it seemed to be popular. There are 3 kinds of lager on offer in the bar and there is a good selection of wines in the restaurants.

There is a pool outside, but so shaded by the 4 sides of the hotel, so we didn't feel tempted. There is also a small gym, but again nothing special. There is an expensive Business Centre, you can purchase wireless internet access cards for your room and there is a small souvenir shop, selling postcards and stamps, in the foyer. A nice touch was a mobile phone charging station to the side of Reception, although you are cautioned to watch your phone - in that heat though, it wasn't ideal.

What did I like most? - The room and the food. Like least - same menu every night and being woken at 5am every morning.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clancolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this review and i look forward to seeing you at New Africa again. We have taken note of your feedback and will improve immediately. We have fully renovated the hotel now so we request you to please give us another chance to serve you.

You can email me your booking queries at Gm@newafricahotel.com

Kind Regards,
Siddharth Chaudhry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2009

I am a frequent visitor to Dar es Salaam, Based on my business visit, this time i came with my family & enjoyed my stay as usual. the rooms are good, food is great & the hospitality is warm.

I would suggest all to stay here either on business or with your families.

  • Liked — feeling at home away from home, wamth, food.
  • Disliked — none.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sen2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this review and i look forward to seeing you at New Africa again. We have taken note of your feedback and will improve immediately. We have fully renovated the hotel now so we request you to please give us another chance to serve you.

You can email me your booking queries at Gm@newafricahotel.com

Kind Regards,
Siddharth Chaudhry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.5 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#10 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Africa Hotel

Property: New Africa Hotel
Address: Azikiwe St. / Sokoine Dr. | P. O Box 9314, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing